We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical Forest Underwater + Great Dive Center = Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miguel's Diving Gorontalo

Miguel's Diving Gorontalo
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Gorontalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tropical Forest Underwater + Great Dive Center = Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I would recommend diving in Gorontalo with Miguel's Diving in a heartbeat! We went there as an impulse visit during end of year break and Rantje was super helpful from the get-go. He arranged the pick-up to our hotel and was there to greet us when we arrived. Complete with BCDs and fins to try on! He also gave us recommendation on dinner places and a map around the area. Very handy indeed :)

Rantje also did the morning pick-ups and when we arrived in the dive center the boat will be all loaded up ready for an exciting dive day! Yay! Rantje will bring his magic slate and write down fish and coral names during the dive. He even named corals after our names! (Mia's pink lace coral and Gita's Orange Coral). Their DMs (Yunis & Undeng) were superb and knows the area like the back of their hand. We felt at ease even in the darkest spot of Jin's Cave. We would eat lunch they have prepared for us and we were very happy not only because how good it was but they also uses reusable food storage instead of disposable ones.

In terms of the dive sites, there are at least 38 of them so its better to stay there for a long period. We only got 6 dives during our stay and ended up wanting to extend it. Gorontalo is like none others. You can literally see tropical forest underwater with giant salvador dalis and beautiful sea creatures. Cave diving in Jin Caves was also something we would never forget! Captivating!

All and all, it was perfection!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank g_syahrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantje A, Manager at Miguel's Diving Gorontalo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. What a great end of the year break for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    6
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Top notch service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's unfortunate that Gorontalo is not as well known as other popular diving sites like Bunaken or Raja Ampat as it was an indescribable beauty with its cave-like walls, diverse micro creatures and its gigantic hard corals. From Singapore, you can fly to Gorontalo - either via Jakarta or Manado - and take a connecting flight to Gorontalo (it's closer via Manado and SilkAir flies direct). I had enjoyed the trip not only because of the great diving sites but also because of the first class service by Rantje and team (love those fried bananas and tea after the end of each trip). The six of us were well taken care of and felt safe throughout the dives. They were so attentive that they could figure out who were 'the swimmers' vs 'the photographers' in the group - thumbs up!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Totofore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantje A, Manager at Miguel's Diving Gorontalo, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your diving trip to Gorontalo, including after diving fried bananas! Yes, the flight connections from Singapore are quite good now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience with Miguel's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friends and I visited Gorontalo recently and reserved with Miguel's Diving to guide us to the wonderful underwater world that is well known for its dense coral and world renowned Salvador Dali Sponge.
When we arrived, Rantje, the dive center director personally picked us up and arranged everything smoothly from airport transfer, gear, and 1st check dive.
We dove 10 times in a total of 4 diving days.
All of our dives were planned beforehand. They predicted the wind, current, and tide very carefully to make sure we had the best time underwater.
Their dive boat is a twin engine with a capacity up to 10 divers. It's not the most spacious dive boat I've been, but enough room for us to move around gearing up, and to laze around after each dive.
Little did we know, Miguel's Diving was the 1st dive center that operated in Gorontalo. Thus, their vast experience is indeed one of the great advantage for us divers who want to explore the beauty of Gorontalo's underwater.
Overall, Miguel's Diving surely is the best dive center in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantje A, Manager at Miguel's Diving Gorontalo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your dive trip here and were able to see some of the Salvador Dali sponges found only in Gorontalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Excellent diving with excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Gorontalo diving trip, 1-5 January 2014.

What I like about diving in Gorontalo is the location of the city itself. It was my second time diving in Gorontalo with Miguel's Diving Gorantalo (MDG). Flying in from Jakarta is not a hassle at all, unlike some other diving places. The hotel of our own choice is near the airport (about 15-20 min). Easy access/exit, in and out the city. Perfect.

MDG is one of the few dive operators that offers excellent service; before, during and after diving activities. Very efficient, organised and professional. The dive package therefore is very relative. My 5 buddies and I were guided by 3 professional dive masters (DMs). Full attention was provided under water. We felt safe and secured. The DMs showed us many interesting spots and fishes under water. Good for my u/w photography!

And not only was the diving important, but also the food intake after a whole day diving! The city offers plenty of places to eat. Halal food is available everywhere as the majority of the population in Gorontalo is Muslim.

My buddies and I were satisfied and decided we would go back soon!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laraswati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantje A, Manager at Miguel's Diving Gorontalo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We enjoyed having you dive with us again and are glad that you and your friends had such a great - and hilarious - trip. Next time we hope to get you to dive one of our wrecks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Professional service & experienced staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I enjoyed diving in Gorontalo with Miguel's Diving. The staff are all well-experienced: 10 years, 7 years and 15 years of working experience - taking divers to dive in Gorontalo. Rantje was very helpful in helping me arrange my trip to Gorontalo, even to Togean Islands. He was very informative and super friendly, too. Even in underwater, he was busy showing us stuff & writing them down on a white board that he brought. He also took a great picture of me with his underwater camera! :D Other staff: Pak Yunus & Ondeng were very good in spotting macro! They spotted mimic octopus, robust ghost pipefish, pigmy seahorse, coconut shell octopus, and all the tiny shrimps & crabs. I was very satisfied with their services! Good people & very professional!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NilaTanzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantje A, Manager at Miguel's Diving Gorontalo, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
It was great having you both diving with us over the long holiday period. Your underwater photo was so good because the model has such enthusiasm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Diving Gorontalo also viewed

Gorontalo, Gorontalo Province
Gorontalo, Gorontalo Province
 
Gorontalo, Gorontalo Province
Gorontalo, Gorontalo Province
 

Been to Miguel's Diving Gorontalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing