We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely gastro pub in a pretty village”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Dog Inn

The White Dog Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $64
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The White Dog Inn is a family-run country pub, serving good food and real ales. We do our best to source local, seasonal produce and have a seasonal menu, as well as specials. We offer bar, restaurant, outdoor or private dining and will do our very best to cater to our customers' needs. Children are welcome and we provide high chairs and a children's menu. Dogs are welcome in the bar area, but must be kept on a lead. If they are well behaved, we even have a tin of treats! Regular live music nights are put on and can be found on our Facebook page or website. We also host a Pizza Night on Thursdays where you can enjoy a freshly prepared pizza made in our very own pizza oven!
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely gastro pub in a pretty village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent food with a nice mix of 'gastro' and pub grub, and an interestin grange of bar snacks, not just the normal crisps and nuts, but home made pork scratchings, scotch egg, pickled onions and others

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsussexgirl, Owner at The White Dog Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you like our homemade bar snacks.
Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Harriet skinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    74
    27
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really wonderful pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a wonderful pub, full of character with great food and friendly staff in a beautiful corner of Sussex, overlooking the Rother Valley. We stayed overnight in one of the nicest pub bedrooms we've ever stayed in. Easily big enough for a put up bed for our young daughter and a comfy sofa piled high with pretty cushions. A very comfortable bed, feather pillows and really soft sheets. It also had a spacious bathroom with bath and shower and lovely soft white towels. It was beautifully quiet at night and the breakfast was fantastic - hot croissants and jam for our daughter, a full English for us, unlimited proper coffee. Nothing was too much trouble. The landlord was very welcoming and all in all it was just perfect. We can't wait to return. Oooh yes and they make the best Pimms too, with all the trimmings. Just as it should be. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsussexgirl, Owner at The White Dog Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello, thank you for your review, im glad you all enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely comments.
Regards
Harriet skinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Another gold star from us! A+ for The White Dog team!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I previously visited The White Dog by chance and had such a good time, we returned again this week. We were not disappointed! They even remembered us from before. The place was quite busy - which clearly shows the public's opinion, but the girls working did their best to serve us as quickly as they could. We ordered our drinks at the bar (the girls told us a local beer called curious brew had just arrived so we had that and it was lovely). We went outside with some as it was nice weather, the views were wonderful and we spotted a pizza oven is currently being built! Ordered our food at the bar (Seabass for me and lamb for my husband) The waitress bought our food out and saw we had a dog so went to fill the water bowl up for him and bought him a biscuit. The food was brilliant, different and made out visit. As they were so busy we took our plates and glasses in to help out and the girls were really thankful and explained they had a table of 27 walk in!! We couldn't tell from outside jus how busy they were and their standard of service was still fantastic. A+++ White Dog team! Will go back again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsussexgirl, Owner at The White Dog Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, we now have our pizza night on a Thursday evening, I remember this day when we had the table of 27 walk in... It was very busy. We always live to welcome dogs.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.
Regards
Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dreadful Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I have been fairly regular customers of the White Dog but we will not be returning. We had an evening meal there in May to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food was good but the service well below the standard that we had been used to - small things such as, incorrect cutlery being laid, bread not being presented at the table until we asked for it and having to ask for a bowl to put mussel shells in. We overlooked these faults and returned with friends a couple of weeks ago. Big mistake, the service was truly dreadful. Slow and chaotic at best. Although we were the first party to be seated our order was taken after tables that had been seated after us. We waited a long time for our starters and even longer for our main course. People who had arrived after us had finished their meal before ours arrived. The main problem seemed to be with a lack of staff, it was a nice evening and people were also sitting outside. The bar staff were doubling up as waitresses which on this occasion did not work. It also appeared that there was a shortage of staff in the kitchen.

The food when it did arrive was good but I think that this pub needs to decide what it really is. The cost of the food is at restaurant prices which is fine but the standard of service must be improved upon.

I did telephone the White Dog the next morning to complain and spoke to the co owner Harriet who became very defensive and said that it had been a nice day and that they had been very busy, not a plausible excuse in my book. When I mentioned the fact that I had been more than fair and had contacted her in the first instance rather than writing a review on Trip Advisor Harriet accused me of threatening her with Trip Advisor which was not true, she further stated that she would see what had gone wrong and return my call - I am still waiting for that call! Perhaps the owners of this pub have become complacent which is a shame as there are many other very good pub restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JanetPaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really felt at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were treated to lunch for fathers day, although the pub was really busy, we were greeted warmly and told where our table was. We were offered the menus and it was suggested that perhaps we would like a drink while we chose from the menu and to take it in the garden if we wanted. The garden is lovely. There was quite a wait for the food but when it arrived we were not disappointed. They were very apologetic about the wait but we were in no hurry. We enjoyed it so much that we returned again that week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsussexgirl, Owner at The White Dog Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Regards
Harriet skinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Dog Inn also viewed

 
Robertsbridge, East Sussex
Staplecross, East Sussex
 

Been to The White Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing