We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Ramsay Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramsay Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fettercairn B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hotel”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

i stopped here for 4 nights on buisness, i found the hotel warm and clean food excellant and staff very helpful and friendly, i would definitely stay here again. i would recomend making any impotant phone calls before arriving as mobile signal is limited but ther's always the old fashioned land line available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
44
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here while attending a wedding near by. The room was fine and good value. Breakfast was excellent. The staff were great and very helpful and attentive. If we were in the area again we would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for a place in the country, not far away and easy to get to, which offers very tasty, fresh food look no further than the Ramsay Arms. I ordered hot smoked salmon fish cakes and they had a wonderful, very smoky taste. I didn't just receive one or two small fish cakes but two large - I even took one home!
Everything is fresh, yes I know I keep mentioning it but even the chicken goujons for children was so crisp and full of flavour.
Don't be put off if you enter the lounge and it is quiet (you may even be on your own) stay, sit down, relax and enjoy good food.

Room Tip: children's meal are as good as adults - which makes a nice change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotels in this area are few and far between, and I have stayed in all the local ones before but this is the first time in Fettercairn.
Beware that you can't even get into the hotel until 5:30 in the afternoon. But very friendly staff and a warm welcome once you are in. The room we had was very basic and a bit tired, but it is an old hotel. The stairs corridor etc hark back to Queen Victorias time and are quite grand. The bed was much too hard for me, but that's my taste. However the food was fantastic. I had haddock and chips for supper, and you could tell the fish was fresh. Then I had haddock and poached egg for breakfast. Absolutely fantastic. So maybe next time I will ask for a room with a softer bed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having stayed at the Ramsay Arms last year myself and two friends retuned again for a weeks shooting on the nearby Fasque Estate.

The hotel has maintained its high standard and with a refreshed menu the food was good. The rooms have all the required amenities and were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with locally sourced eggs, bacon, black pudding, etc.

As we found last year the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.

Prices are reasonable and fair value for money.

Reommended if you wish to tour the area or are a fisherman or shooter as both sports have large availability nearby.

Room Tip: Room 2 has windows on the west and north sides giving extra light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebbajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A very comfortable hotel serving excellent food, including a first-class, freshly cooked breakfast. Dinner is served in the bar area, so it is informal but very good. The hotel was perhaps a bit short-staffed on the Friday evening, but the young man on duty remained cheerful and courteous despite being under quite a lot of pressure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
288 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Called in on chance for lunch. Staff welcoming and helpful.my wife was impressed with the soup which says a lot. Mains of burger etc were actually very good with a genuine big meaty burger and a wonderful onion chutney. Fair selection of beers but wine list looked expensive and uninspiring.
Decor clean and tidy, possibly lacking in atmosphere.
Would return if passing

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fettercairn
4.3 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
534 reviews
8.7 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
226 reviews
10.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
296 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
364 reviews
4.1 mi away
Panmure Arms Hotel
Panmure Arms Hotel
#2 of 6 in Edzell
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsay Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsay Arms Hotel

Property: Ramsay Arms Hotel
Address: Burnside Road, Fettercairn AB30 1XX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Fettercairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fettercairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ramsay Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing