We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old world charm in a relaxed location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Het Rechthuis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Het Rechthuis
Ranked #1 of 1 Muiden B&B and Inns
Sydney NSW
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Old world charm in a relaxed location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Situated just a 20 minute drive from Schiphol this charming hotel greets visitors as they enter the beautiful leafy village of Muiderberg, situated on the shores of the IJsselmeer.

A family run establishment, Hotel Het Rechthuis has an old world charm. Rooms are not modern but they are a good size and clean and you will sleep in a comfortable bed. Your hosts are welcoming and friendly and so are the staff who do a great job making you feel comfortable and special.

I imagine with summer in full swing the outside garden table seating will be bustling with patrons. When we visited in late September it was more relaxed with just a few patrons sitting outside. We ate inside and selected the set course menu which was fair value. It turned out to be a good choice with a soup of (forgotten vegetable), beautifully cooked grilled deer steak, and poached fig with a home made cinnamon ice-cream dessert. Table service was great, friendly and efficient.
After dinner a romantic stroll through peaceful tree-lined streets to the shore of the IJsselmeer was just the icing on the cake. Who wouldn't want to stay overnight in such a romantic location?

Breakfast was a plentiful selection of European style and also eggs/bacon etc. a selection of teas and coffee.

I would recommend Het Hotel Rechthuis for business or a romantic getaway.

The location also makes it a great start or finish location for your European tour if you are picking up or dropping of a hire-car at Schiphol which is only around a 20 minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the village of Muiden, the old fort town of Naarden Vesting, old fishing villages like Marken, Haarlem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just had a four day stay and cannot say a bad word about this hotel. Spotlessly clean, welcoming hosts & superb food the hotel is a credit to its owners. We stayed in a standard room, which was spacious with a shower room with plenty of hot water. Food is beautifully presented and well prepared. Recommend a stay here to anyone who has to visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We made this our base for a few relaxed days exploring this little corner of the Netherlands, staying one of the hotel's apartment rooms for a couple of nights. The family-run hotel is on the edge of Muiderberg, a quiet seaside (lakeside?) town, and set in a old tram station. The owners were really helpful from the off; we arrived at 09.30 straight from the ferry and asked if we could park, store our luggage, borrow a map and get some breakfast - no problem! We had a great meal in the restaurant that evening, and got some good advice on travelling into Amsterdam by train (only 17mins from nearby Weesp, you can get a bus to the station from right outside the hotel). The apartment room was clean, comfortable and had plenty of space for a family of four, with a small kitchen including a fridge, sink and hob, with a small amount of crockery, cutlery and cookware.

Room Tip: Apartment rooms are in a more modern building behind the hotel, but great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjj183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this beautiful Hotel recently and were so impressed by the friendliness and great service we received as well as it being very clean and comfortable. We will definitely be back next time we are in Muiderberg and would highly recommend it to family and friends.
Maaike

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in an apartment at this hotel. I think it's probably meant for families as there was a pull-out couch, a hob, dishes, etc. We certainly didn't need all that space and probably would've preferred a hotel room because some basic amenities weren't included (I presume people would bring stuff like a hair dryer). That being said, the inn is lovely and the people who work there even lovelier. There's a nice big terrace where you can sit outside and have a glass or two of wine. The restaurant is very good and we were treated really well (they were catering a big wedding dinner but we never felt ignored). I really liked this place -- it has a genuine feel to it and I loved the thoughtfulness of the staff and owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times now whilst on business in the Netherlands. This is by far the best Hotel we have stayed at over the many years we have traveled in Holland. The owners have the balance just right as they are friendly and helpful and always willing to help. The Chef produces beautiful food and the Gastronomic Events at the Hotel are fantastic. The hotel is located in an idealic location in Muiderberg and is perfect should you wish to go to Amsterdam but not stay in the centre. Het Rechthuis is very typically Dutch offering comfort, a warm welcome and lovely food - what else do anyone want!

Tony & Debbie Charman - Bowcrest Marine Ltd.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I discovered this gem of a hotel in November 2010 and have been returning on a regular basis once or twice a month for 1 or 2 nights at a time whilst on business in the area.
So it is convenient from Schiphol by car/taxi and bus but no direct rail route.
Family and staff so friendly and helpful.
Nice range of bedrooms for choice.
Excellent kitchen for lunches and evening meals.
You can get breakfast included in the price if you book direct or the correct online booking site.
Will keep returning time and time again.

Room Tip: Have a good look at the range of rooms. Front rooms provide views of The Brink (main road but not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muiden
1.7 mi away
NH Naarden
NH Naarden
#1 of 2 in Naarden
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
4.0 mi away
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
#1 of 2 in Bussum
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
6.4 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Almere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#206 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
7.1 mi away
Courtyard Amsterdam Arena Atlas
3.3 mi away
Hotel Het Hart van Weesp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Het Rechthuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Het Rechthuis

Property: Hotel Het Rechthuis
Address: Googweg 1 | Muiderberg, 1399 EP Muiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Muiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Muiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Het Rechthuis 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ‘Het Rechthuis’, an attractive hotel in a green area but close to the ‘Randstad’Do enter our attractive listed building and let yourself be pleasantly surprised by the old courthouse/station from the 17e century on the Brink in Muiderberg. We are ready to ensure you have a memorable stay. Be pampered by our hospitality!The beautifully decorated rooms are newly renovated and equipped with all today’s comforts. In the cozy lounge you can enjoy a drink at the bar or in front of the open fire. Or have a drink on the terrace where you can enjoy a magnificent view of the Brink, very comfortable, even in the winter.Would you like a simple meal or a more substantial dinner? Visit our restaurant, where our kitchencrew cooks you the most fantastic dishes. Your party or meeting can be catered for in our hall. You can even exchange your wedding vows in this attractive building!Hannelies and Hein van der Vliet would like to welcome you at Hotel ‘Het Rechthuis’ and will ensure you experience a pleasant and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Het Rechthuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing