We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$129
View deal
Hotels.com
$129
View deal
Trip.com
$120
View deal
Booking.com$129
Priceline$143
travelup.com$197
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,807)
Filter reviews
1,807 results
Traveler rating
859
631
203
61
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
859
631
203
61
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tilal liwa quad biking infinity pool abu dhabi sand boarding camel ride desert view all inclusive package sand dunes desert resort an oasis lunch and dinner long drive food quality get away moreeb dune camel farm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,538 - 1,543 of 1,807 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Bought a stay under one of the promotions on a website.

Decent facility with decent rooms and a nice pool. Pool did not seem that crowded as I saw on some of the other reviews.

Things that will receive a thumbs up:

1. Room cleanliness

2. Pool cleanliness

3. Room setup (talking about the romantic theme here) - very nicely done bubble bath and other flower decor related to it.

Things that need improvements:

1. Staff needs to be more professional in their conduct. On being asked something very basic (like exits to corridors) questions, some of them had this to say "Sorry I am new here. You can ask someone else". Others on realizing we were from India started explaining things in Hindi (the Indian local language), which I feel is not a good display of professionalism.

2. Service was too slow for the dinner. We eventually got fed up and went back to our room after waiting for an hour for the dinner to arrive. This seems even funnier because I received a call one day in advance asking me what we would like to have for dinner (there were options between four set menus). Funnily enough, we were being asked the same thing when we were checking in. When we mentioned that we'll be having dinner between 2030 and 2130, the staff said "No Sir, you'll have to give us a specific time". In all as a result of all this, the expectations were quite high.
The food was average.

In all an average option for a getaway away from the cities.

Room tip: Choose a room that has direct access to the pool.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abhinab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

On behalf of Tilal Liwa Hotel family, we thank you very much for your time given to fill in your feedback regarding our hotel. Your opinion is of great value to us as it helps us testing our values and services and do the needed improvements where needed.

We’re delighted to hear that you liked our hotel, location and interior design. Also it is great to read that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities provided.

Please accept my apology for the inconvenient for speaking to you in your language. My colleagues think it is easier for our guests to approach them in their own language. Still we keep mentioning that the official hotel languages are Arabic and English. We’ve instructed the concerned Head of Departments to instruct our colleagues accordingly.

Regarding the special menu’s offered along with some promotions, we try to identify the convinced timing for our guests to make sure all is set and ready for them. We allow 40 minutes between courses to give our guests the chance to enjoy their dinner and evening with their loved ones. Based on guest’s demand, the time between each course can be adjusted.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we’re looking forward for welcoming you soon in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

While this hotel is very nice and a nice surprise in the middle of the desert, there is something very odd about the management of the minibar in the rooms. Firstly my fridge was closed with a cable-tie that had to be broken to get into the fridge to cool our water for the next day. Then it became obvious that the fridge was not turned on and the switch to turn it on could not be found. Thirdly, on checking out, I was asked if I had taken anything from the minibar that I needed to pay for. I stated that I had not. When 2 minutes down the road I received a phone call accusing me of not paying for a black label whiskey. I stated again that I had not taken anything. What proof could I give? We drove back to the hotel and again told the staff that the item was not taken by me. Count the items in the minibar as you arrive and as you leave.
Further to this, they allow smoking inside. Keep this in mind if you are from a country where smoking is not allowed in bars and restaurants.
Also, room doors were banging in our corridor until 1am and started again at 6.30am, making it hard to get a full night's sleep. You could also clearly hear what was going on in the adjoining room through the connecting door.
Lastly, the restaurant staff are in need of some training. Little things like bringing a menu to everyone on the table, asking if you want to order drinks, and knowing how a fried icecream should be prepared and served for example.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shardie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. We appreciate very much the time taking in filling in the survey. Your opinion is very important to us, as we can use those feedback to improve our services provided to our guests.

Kindly be informed that it is a standard to keep the Minibar sealed for our guests, so that they know that the Minibar has been checked and is ready for usage (expiry items, cleaning.....etc). Please accept our apology for the confusing regarding your consumption from the Minibar, our employees have immediately removed the charges from your bill.

Regarding smoking in the bar, please be informed that as per the policy and procedures- of Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority- smoking inside is allowed as long as the space is open and not closed, which is the case in our Bar.

Please accept our sincere apology for the noise beside you. The Hotel was fully booked during that weekend and there were a lot of families with children. As a hotel management, we are looking for some effective solutions for dumping the noise by placing floor carpets in the corridors and hope the noise will be reduced.

Once again, thank you very much for your time and effort in filling in the survey, we're looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went for so called ''Romantic Weekend Escape'' and that was our 2nd time to go there.
Although the waether was not so great (like we've been in some other country....windy, sandy, cold), we had really nice time. The welcome drinks, fruit basket, botle of champaigne, buffet dinner & breakfast plus 20 % on F&B, bubble bath......all inclusive for a very, very affordable price!
Rooms are spaceous, clean with a quite big balconies with a pool wiev (desert view available as well), service is very efficient, staff very friendly and polite, the only problem is the constant presence of annoying flies, there just everywhere!!! And the Spa could be slightly bigger and better equiped, although the gym is fine,
Overall, very nice experience!

Room tip: 1st floor with a pool view, if you go with your kids than you go for the ground floor with a direct acces to the playground and the pool!
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sir, Madame,

Kindly allow me to sincerely thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel services and activities. Also it is our pleasure to welcome you for the second visit! Tilal Liwa hotel employees and management save no efforts to provide our guests with exceptional services and we like very much to see those recognized by our valued guests.

Regarding your note about the Spa, kindly be informed that we're about to make some shifting in order to create more space for massage & beauty treatment rooms.

We appreciate the time taken in filling in the survey and looking forward for welcoming you soon at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Last week, we spend one day in the hotel. It is a value for money kind. Hotel is neat and clean. (But One negative is the presence of flies around. It can be a bit worrisome.). Rooms are big.
Staff members are nice and gentle. Food is fairly priced and good.

Pool is not that deep. Good for children. For those who know swimming, presence of a deep zone would have been better.

The desert around is nice to move around.

Desert bics are available on rent. It is a great experience. With just AED 75 per half an hour, it is a great idea to hire and just enjoy the thrill. You need driving license to get it.

We have been to Qasr Al Sarab, last year. If we compare this to that, much to be improved. Then of course, cost also matters a lot.

We went to Tala merab (one place near Liwa), 1.5 hours journey from this hotel, where we watched adventure sports with Desert bics and 4 wds. Its a steep desert hill, and the guys just climb up and down. Really dangerous. The drive to that area is nice.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms opening towards pools looks better.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NAJI2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sir, Madame,

Kindly allow me to sincerely thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel services and activities. Tilal Liwa hotel employees and management save no efforts to provide our guests with exceptional services and we like very much to see those recognized by our valued guests.

We apologize for the flies season. Those flies come with the increasing number of Camels in the area. The hotel management has taken all preventive methods to eliminate them, flies are coming much less now as the number of camels is back to normal after the big competitions in December.

We appreciate the time taken in filling in the survey and looking forward for welcoming you soon at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice resort that we shared with an entire deserts population of flies! The flies were annoying, but the venue is beautiful and they cater for kids, so the flies really weren't that bad. The food in the restaurant was really nice and the breakfast buffet catered for everyone. The pizzas are some of the best the UAE has to offer.
The bicycles and kites were a nice surprise. We all had fun.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeighO86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sir, Madame,

Kindly allow me to sincerely thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay with your family and liked the hotel services and activities. Tilal Liwa hotel employees and management save no efforts to provide our guests with exceptional services and we like very much to see those recognized by our valued guests.

Kindly accept our apology for the flies. Those flies are seasonal and come always with the increasing number of Camels in the Area. We fight those flights with all kind of allowed treatments to grantee the minimization. Now the flies became very less as the number of Camels in the surroundings is getting less.

We appreciate the time taken in filling in the survey and looking forward for welcoming you soon at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews