We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paronella Park

Paronella Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.89*
and up
Paronella Park, Mamu Skywalk, Waterfalls, Rainforest, and Wildlife Day to Night...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everyone has a dream. José Paronella’s dream became a reality. On 5 Hectares beside Mena Creek Falls he built his castle, picnic area by the falls, tennis courts, bridges, a tunnel, and wrapped it up in an amazing range of 7,500 tropical plants and trees. He even harnessed the waterfall for his electricity. It opened to the public in 1935.Today, visitors to the park marvel at the achievements of one man. Admission to Paronella Park is valid for 12 months and covers all of the tours (a 45 minute guided walk that explains this extraordinary story & takes you through the highlights as well as the stunning Darkness Falls Tour where the castles and waterfall are flood-lit to allow for amazing photo opportunities). Admission also includes the souvenir guide book, fish food, umbrellas, access to the online photo gallery as well as a site for one night in the adjacent van park.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

A 'must see' on anyone's itinerary visiting Cairns. We were greeted in the carpark by staff welcoming us to Paronella Park which gave us a good feeling as soon as we arrived, had lunch in the restaurant infront of a great big fan as it was very hot and humid. Our guide (Luke) was excellent in giving us some of the history surrounding the park, it was one man's dream to recreate a Spanish castle from his homeland on his property and developed hydro electricity in the 1930's to power his site which would have been fantastic in its day from the huge waterfall beside it. The property is in ruins now, but still a delight to view.The gardens are well maintained and an absolute delight to wander through.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review!

I'm very pleased you chose to visit Paronella Park, and enjoyed your time with us.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    284
    91
    40
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Even though it was extremely hot and muggy (and sometimes rainy) the day we visited, my husband and I really enjoyed this place. It was one man's dream to recreate Spanish castles from his homeland on his property that has a lovely waterfall and ponds with fish and turtles you can feed. The buildings are mostly ruins now, but the charm is in story and partly in your imagination of what the place was like when it was first built. Take the guided tour that's included in the price to hear the highlights and to see a colony of micro-bats.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank malindamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It's definitely a good suggestion you've made in regards to taking the guided tour.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful and magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Came here with my wife and am blown away by this place. It is a magical place, for sure, and may the dream continue for the new owners of this place.

The people there are very friendly and helpful. We had Luke as our tour guide and he was very knowledgeable plus very enthusiastic about the place. The "ruins" are amazing to watch and would be such a great visit when it is fully restored. There are so many places to take photos at and so many wonderful settings. To listen to the story of this place and watch the place on the tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Cairns.

Highly recommended visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJJC_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting Paronella Park, and for writing a review.

It's great to read that your visit was a highlight of your trip to Cairns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Such an interesting place to visit. The history of the place is amazing. We had our own tour guide who was very informative and funny. Will be back for a night tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review!

I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you again when you revisit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enchanted hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Paronella park is a magical place full of nature, history, dreams and wonder. The romantic history of the park will pull at your heart strings.
Jose Paronella has not only created a beautiful place to discover but used technology well before it's time.
We stayed at the adjacent caravan park in the new cabins. Which enabled us to partake in both the day tour and night tour. We also had the chance to explore the park for ourselves.
The staff were all extremely friendly and well educated on the history of the park. Such a huge amount of upkeep is required to maintain the gardens and it's buildings. The entry fee is worth every cent!

Helpful?
Thank Bellsy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review.

It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us!

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paronella Park also viewed

Queensland, Australia
 

Been to Paronella Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing