We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best option in Nampula”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruby Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nampula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby Backpackers
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Probably the best option in Nampula”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I agree with all the reviews of this place - it's clean, safe and well-run, with really helpful owners. The only negative is price (650 for a dorm room), but it's more a Mozambique problem than a specific criticism of this place. Hopefully one day people will start opening a few more campsites, but until then this kind of price seems pretty standard. I'd definitely recommend it if you want some advice on onward travel, or somewhere to meet other people going the same place as you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
14
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I don't know what it is about that place. They have an outfit in Ilha de Mocambique and I think they got that very hard to describe vibe that you find there: you just feel good. Nice, hippie-style decor, very clean rooms, cheerful colours. The shared bathroom is very basic with those shower/wc cubicles and just a curtain for privacy but somehow it just feels right. And hanging out on the porch at night chatting with people and writing in my journal is my new idea of peace.
The service is very nice and personal without being obsequious. They were full when I returned and I just had a few hours to spare before my early morning flight, so they left a towel and a blanket for me on the porch and I slept in the sofa, had a shower in the morning and left 200 mets on the counter before leaving.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpontal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ruby Backpackers in Nampula is excellent value for money and has a very friendly atmosphere. I was warned against staying more than a night in Nampula but the clean and comfortable rooms (also dorms are available), friendly atmosphere and very helpful owners (Claudia and Uwe) make it the perfect place to rest and recover from the fun but tiring chapa travel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

650 Mtc for a dorm is one of the most expensive dorm beds I stayed in Mozambique, but it is also one of the best hostels i stayed in. Uwe and Claudia make you feel at home rightaway, all rooms, kitchen and the bath room are very clean and arriving early morning is no problem at all. On the veranda around the house there is a number of spots to sit and relax while having a drink and bite from the well-filled outside "bar".
We've stayed there in 2 visits a total of 4 nights and slept both in the dorm as well as in the double room (1500Mtc). The beds in both rooms are good, they provide mosquito bed nets and in addition also have a night program consisting of film night, dancing class, yoga and more. Though this program does not prevent the premises to be quiet as early as 9 or 10 at night.

So a definite recommendation

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are good, but if you can spend a little more (esp. for a business traveler), I would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozambeeqhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nampula is a weird place, and one of its weird quirks is that accommodation is generally expensive and pretty grotty. It makes no sense (and also applies in Cuamba...) Fortunately the guy who set up Ruby's on Ilha (which incidentally is the place with the great roof view that some other reviewer mentions...this one in Nampula is basically a house, albeit a very nice one) has now moved to Nampula and decided to cater for the fairly sizeable gap in the market. Yes, it is quite expensive for a dorm, but if you can find a better place in Nampula, well, good luck to you. We couldn't (and we looked at quite a few places the first time we came through). It was only on our way back - having heard about this place from people on Ilha - that we stayed, and it certainly makes Nampula a more pleasant place to be. Which still frankly isn't great, but better than it would be otherwise...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Over $20.00 for a dorm bed is a bit ridiculous to me. Especially if you're only sleeping until your bus leaves sometime between one and three in the morning. But, we ended up needing to stay so my travel partner could see a doctor and recover from an infection and Ruby's ended up being a nice haven in the middle of Nampula. We were able to take advantage of the wi-fi (when it worked, which it seemed to when fewer guests were around, even during the day) and the kitchen to cook our own meals. Sonja (apologies if that is spelled wrong) was a great help to us trying to figure out the bus schedules and answering any questions we had or translations we needed.

I still think it's outrageously priced, but it ended up being a much better experience than the shady looking guesthouse across the street from the bus "station" that we went to when we first arrived in Nampula. If Ruby Backpacker truly wanted to cater to backpackers, there would be a room set up, perhaps maybe even without a bed, where travelers could hang out for a few hours before their middle of the night bus took off for less than the 21.67 we paid for a bed.

Also, with the exception of the delicious chocolate pudding/mouse- avoid the overpriced snacks! Stock up at the little market around the corner instead!

Room Tip: If you're going for a dorm room- avoid the first room on the right. The outside lights are brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampula, Mozambique
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Ruby's for 3 nights. Great location in old narrow streets in middle of old stone town. Bar is good to hang out at certain times. Staff are friendly. Inwould have stayed longer but wS booked out because doesnt have that many beds (10-15?) Great old building most interesting placed I stayed in Mozambique so far

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nampula
0.0 mi away
Jardim dos Aloes
Jardim dos Aloes
#1 of 7 in Mozambique Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
98.6 mi away
Nampula Hotel by Montebelo
9.8 mi away
Coral Lodge 15.41
Coral Lodge 15.41
#1 of 1 in Mossuril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
98.2 mi away
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#2 of 4 in Nampula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
98.9 mi away
Hotel Milenio
Hotel Milenio
#1 of 3 in Nampula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
98.4 mi away
Butik Hotel
Butik Hotel
#8 of 11 in Nampula
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby Backpackers

Property: Ruby Backpackers
Address: Nampula, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Nampula Province > Nampula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Nampula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing