We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramsay Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramsay Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fettercairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
286 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Called in on chance for lunch. Staff welcoming and helpful.my wife was impressed with the soup which says a lot. Mains of burger etc were actually very good with a genuine big meaty burger and a wonderful onion chutney. Fair selection of beers but wine list looked expensive and uninspiring.
Decor clean and tidy, possibly lacking in atmosphere.
Would return if passing

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    45
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
43
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

i was invited out for a family meal and it happened to be in the ramsay and it was the first time i had been there and the reception area is lovely with the big comfy sofas was good to relax once i had my meal with a cup of tea.

as soon as you enter the hotel you are met with a warm and friendly atmospher and the staff seem to take pride in their job and and are very helpful.

the bar has a very good selection of alcoholic beverages including local fettercairn whiskys and cater for non drinkers too!

the food was amazing and it was ample portion sizes also we had a 20 to 30 minute wait but was well woth it has they cook all their meals freshly to order. we would highly recommend treating yourselves for a meal there. the strognoff and their own sticky pudding is to die for.
i will be returning soon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 370stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Called in for an evening meal , staff were pleasant but we waited 40 minutes for a standard type of meal . Taste was bland and not worth the wait.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinitraveller963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We came for a family meal on a busy Saturday lunchtime so did expect a bit of a wait for the food to arrive, however, we waited more that 30 minutes for our meals. When they arrived, we had absolutely no complaint with the standard of the food. The portions were huge and the food was great. I hope this was just a blip in the normal service and I would not hesitate to go back again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We went for a mother's day meal and we weren't disappointed. The first bottle of wine wasn't as cold as we like but the staff happily made sure the second one was icy cold. Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollygeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Superb steak at the Ramsay! what can I say this place has well trained and mannered staff, a superior menu and a selection of ales, need I say more!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cipriani89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here a few times over the last 3 years. It's in a lovely wee village, and the distillery up the road produces a very palatable malt.

The service? Friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, although it's usually a challenge to find someone in the morning who can check you out! Have only ever eaten in the bar (same menu as restaurant, I believe) and the food is consistently good, although some options are on the pricey side.

The rooms are OK, and vary in size. Minor niggles, like stupidly small TV, loose fittings, no hooks for towels in bathroom and sometimes a lack of TLC evident but they're clean, and quite comfortable.

I like this hotel and the atmosphere in the bar, but it does need someone to go round with a screwdriver and toolkit!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvernessChoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fettercairn
4.3 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
8.7 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
10.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.1 mi away
Alexandra Lodge
Alexandra Lodge
#2 of 6 in Edzell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsay Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsay Arms Hotel

Property: Ramsay Arms Hotel
Address: Burnside Road, Fettercairn AB30 1XX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Fettercairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fettercairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ramsay Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing