We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliably good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Darfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Terrace has been our go to restaurant for a reasonably priced dinner for quite a while now. The staff are friendly and even with little people in tow we always feel welcome. The food is at the upper end of pub grub, portions are very generous so be wary of ordering a starter and a main unless you're very hungry! The desserts have gone downhill recently, they used to be fresh but I think they are being bought in frozen now which is a shame as the Tiramisu was a real treat before. The inside is clean and well laid out and they've updated it a bit recently which is good as it was feeling a bit tired.

If you're looking for decent food at a good price then the Terrace rarely puts a foot wrong.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricky1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Late Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dropped in for a very late lunch and they came up trumps. The food is excellent. Portion sizes are great. Service is excellent. The atmosphere could be better. It would be good to see a few pictures on the walls to soak up some of the sounds from the big TV.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good little bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stopped off here for a quick meal and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A nice find when not wanting a major meal. Staff were most friendly. We'll drop by here again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank tmcmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch at "The Terrace"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Enjoyed a drive to Darfield Sunday week ago and stopped by "The Terrace" for lunch. We had driven past many times previously on our way to the West Coast but this time decided to stop and pleased we did - the service was excellent and we enjoyed a nice chat with the waitress. The meal was beautiful - Blue Cod with fries, but with a choice of salad OR vegetables - with a meal such as this you usually only get offered salad - so it was nice to have the vegetables for a change. A very good combination and beautifully presented. An excellent value meal and way above what you would normally expect of a pub meal. Didn't have dessert as the main was more than enough for lunch. Also a good selection of wine. The buildings did have a rather 'tired' appearance about them - maybe not helped by earthquake damage plus the fact that it was a grey dismal day - but the food and the service more than made up for that. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant and will most certainly be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
485 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Situated about a half hour drive out of Christchurch, it is likely to be missed by all others than those in the know.
A true country style pub (bar) that serves country style portioned meals. They were huge.
Being part of a group on this occasion allowed for the sampling of a surprising variety of dishes and, they all tasted absolutely fabulously. Something you would most certainly expect of country cooking, but not so much in a country pub, that are more famed for fast foods and roasts.
I ordered my mandatory steak, which arrived not only cooked to perfection, but also of a size you would usually pay twice the price for (if you were ever to find a restaurant that served such sized steaks). Perhaps because of the size of the steak, perhaps the only disappointment of this meal was the lack (in quantity) of accompanying vegetables.
Another surprise was that they had Tiramisu on the dessert menu, which was absolutely divine. Well worth making room to digest.
It is a pub and, therefore, noisy, but the restaurant is well separated from the bar.
Best to go as a group or simply for a meal rather than a romantic special occasion. Still, the meal itself is, a special occasion
Best advice I can give is, book in advance, take the time to travel out there, and be hungry.
Definitely a place that will see our custom again and again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Darfield, Canterbury Region
Darfield, Canterbury Region
 
Darfield, Canterbury Region
Darfield, Canterbury Region
 
Darfield, Canterbury Region
Darfield, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing