We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chevalier de Boufflers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goree Island
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

There are so many day visitors who visit Goree Island. If you would like to avoid the mass tourism, stay over night. This Hotel is a great place to stay, inexpensive with alot of charm.
The rooms are big and located in an old stonehouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
9
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Simple but lovely room with shutters overlooking the street; very friendly,helpful staff, good food and a great spot to watch the ferry coming and going; the fishermen on the beech. Everything is in within a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a bit more for the upstairs rooms for the light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Absolutely everyone you meet in Senegal (and that includes Senegal-resident Americans) has only one objective - to extract the maximum amount of money from you by any possible means. Against that background, it was a pleasant surprise to encounter the staff of the Hostellerie Boufflers on Goree Island. When my son fell ill while visiting the island, the hotel staff rushed to help, insisted upon giving him a room to rest in, brought bottles of water, and refused to accept payment. We later had lunch at the hotel restaurant. The food is simple but good, and the service delivered with a smile. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J-CDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel close to the dock at wich the boats to Goree arrive, has rooms in a building detached from the restaurant (which also the reception). Position is excellent, rooms are quite big, bads are comfortable, there's hot water. Rooms have an old-fashion style, and I found it nice. It wasn't that pleasant to see some cockroaches at the entrance of the building where the rooms are and along the stairs, but they weren't at the floor where the rooms are. Anyway, it's a optimum place where to stay during the evening, when most of the tourists have gone back to Dakar and Goree gives its best.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Caggiamilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a lovely spot on beautiful Goree Island. Rooms are bright and simple but have everything you need - mosquito net, electricity and running water (shower). Breakfast is at the restaurant bar around the corner where you can sit outside and look down on the little beach/harbour. I should say that we came here from Sierra Leone so appreciated the standard - for European holiday travellers - this is a simple hotel with no glamour or mod cons. but in my view that is in keeping with the tranquility of the island. you certainly feel that you're staying in a house typical for the island and we slept very well indeed!

I will definitely stay here again, but please only book directly with the hotel. you can book online through bookings-dakar, realireves, which we did and it was a disaster. we were assured there was a room available and accordingly paid the 55 euros to secure the booking. Once we got to the hotel they had no record of the booking, certainly hadn't received the payment, and said they had had problems like this before with people saying they had booked online. Luckily they had a room and it was significantly cheaper - CFA24,500, so equivalent of 37 euro. So do call the hotel directly rather than rely on intermediaries! We did get the money back from the booking site with no questions asked, but you do risk showing up and finding there is no availability after all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

If you are visiting Goree Island, I would suggest that you have lunch at the Hostellerie Boufflers Goree. Don't look at the menu, simply asking the waiter what fresh fish is has that day, ask for his suggestions on how best to cook it, order a 'Flag' beer, and watch the world go by. The fish, which I now forget the name of, was fresh and cooked to perfection...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeptPiliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

I traveled to Goree Island, and against most people's recommendations I stayed the night. The hotel was basic but very clean, the staff was very nice and helpful. I recommend a night on Goree, for a quiet, peaceful evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramp_Runner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goree Island
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
#2 of 13 in Saint-Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Djoloff Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Al Baraka
Hotel Al Baraka
#17 of 43 in Dakar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#3 of 13 in Saint-Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Castel
Villa Castel
#1 of 4 in Goree Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Augustin Ly
Maison Augustin Ly
#2 of 4 in Goree Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chevalier de Boufflers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chevalier de Boufflers

Property: Chevalier de Boufflers
Address: Debarcadere de Goree, Goree Island, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Dakar Region > Goree Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goree Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chevalier de Boufflers 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel and restaurant in front of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Chevalier de Boufflers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing