We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it. Very nice, and even nicer for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muiderslot

Muiderslot
Book In Advance
More Info
$293.69*
and up
Guided Motorcycle Sidecar Tour: Dutch Countryside and Muiderslot Castle from...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Muiden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Don't miss it. Very nice, and even nicer for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a very beautifull castle, with very very good and educative activities for children. You learn a lot in a very pleasant way. Oh - you can skip the birds part - they look pretty sad to be tied there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    159
    38
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Makes you greatfull to be living in this century”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Quite an eye opener in "Living in Past Centuries". Great herb garden. Don't be afraid of hights and read-up before you go or you might find in superficial.

Helpful?
Thank sander_bastiaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I lived in holland, but never went to this gem. This year on our annual visit we decided to go and we were sure glad we went. Absolutely worth the visit for small and big kids. Our 35 year old son was jousting with his girlfriend. We were lucky the weather was nice so we could walk the gardens and watch the demonstration with the hawk. Worth the price of admission.

Helpful?
Thank Campfiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent entertainment for kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We wanted our kids (aged 7 and 4) to visit a real medieval castle mainly because it's educational. So we were delighted to find how entertained they were by Muiderslot - because they've done such an imaginative job of displaying its history. We spent hours there (by the way, our kids dressed up in costume, which did help them get into the whole visit, but we still had to pay! Apparently they only get free entry when dressed up in February!)

The best is a jousting 'game' - there are two of those bucking bronco seats that you see in fairgrounds, modified to be jousting seats. The kids sit opposite each other on their ‘horses’ with hands in a glove attached to a jousting stick. Between them is a projected image of a jousting match, like a video game. When the kids rocked back and forth on their horses, to make them go ‘faster’, it looked like the horses were running towards each other and that one knight knocked the other off his horse. There's a soundtrack of a crowd cheering and trumpets blaring. Extremely clever.

There is a terrible problem with parking in Muider. The SatNav takes you to a parking lot a short walk to the castle but it was full. We ended up probably parking in a residents' area which probably risked a parking ticket but what to do? At least we didn't get one.

We ate rather stodgy pancakes by the river, somewhere called 'Tante ?' in Muider. But it was very nice inside and the kids watched the pancakes being made. There is a nice bakery next door too and gift shop. It was fun watching the boats go in and out of a lock and the road swing open and closed. You can't miss this area if you drive around little Muider a bit.

We are staying in Center Parcs De Eemhof and it was certainly worth the 35 minute drive. I highly recommend a visit - but leave enough time to spend a good half day there! And some days they apparently have re-enactments. If you check their website, I'm sure you'll learn more. That would be fun! http://www.muiderslot.nl/english

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GroovyTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“PERFECT Day Trip from Amsterdam!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I just returned from a 5-day trip to Amsterdam with my family of 5, and our day trip to Muiderslot Castle was the unanimous highlight of our trip!

After doing the typical tourist attractions during our first four days in Amsterdam, including a cattle-call Lindbergh bus tour to North Holland that left little time for anything except picture taking, our trip to Muiderslot Castle was such a refreshing and authentic (and relaxing!) adventure.

It's easy to get here on your own. Just take tram #26 from Amsterdam Central Station to Ijburg (15 minute ride), then hop a ferry to the castle (ferry website amsterdamboatexcursion.com). The ferry ride takes about 45 minutes, but it's a beautiful ride out on the open water.

The castle is so perfect it looks like it came from a Disney movie, complete with surrounding moat and gardens, but it is the real thing and a lot of fun to explore. You have access to explore most of the castle on your own, but a few special rooms can only be explored with a tour group. The tour is in Dutch, so a bit disappointing in that regard, but it also speaks to the authenticity of the experience. This is a far cry from the Lindbergh Tour cattle-calls.

I very highly recommend a trip to this castle for anyone spending more than a couple days in Amsterdam.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PTCPittFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muiderslot also viewed

Haarzuilens, Utrecht Province
Zaandam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Muiderslot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing