We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the desert”
Review of Tilal Liwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful hotel in the desert”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Beautiful surrounding,my son was have so much fun play in the desert just behind of the hotel,the best time to go to desert is around 5 pm,the sand could be really hot if you visit in the midday,the pool is a bit small not the same as you see in the picture,was read in the information hotel book that they have a play area next to the pool,the next day we visit there is none.breakfast buffet was greats so many to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstariM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame.

On behalf of Tilal Liwa hotel staff and management, please allow me to thank you very much for your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel.

We're delight to read that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Your opinion and feedback is essential for us to provide better services to meet/ exceed our guests's expectations.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon in Tilal Liwa hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    434
    139
    51
    23
See reviews for
492
395
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

1) Close to LIWA oasis
2) Peaceful & secluded , good decor, good greenery considering the desert area around
3) Swimming pool is common for all . Same depth ( 4') throughout
4) Not in the Real LIWA desert. LIWA is abt 50 km from there. But it is a good stopover. Post check out next day at abt 12 pm , a trip can be done form there to LIWA ( 50 km) Tal Mureeb a very high Dune, to Hammem ( 70-75 km) .Once can also check out Qasar Al Sarab-Anantara resort ( from Hameem a separate concrete road of abt 12 km leads to the resort thru stunning and deep desert views.) .
Never park car on the Side of the road as it may sink in the sand and get stuck. Ours did !and some friendly people helped us !
One can later rerun thru the same way and directly proceeed to Abu Dhabi withour returnming to Mezeirra / Madinat Zayed City ( E45) and can take E90-E65 to Abu Dhabi. The Cars museum is on this road.
5) No Kids pools. But can be Ok since the throughout depth is only 4'
6) Room service was good ( only 1 time used). Food kept real hot in the HOT Section of the trolley.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ground floor near the Pool are better for direct pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Warm greetings from Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Please allow me to thank you on behalf of Tilal Liwa Team for choosing Tilal Liwa Hotel. We appreciate your time and feedback regarding your last stay with us!

Your opinion is very important to us. Kindly be informed that Tilal Liwa Hotel arranges several activities and trips for our guest. We arrange Safari trips with Camel farm visits and Camel race arena visits. Also we arrange several trips to Liwa Oasis and Mureeb dune including overnight stay.

I’m delighted to read that you’ve liked our hotel decoration, food and room service.

We constantly checking on areas of improvement and your valuable feedback will not only help us upgrading our services but also will give us more ideas to go the extra mile to satisfy our guests and exceed their expectations.

Looking forward for welcoming you soon again in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Kind Regards,


Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were there third times now, a month before, but wont go back very soon. Nice, small hotel, but definetly, the surroundings dont give the feeling of the real deep desert, it begins 40 km later.
The room smelled like an ashtray, stubs are everywhere in the grass, nobody collects it. Same experience with the droppings of birds. The guy at the pool is not motivated to clean and serve, he is just there. Cockroach found in the steam.
The wifi was told to be good for 7 days, after 2 days the account finished running. At check-out, the invoice was a bit overcalculated. I asked to correct it, they did.
The chef is wonderful, the food is excellent. The staff in the dinning is also outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame,

Warm greetings from Tilal Liwa Hotel!

Thank you very much for taking the time in answering our guest survey questionnaire and sharing your experience during your stay with us.

We’re delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay with your family and liked the food. Also we're flattered to hear that you liked the service in the Restaurant and that our colleagues were friendly with outstanding attitude!

Kindly accept my appology for the less positive experience. Tilal Liwa Hotel is located middle of the desert and sometimes it happens that storm comes with lots of wind and waste from outside the desert. We are alert for those storm and make sure to clear the hotel once it happens. Also please accept my apology for any delay in your orders by the pool. I've discussed the issue with the concerned department head and he has taken already his corrective actions in order to avoid such experiences for guests in the future.

We are constantly checking on areas of improvement and your valuable feedback will not only help us upgrade our services but will also makes us meets our guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services.


Kind Regards,


Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice hotel, good facilities. Booked 2 stays and used one during Ramadan and the other last weekend. Nice little retreat from the city. Few things we were a little disappointed with, glass used around the pool area and we saw two smashes in under 24 hours. Not nice for whoever gets the leftovers in their foot and service wasn't great in the main buffet restaurant. We had the seafood BBQ on the Thursday and were served raw lobster as were a few other customers who sent theirs back. We also never even received our last order from the BBQ. Otherwise we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annedoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame,

Warm greetings from Tilal Liwa Hotel!

Thank you very much for taking the time in answering our guest survey questionnaire and sharing your experience for our review.

We’re delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience occurred during your stay.

Kindly be informed that as per the Hygiene procedures, we are not allowed to use glasses for orders outdoor (such as around the pool) as it might be felt on the ground and heart anybody. Therefore we're using poly carbonated glass which looks a bit faded, but I assure you it is clean and sanitized.

Please accept my apology for the less positive experience with the BBQ. I've discussed the issue with our Executive Chef and he will make sure not to repeat in the future.

Your opinion is very important to us. Your feedback will be always on top of our priorities. We will consider your comments and act accordingly.

We are constantly checking on areas of improvement and your valuable feedback will not only help us upgrade our services but will also makes us meets our guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services.


Kind Regards,


Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We've stayed in Tilal liwa 2 weeks ago. Just came back from a lot of family issues and wanted to have a quite and peacefull weekend. We've taken a weekend in Tilal liwa and enjoyed a lot the weather and the pool. Food was great and with lots of choices. Kids had fun with the lady in the kids area. Desert walk before sunset was perfect. We rented a quad bike and had great photos with the sun and hotel in background. Staff are friendly and helpful. After the kids went to sleep we had a relaxed evening in the bar, the music was good and we liked the band.

We will come back again with our friends begin next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame,

Warm greetings from Tilal Liwa Hotel!

Thank you very much for taking the time in answering our guest survey questionnaire and sharing your experience for our review.

We’re delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay with your family in Tilal Liwa Hotel.

Your opinion is very important to us. Your feedback will be always on top of our priorities. We will consider your comments and act accordingly.

We are constantly checking on areas of improvement and your valuable feedback will not only help us upgrade our services but will also makes us meets our guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services.


Kind Regards,


Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I should have done a bit more homework as I thought the hotel was closer to Liwa and the dunes - but anyway, its only 30km.

The hotel itself is lovely, very comfortable rooms with a nice balcony or patio if you are on the ground floor. The pool is nice aswell (but small) with views out over the desert. However, the poolside cafe was a bit chaotic - it took a very long time to order and then for the meals to arrive - in total around an hour! The main restaurant is buffet style although you can order a la carte. We opted for a la carte but the food was a bit average, should have gone for the buffet.

If you can get a good deal then its a nice place to go to relax as there is a very peaceful atmosphere here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisie_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame,

Warm greetings from Tilal Liwa Hotel!

Thank you very much for taking the time in answering our guest survey questionnaire and sharing your experience for our review.

We’re delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with your family & friends in Tilal Liwa Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the less positive experience and delay in the pool bar orders. I've discussed the issue with the concerned Department Head and he has placed more staff during the busy times in order to make sure that orders are not delayed.

Kindly be informed that our menu's are all of International choices. When we prepared the menu's, we were focused to add several dishes to satisfy all nationalities; local, Arabic, Indian, Vegetarian food & International International.

Your opinion is very important to us. Your feedback will be always on top of our priorities. We will consider your comments and act accordingly.
We are constantly checking on areas of improvement and your valuable feedback will not only help us upgrade our services but will also makes us meets our guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services.


Kind Regards,


Ayman Ashor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Its a great drive to this place away from the city madness and the resort is small and tranquil. We went during August but surprisingly its not that hot in the middle of desert. We stayed in the pool most of the time though. Not much to do around anyways. Some of dunes buggies werent functional and in limited numbers so some of my friends could not try out the same. The rental was a bit pricey but then this is a resort and the only one around!

The rooms and facilities are clean and in good taste. The Staff were attentive and courteous even though they were flooded with guests the weekend we checked in. They were quite helpful when a friend misplaced his phone.

The only disappointment I have from our stay was the all day dining international restaurent, al badiya i think its called. We were a group of 8-10 and had in room service, dinner and breakfast at this place and each time were disappointed. Its the only restaurent around so its important they keep up some standard. Room service was delayed, food like the hydrabadi biryani and sandwiches were poor. The pasta was saving grace.

At Dinner we opted for ala-carte menu but were only served after 45-50min, mind you this is at 9-10pm which is prime and they are after all all day dining. Repeated requests to get the kid's order were ignored, how long can pasta in white sauce really take? Few orders were mixed up where the server dint know what she was serving and just exchanged sauces on table for the diners! We asked 4 times for a bottle of water which took 30min to arrive. Starters and bread were served without side plates and cutlery being laid out. The mixed grill was hard, scanty portioned and served with a big side of raw onions! I would only recomend the pastas and thai.

Breakfast buffet next morning was not an impressive mix as well, the upma which is semolina based tasted more like coconut savoury and few other dishes were tasteless ! The Chef really needs to work on it!!

All in all me and my friends had fun and relaxing time, please ensure to back your own meals if you have kids as they dont have any options that are good enough!

Room Tip: Make sure you keep repeating double beds..they have a penchant to stick you up with twin beds!! that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamal_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashor75, General Manager at Tilal Liwa Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir, Madame,

Warm greetings from Tilal Liwa Hotel!

Thank you very much for taking the time in answering our guest survey questionnaire and sharing your experience for our review.

We’re delighted to read that you've enjoyed your stay with your family & friends in Tilal Liwa Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience occurred during your stay. Kindly be informed that the a La Carte orders take normally 40-45 minutes. I apology if my colleague didn't explain this from the beginning.

Your opinion is very important to us. Your feedback will be always on top of our priorities. We will consider your comments and act accordingly.
We are constantly checking on areas of improvement and your valuable feedback will not only help us upgrade our services but will also makes us meets our guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Tilal Liwa Hotel to touch the improved services.


Kind Regards,


Ayman Ashor
General Manager
Tilal Liwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tilal Liwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilal Liwa Hotel

Property: Tilal Liwa Hotel
Address: Madinat Zayed - Al Gharbia, Madinat Zayed 112723, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Madinat Zayed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Madinat Zayed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilal Liwa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tilal Liwa Hotel is a 4 star hotel. A stunningly secluded Desert Hideaway perched at the edge of the majestic Rub Al Khali desert, with breathtaking views of some of the highest dunes in the world. Immerse yourself in an authentically Arabian “Oasis of Hospitality,” where tantalizing restaurants, an infinity outdoor pool, and a full range of luxury amenities offer lush accompaniment to the surrounding desert beauty. Whether you are embarking on an exhilarating Desert Safari, discovering the raditional sights of Al Gharbiya – Camel farm, dates plantation, Heritage Fortress, or simply escaping to solitude for a few days,our captivating four-star UAE hotel resort guarantees an unforgettable Arabian hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tilal Liwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilal Liwa Hotel Madinat Zayed, Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing