We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as usual in every way”
Review of Sauchieburn Hotel

Sauchieburn Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laurencekirk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sauchieburn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Laurencekirk B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great food , great service , always made to feel very welcome here . Puddings well what can I say just lovely melt in the mouth meringues like they should be . Great place to visit nice clean and comfortable . Would definitely recommend to anyone who hasn't been go and check it out .

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Slapperno11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Sauchieburn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Booked lunch for four on spec. after reading previous reviews. None of us were disappointed. Staff very welcoming. There is ample room for walking aids and if necessary, a wheelchair, from the front door to the bar,to the dining room and the disabled toilet.My mother-in-law commented that everyone was smiling, including the customers.There was a good choice on the two course menu.The vegetables were served separately which meant everyone could share. Desserts delicious. Both courses very generous. I can't imagine anyone leaving the table hungry. Finishing touch was a gift for the ladies of a miniature Yankee candle as it was Mother's day.Wonderful. off the beaten track but well worth it.

Room Tip: We did not stay at hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A small, quiet and comfortable hotel to relax after a busy day. Great food and friendly staff. Not much in the immediate area but a good place to stay as a base for travelling around. Although I didn't get to visit it, the Fettercairn whisky distillery is nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyc1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very busy High Tea service. Restaurant fully booked on the Sunday we visited. Apparently, it is wise to book ahead. Friendly welcome from a slightly frazzled owner who serves the food, clears the tables, runs the bar and takes payments!
Attitude towards drop-ins could be better. People have to drive to visit this restaurant so a friendly apology would go a long way.
Order taken in bar and we were seated within a reasonable time for a group who had kindly been 'squeezed in' after a telephone chat at lunchtime.
The food is really very good. Large portions of piping hot, freshly cooked, mainly locally sourced food.
Good selection on the high tea menu (served on Sundays and Mondays only). £12.50 a head which includes a choice of teas and coffee with a generous selection of fresh home bakes (which we were given in a doggie back when we failed to make a dent!) The scones were hot, not merely warmish and the fresh cream and preserves were plentiful.
A favourite for my folks and I can see why.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ccindxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found this hotel after reading a rave review on a campsite notice board.
There were 4 in our party and we were all very impressed with the quality and quantity of the home cooked food. All the produce was sourced locally and fresh.
Nothing was too much trouble for the two ladies who own and run the hotel. Perfection at its best.
Between our party we had two brave enough for 3 courses from the goats cheese, the Cullen skink soup to the main meals of Pork, Chicken in peppercorn and the smoked Haddock (from Arbroath) and a choice of boiled potatoes or homemade chips with a selection of veg. Finally we tackled the puds again home made...... wow.
It was that good we booked Hi Tea's for the following night which was a main meal and a massive plate of homemade cakes with tea or coffee to finish fantastic evening (I have to admit we took some of the the cakes back to the site for supper thankyou)
Would we go back omg YES....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BlackpoolBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Friendly little country place, in a nice peaceful area. The best peppercorn chicken ever and the owner will even make it for you in the evening when its not on the menu. Nice for a walk about after a big meal too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcs8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked the sauchieburn hotel for an overnight stay to attend a friends wedding at nearby Fasque.

From initial booking to contacting for directions Julie could not have been more friendly or helpful.

On arrival we were warmly greeted, offered help with luggage and refreshments. Contact number for the local taxi company was kindly given for travel to and from wedding.

The room was spotless, bright and freshly decorated. Tea, coffee, a good range of biscuits and fresh milk provided. A beautiful view over fields and no noise whatsoever! The modern bathroom was stocked with quality mini toiletries, as you would expect in a five star hotel and the grooming kit and hand cream was a lovely touch.

On return from the wedding we had a cute little note left for us and some more fresh milk for tea and coffee.

After a brilliant nights sleep we had a leisurely breakfast. A huge bowl of fresh fruit, selection of cereals, yogurts and fresh orange was laid out. The cooked breakfast was by far one of the nicest I have had in quite a while. Cooked to perfection and very fresh .

We will definitely be back and cannot recommend this little gem enough!! Shame we never had chance to sample their high teas and evening meals !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sauchieburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauchieburn Hotel

Address: Luthermuir, Laurencekirk AB30 1PX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Laurencekirk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laurencekirk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing