We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of mini bar”
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware of mini bar”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

While this hotel is very nice and a nice surprise in the middle of the desert, there is something very odd about the management of the minibar in the rooms. Firstly my fridge was closed with a cable-tie that had to be broken to get into the fridge to cool our water for the next day. Then it became obvious that the fridge was not turned on and the switch to turn it on could not be found. Thirdly, on checking out, I was asked if I had taken anything from the minibar that I needed to pay for. I stated that I had not. When 2 minutes down the road I received a phone call accusing me of not paying for a black label whiskey. I stated again that I had not taken anything. What proof could I give? We drove back to the hotel and again told the staff that the item was not taken by me. Count the items in the minibar as you arrive and as you leave.
Further to this, they allow smoking inside. Keep this in mind if you are from a country where smoking is not allowed in bars and restaurants.
Also, room doors were banging in our corridor until 1am and started again at 6.30am, making it hard to get a full night's sleep. You could also clearly hear what was going on in the adjoining room through the connecting door.
Lastly, the restaurant staff are in need of some training. Little things like bringing a menu to everyone on the table, asking if you want to order drinks, and knowing how a fried icecream should be prepared and served for example.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shardie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. We appreciate very much the time taking in filling in the survey. Your opinion is very important to us, as we can use those feedback to improve our services provided to our guests.

Kindly be informed that it is a standard to keep the Minibar sealed for our guests, so that they know that the Minibar has been checked and is ready for usage (expiry items, cleaning.....etc). Please accept our apology for the confusing regarding your consumption from the Minibar, our employees have immediately removed the charges from your bill.

Regarding smoking in the bar, please be informed that as per the policy and procedures- of Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority- smoking inside is allowed as long as the space is open and not closed, which is the case in our Bar.

Please accept our sincere apology for the noise beside you. The Hotel was fully booked during that weekend and there were a lot of families with children. As a hotel management, we are looking for some effective solutions for dumping the noise by placing floor carpets in the corridors and hope the noise will be reduced.

Once again, thank you very much for your time and effort in filling in the survey, we're looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    436
    139
    51
    23
See reviews for
492
397
20
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went for so called ''Romantic Weekend Escape'' and that was our 2nd time to go there.
Although the waether was not so great (like we've been in some other country....windy, sandy, cold), we had really nice time. The welcome drinks, fruit basket, botle of champaigne, buffet dinner & breakfast plus 20 % on F&B, bubble bath......all inclusive for a very, very affordable price!
Rooms are spaceous, clean with a quite big balconies with a pool wiev (desert view available as well), service is very efficient, staff very friendly and polite, the only problem is the constant presence of annoying flies, there just everywhere!!! And the Spa could be slightly bigger and better equiped, although the gym is fine,
Overall, very nice experience!

Room Tip: 1st floor with a pool view, if you go with your kids than you go for the ground floor with a direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Sir, Madame,

Kindly allow me to sincerely thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel services and activities. Also it is our pleasure to welcome you for the second visit! Tilal Liwa hotel employees and management save no efforts to provide our guests with exceptional services and we like very much to see those recognized by our valued guests.

Regarding your note about the Spa, kindly be informed that we're about to make some shifting in order to create more space for massage & beauty treatment rooms.

We appreciate the time taken in filling in the survey and looking forward for welcoming you soon at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Last week, we spend one day in the hotel. It is a value for money kind. Hotel is neat and clean. (But One negative is the presence of flies around. It can be a bit worrisome.). Rooms are big.
Staff members are nice and gentle. Food is fairly priced and good.

Pool is not that deep. Good for children. For those who know swimming, presence of a deep zone would have been better.

The desert around is nice to move around.

Desert bics are available on rent. It is a great experience. With just AED 75 per half an hour, it is a great idea to hire and just enjoy the thrill. You need driving license to get it.

We have been to Qasr Al Sarab, last year. If we compare this to that, much to be improved. Then of course, cost also matters a lot.

We went to Tala merab (one place near Liwa), 1.5 hours journey from this hotel, where we watched adventure sports with Desert bics and 4 wds. Its a steep desert hill, and the guys just climb up and down. Really dangerous. The drive to that area is nice.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms opening towards pools looks better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAJI2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Sir, Madame,

Kindly allow me to sincerely thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel services and activities. Tilal Liwa hotel employees and management save no efforts to provide our guests with exceptional services and we like very much to see those recognized by our valued guests.

We apologize for the flies season. Those flies come with the increasing number of Camels in the area. The hotel management has taken all preventive methods to eliminate them, flies are coming much less now as the number of camels is back to normal after the big competitions in December.

We appreciate the time taken in filling in the survey and looking forward for welcoming you soon at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice resort that we shared with an entire deserts population of flies! The flies were annoying, but the venue is beautiful and they cater for kids, so the flies really weren't that bad. The food in the restaurant was really nice and the breakfast buffet catered for everyone. The pizzas are some of the best the UAE has to offer.
The bicycles and kites were a nice surprise. We all had fun.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Sir, Madame,

Kindly allow me to sincerely thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay with your family and liked the hotel services and activities. Tilal Liwa hotel employees and management save no efforts to provide our guests with exceptional services and we like very much to see those recognized by our valued guests.

Kindly accept our apology for the flies. Those flies are seasonal and come always with the increasing number of Camels in the Area. We fight those flights with all kind of allowed treatments to grantee the minimization. Now the flies became very less as the number of Camels in the surroundings is getting less.

We appreciate the time taken in filling in the survey and looking forward for welcoming you soon at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you live in the Emirates and need a place to go, this is it. You're completely secluded. Enjoy the amazing pool, beautiful stars, and ornate hotel. Great staff and great food provide relief from the hustle and bustle of city life. We went to the camel track next door and a gracious Emirati gave us a personal tour and showed off his racing camels.

You're also only an hour or two from the raw beauty of the empty quarter dunes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PtownNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Sir, Madame,

Kindly allow me to sincerely thank you very much for your recent stay at Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel services and activities. Tilal Liwa hotel employees and management save no efforts to provide our guests with exceptional services and we like very much to see those recognized by our valued guests. We appreciate the time taken in filling in the survey and looking forward for welcoming you soon at Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Most rooms have inter-connecting doors, which is common in many hotels. However, there is no soundproofing at all. We had booked for 2 nights and in the middle of the night (first night), we insisted on changing rooms because the neighbour was snoring so loud that it sounded as though he was in the same room as us. We could hear him over the sound of the TV.
The second night we were again moved to another room because the same 'snoring guest' was still around (although we had been told that we could move back to our initial room as this person was checking out). This time we had a group of teenagers in the room next to us and they screamed and shouted until the early hours of the morning. Thanks to the parents for not taking their room next to their kids room so that other guests had to put up with the noise.
Add to that the people slamming the doors to their rooms and those screaming and shouting in the corridors in the middle of the night. The only way to get any sleep is to come equipped with good earplugs.
To make matters worse, although we had booked a room with balcony (more expensive than those without balconies), we spent the 2 nights in 2 different rooms, each time without balconies, and when we checked out, they wanted to charge us the rate for the room with balcony.
All-in-all our experience was extremely negative and we will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Having stayed in another hotel of the Danat Group (Danat Jebel Dhanna), we were looking forward to a pleasant weekend, but this was not to be!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms to close to reception where the restaurant and bar are and the noise levels tend to be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame,

Thank you very much for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel for your stay. We’re grateful for taking the time and filling in this review.

As a Hotel Management of Tilal Liwa Hotel, we’re always very interested in our guest’s experiences as those experiences are very helpful for us to improve our services and experiences where possible to meet up with the our guest’s expectations.

I’m sorry that read that you didn’t enjoy your night rest due to the noise of some guests beside your room. Usually if guests aware the reception, our duty manager goes to the other guest’s rooms and request them to be quite after 11 PM.
Also I apologize for the inconvenient and confusion during the check out. I’ll investigate the booking and see the original booking. I just need the original booking number to trace it easily.

A friendly request to send me the booking details direct to my email address to investigate and revert back to you. My direct Email address is ayman.ashor@danathotels.com

Looking forward to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The location is great. The hotel is situated in Rub Al Khali (Empty Quarter) desert. Great rooms with views of the desert or the pool. Our room was pool facing with a nice balcony to relax. the camel farm visit was nice and the quad biking was splendid. But the food was not up to the mark of a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame,

Warm greetings from Tilal Liwa Hotel!

Thank you very much for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel. It was a pleasure having you as our valuable guest. We appreciate very much the time taking to fill in the review.
I’m very delighted to hear that you liked the hotel and the design and that our colleagues have provided services at your expectations.

I apologize for the less positive experiences with the food. Kindly be informed that we always try to mix and vary our buffets to meet with the preferences and choices of our guests from traditional, Arabic, International, Indian and Vegetarian food.

We constantly checking on areas of improvement and your valuable feedback will not only help us upgrading our services but also will give us more ideas to go the extra mile to satisfy our guests and exceed their expectations.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Property: Tilal Liwa Hotel
Address: Madinat Zayed - Al Gharbia, Madinat Zayed 112723, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilal Liwa Hotel Madinat Zayed, Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing