We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of Paronella Park

Paronella Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.09*
and up
Paronella Park Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everyone has a dream. José Paronella’s dream became a reality. On 5 Hectares beside Mena Creek Falls he built his castle, picnic area by the falls, tennis courts, bridges, a tunnel, and wrapped it up in an amazing range of 7,500 tropical plants and trees. He even harnessed the waterfall for his electricity. It opened to the public in 1935.Today, visitors to the park marvel at the achievements of one man. Admission to Paronella Park is valid for 12 months and covers all of the tours (a 45 minute guided walk that explains this extraordinary story & takes you through the highlights as well as the stunning Darkness Falls Tour where the castles and waterfall are flood-lit to allow for amazing photo opportunities). Admission also includes the souvenir guide book, fish food, umbrellas, access to the online photo gallery as well as a site for one night in the adjacent van park.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our third visit to Paronella Park; it's intriguing how much it changes between each visit. You are greeted at the entrance by the owner, Mark, immediately making you feel welcome and special. The tours of the grounds are conducted every half hour - the weather was wet on our visit, but there are plenty of complimentary umbrellas available to keep you dry during the fascinating walk.
There are some steep steps, but an alternate route can be arranged for those who find stairs troublesome.
Voted the #1 Must See tourist attraction in FNQ for very good reason. A wonderful history, the most wildly romantic vistas and nooks, and it's impossible to take a bad photograph in these settings. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly and the owners even more so. Finish up your tour with a cold drink or ice cream at the cafe area where large fans cool you down.
Don't miss the opportunity to take in the night tour, where even the wet weather holds its own rewards in the form of glow worms and glow fungi, and fireflies. Plus the sight of the buildings lit up at night is magical.
Your entry price covers entry to the park for 24 months (yeah, you read that right!) and also a complimentary night in the caravan park (which also boasts small cabins if camping isn't your bag). Very enjoyable. A must-see if you're in this neck of the FNQ woods.
Some ask. "What's so special?"
Consider the resilience of the buildings and surrounds after cyclonic conditions ravaging this area along with floods and the relentless passage of time. Enjoy the serenity. Spend time with nature.
I'm not really a tree hugger, but I must say, I just love the whole set up; flora and fauna (micro bats a must see) the walking tracks, the waterfalls and river critters.
It was great to meet Luke finally after receiving e-newsletters for the last few years and also reading his responses to some of the less than complimentary reviews. (Always a few unhappy customers)
We say, make it a must do,and enjoy the Park.
Here's to hoping it can keep giving to our cultural history for years to come and keep up the good work Mark, Luke and staff.
More than happy customers, Kev, Shan, Harry, Nina and Laurie.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KevHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for the review, and for being repeat visitors!

It was really nice to speak with you all during your most recent visit - we're very lucky to have passionate supporters like yourselves.

Hope you're having a great year so far, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    297
    98
    40
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland,NZ
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if in the area”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We drove from Cairns for a visit to Paronella Park as it was recommended by my aunt who is local to Cairns. It was a pleasant drive and we had wonderful views of cane fields and scenery. The staff in the park is very friendly and we had lunch before we walked around.
The cafe was unique with its high top and the toasted sandwich I had was one of the best I have ever had.
The park itself was very interesting and it had an interesting history to it. The old buildings look like they need work to be done on them. We travel quite a bit and have seen sites of this sort. For the area it is in, it is unique. We were not awed about it but would return if we were ever in the vicinity. Also, we would pick a cooler season to visit it as it was about 32C that afternoon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank petitmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit Paronella Park!

Thanks also for your positive feedback - it's particularly nice to read that you enjoyed your visit to our café!

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, grounds need some work!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited Paronella Park on advice from friends who has visited a fair few years ago. The staff were excellent, very friendly and welcoming from the moment you arrive! We did the guided walk which is a must if you are to really get a feel for the place. The history of the grounds is fantastic, however there needs to be some repairs/ upgrades if it is to be true to its former glory. I understand from our tour guide that repairs to the ballroom are being planned. I look forward to coming back and seeing the progress in the future, however I don't feel that the $40 per adult entry fee is worth the site as is at the moment.

Helpful?
1 Thank becboalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting and writing a review, and also for your feedback.

Upkeep and maintenance is an ongoing thing, but as you mention, the project to recreate much of the original Ballroom is our next major project.

Thanks again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
264 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good look at the past”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A place from the 1930's that is needing a lot of work to get rebuilt to it's original grandeur. They have the power plant rebuilt and the museum open, but they need a good bit to get to some of the other buildings. They do have a modern café and gift shop. The coffee was good. We did the 45 minute tour and saw a lot of the grounds, a couple species of bats, a couple of the resident croc's and turtles.
It is worth a couple hours to look see but the fare is a bit steep ($40). They did say that was going towards the rebuild so let's see what another 2 yrs does......

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting Paronella Park, and for taking the time to write a review.

All going well, we do hope to have made some progress on our next big project over the next couple of years!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice visit”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed visiting Paronella Park in December 2013. The whole park is like a real sleeping beauty castle. We had a private tour that was very interesting, in particular the various kinds of bats and the waterfall are very impressive. We wish the owners all the best in recreating the park's buildings that have fallen in disrepair.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelForFunAndWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your support.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paronella Park also viewed

Queensland, Australia
 

Been to Paronella Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing