We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place to stay"”
Review of Darfield Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Darfield Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We booked to stay at Darfield Motel 'sight-unseen', and hadn't expected such a lovely motel in a small town. We were delighted with our choice - our unit was clean and very comfortable with excellent facilities, and very quiet, despite being close to the main highway and the town. Janine even offered to help carry our bags upstairs to our unit. We definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefenelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Owner at Darfield Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your reveiw. Barry and I really want people to enjoy there stay in Darfield and it is wonderful to know we are on the right track. Really appreciate your time to place your comments and we welcome you to stay again. Kind Regards Barry and Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stopped here after a long drive from Te Anau. We got a friendly welcome at reception and were given a clean, bright, and comfortable room for the night. Our one negative comment is that the fan in the bathroom is completely inadequate. One steps out of the shower into a room completely foggy and steamed up. In fact, this is a common complaint in many motels I think.
Except for a hotel/pub, this is the only motel in town I think, and the owners do a great job of hosting travellers. I would point out that it is a small town and things seem to shut down early, so getting groceries or a meal or petrol out of normal working hours might be problematic.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank beegee36121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here on New Years Eve, as we had a wedding to go to nearby. We were basically just after somewhere close to the wedding to stay the night – but we were pleasantly surprised with this motel.

The room was new, spacious and very nice – from the large screen TV on the wall, modern fittings including a deep spa bath, this was the perfect room. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. The owner was very friendly and said as it was New Years we could have a sleep in! (check out is usually 10am)

We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area!

Room Tip: ask for the new room down from the offoce!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muffinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Owner at Darfield Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really love to hear how we are going, and it is really good to know you enjoyed your stay. We welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was recommended by a friend and what a great Motel this place is. Not a lot of money at all, but fantastic service. Good sized room - we even had our own BBQ! Much better than some of the hotels we stayed at at more than half the price!

WiFi worked well - they have a generous free allowance. The restaurant across the road looked awesome - shame we didn't get the chance to dine there (thanks jet lag!)

Will be back for sure :o)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife was suffering the stresses of putting up with Teenage drama and so I decided to take her away for a night and pamper her and have her relax and enjoy the peace. Motel Management were a lovely couple and awesome hosts. Nest time my wife is looking for a break we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Watch out for half filled spa bath or you might get sprayed in the face with a jet of water, as was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Owner at Darfield Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

I am glad you had a relaxing weekend break. Thank you so much for your kind comments, really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have stayed on a number of occasions and I can't fault the place. Rooms are always well keep and modern with everything you need . Janine and Barry are always happy to help with any of your needs and with a smile to boot. Thanks guys, see you next time.

Mike
Cromwell, NZ

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We found the motel to be an very good choice. Having crossed Arthur's pass we found the town of Darfield and this motel. The facilities were all there with a fully equipped kitchen, large bed plus a good size shower.
The on site laundry was well equipped with washing machines and dryers. With ample off road parking. It was close to Christchurch only about 30 mins away with a lot of other small and interesting towns around. We found it to be and ideal hub to explore the area. The management were polite and very helpful. I would say it would be a good choice for all.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darfield
14.2 mi away
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Springfield Motel & Lodge
#1 of 3 in Springfield
64 reviews
13.8 mi away
Oxford Village Motel
Oxford Village Motel
#1 of 2 in Oxford
47 reviews
30.7 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#1 of 4 in Darfield
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Oaks of Darfield
The Oaks of Darfield
#2 of 4 in Darfield
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Darfield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darfield Motel

Address: 23 South Terrace | Main Road, SH 73, Darfield 7510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Darfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darfield
Price Range: $101 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Darfield Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darfield Motels is a 13 unit Country Motel just 30 minutes from Christchurch. We offer a good range of rooms including our very popular "Cottage" which is like a home away from home. This is a 3-Bedroom unit with a large living area and big Kitchen. It has a large fridge/freezer with ice maker, full oven and 50' television. We have four 2-Bedroom units including two family units, Lodge and a two bedroom wheelchair access unit. These all have cooking facilities and are extremely comfortable units. Along with our six Studio units we also offer two Luxury units just recently built. One is a spa bath unit which is very popular for that romantic weekend away, while the other is our second access unit. At Darfield motels we offer free internet/wifi, free parking, free DVDs,free laundry facilities and we also have six sky channels in the rooms. Darfield is a close drive to many ski fields, air ballooning,fishing and golf courses. The town has two excellent restaurants along with a fabulous bakery. A great option if you are flying into Christchurch and wish to avoid the city we are just 25 minutes from the airport. Darfield Motels is a Four star Qualmark rated motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Darfield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing