We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Large rooms with cheap furniture - over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Darfield Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Darfield Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darfield
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Clean Large rooms with cheap furniture - over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This motel is very conveniently located when you are headed out of Christchurch to the west coast. Not often I complain of my accommodation. This motel has very large and very clean rooms BUT certainly done out on the cheap, tight kitchen area, small TV and a cheap lounge you cant get up out. So disappointing for the money. Great meals at the pub down the road. So east out have a few drinks and go straight to bed......

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Owner at Darfield Motel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Janine and I are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our Motels Brian. We had not long taken over the motels and have made many changes since. We have also built more units out front with a luxury spa unit,we would encourage you to book if you were to visit again. Dvd players have been introduced to every room and new furniture in some of the rooms. We are endevouring to improve the standard of Darfield motels as much as we can without increasing the price. We appreciate your review as it has helped us to realise the standards required as new moteliers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
30
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our room at Darfield Motel had everything we needed including a flat screen TV.
Although the Motel meets expectations, just realise that Darfield itself has limited dining options and is not particularly a destination in itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon83Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Spotlessly clean.modern,well equipped kitchenette,quiet and with am extremely helpful and pleasant reception.
Well Above average for motels in this price range

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doncall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed overnight. Unit a good size , very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

If you are arriving at Christchurch Airport and renting a car, this is an excellent place to stay if you're heading for the south, but need to rest after the journey. Nice pub with food, a popular coffee shop and and a little supermarket 5 mins down the road, and if you fancy a day trip on the TranzAlpine railway, the station is across the road.

Helpful?
2 Thank SXDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darfield
23.3 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
22.2 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
14.2 mi away
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Springfield Motel & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Oaks of Darfield
The Oaks of Darfield
#1 of 3 in Darfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
13.8 mi away
Oxford Village Motel
Oxford Village Motel
#1 of 2 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
22.8 mi away
Mt Hutt Lodge
Mt Hutt Lodge
#1 of 2 in Rakaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darfield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darfield Motel

Property: Darfield Motel
Address: 23 South Terrace | Main Road, SH 73, Darfield 7510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Darfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Darfield Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darfield Motels is a 13 unit Country Motel just 30 minutes from Christchurch. We offer a good range of rooms including our very popular "Cottage" which is like a home away from home. This is a 3-Bedroom unit with a large living area and big Kitchen. It has a large fridge/freezer with ice maker, full oven and 50' television. We have four 2-Bedroom units including two family units, Lodge and a two bedroom wheelchair access unit. These all have cooking facilities and are extremely comfortable units. Along with our six Studio units we also offer two Luxury units just recently built. One is a spa bath unit which is very popular for that romantic weekend away, while the other is our second access unit. At Darfield motels we offer free internet/wifi, free parking, free DVDs,free laundry facilities and we also have six sky channels in the rooms. Darfield is a close drive to many ski fields, air ballooning,fishing and golf courses. The town has two excellent restaurants along with a fabulous bakery. A great option if you are flying into Christchurch and wish to avoid the city we are just 25 minutes from the airport. Darfield Motels is a Four star Qualmark rated motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Darfield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing