We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Scottish”
Review of Ramsay Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramsay Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fettercairn B&B and Inns
Stabekk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really Scottish”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Ramsay Arms are a traditional Scottish inn, offering spacious rooms. But there were no Wi-Fi in the room, you had to go down to the reception or in the pub. It worked there, but extremely slow. We ate dinner in the pub. The food is traditional pub food with battered cod and haggis, ok, but a bit boring. Breakfast is ok.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reiseruud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    44
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
46
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stopped here after a Sunday drive as we had always had excellent meals in the past. I ordered the steak pie which had been absolutely lovely in the past but it was not the same. The filling was very nice but there was not much gravy. The pastry topper was not very nice and I left most it. The chips were good and the roasted veg was really nice but I did not think it was the right accompaniment to the pie. My husband had the Lairds chicken which was lukewarm, fairly tasteless and covered in a cream sauce that was also not full of flavour.
Along with 1 pint of shandy and a soda water and lime the bill came to over £30 which was too much for what we received.
On a positive note, the service was excellent and the bar is a very nice setting for a meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We only stayed for a quick lunch. The place is nice and clean and very 'Scottish', more tartan in the bar than is strictly necessary. The food is, however, nice and was very welcome. They also have Wifi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngharadWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night after crossing the Cairn 'o mount on bicycle. The room was spacious and nice and was other vice the standard you'd expect. Service a bit below top, but acceptable. Pub food for dinner ok and breakfast the same. No wifi in rooms is not good enough in 2013. And the slow connection in the pub and reception area cannot be blamed on other than lousy infrastructure in rural Scotland...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

booked for dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday and our anniversary, the service was very good and the food was excellent we enjoyed the experience and more importantly 2 teenagers had no complaints so a success all round, great place to go for a walk after a meal as well

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Taking advantage of the long June daylight hours we decided to visit the Ramsay Arms Hotel for the first time in a good number of years. The trip was well worth it given the choose of menu, and the quality of the food and service. We all started with poached egg cooked in breadcrumbs, a very different starter from the usual type of menu, it was an excellent choice. Steaks followed all cooked as requested, to finish a brilliant dessert, fresh fruit in a tart with mascarpone and lemon curd, delicious. Would be go back, most certainly, the food, the menu and quality of service were all of the highest order.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Ramsay Arms. The staff were helpful, friendly and provided good service. Our room was clean and comfortable. The lounge areas for hotel guests are beautifully decorated in traditional Scottish style. We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was good. Would be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fettercairn
8.7 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
236 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
310 reviews
14.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
474 reviews
4.1 mi away
Panmure Arms Hotel
Panmure Arms Hotel
#2 of 6 in Edzell
93 reviews
7.8 mi away
St Cyrus Village Inn
St Cyrus Village Inn
#2 of 2 in St Cyrus
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsay Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsay Arms Hotel

Property: Ramsay Arms Hotel
Address: Burnside Road, Fettercairn AB30 1XX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Fettercairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fettercairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ramsay Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing