We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Paronella Park
from $33.80
More Info
from $100.60
More Info
from $113.90
More Info
Reviews (2,377)
Filter reviews
2,232 results
Traveler rating
1,598
421
126
49
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,598
421
126
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night tour guided tour current owners jose paronella entry fee fish food feed the fish interesting history atherton tablelands free camping per adult suspension bridge spanish castle josephine falls well worth the visit scones mission beach
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,232 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

I’d heard a lot, and seen many photos.. But nothing prepared me for the beauties that awaited us inside the gates! Paronella Park made the perfect setting for me to give my sisters a surprise birthday picnic! We sat by the castle on the grass, surrounded by beauty and history! It was beautiful,.. Mark was so friendly, welcoming us to the park and truly making us feel like this was where we were meant to be!
Dylan was an absolutely legendary guide, and he fully inspired us to follow our dreams! (Give that guy a pay rise!). Les was a fantastic help too! He’s photography was sensational, and at such an affordable price too!
I can’t believe you guys offer a 2 year pass for no extra cost!! So generous!
On behalf of my two sisters and myself, we thank you all greatly for the everlasting memories we made last Monday! We can not wait to visit again!! Xxx

Thank lijeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

Whilst the tour guide and staff were excellent, the Park itself is thoroughly disappointing. For the extortionate entry cost it is definitely not worth it. Ok you get to park the van overnight for free but not everyone wants to do this. The park itself is like a building site. The dream that Jose had is just going to rack and ruin, I can't believe the state it's in, surely you would want to preserve such a place for future generations, soon it will be just a pile of rubble. I'm sure if Jose was still alive it would break his heart to see it in such a sad state. I think the entry fees need revision less money, more people.

1  Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Awesome place to visit, and all built around a man who wanted to sell ice cream by the side of a road. Just went and built a castle to make it attractive, and a dam to supply the hydroelectricity to chill the ice cream. A real treat, and went back for the night time visit as well. See the waterfall under lights. Suggest it is best in the cooler months. Popular, but lots of nooks and crannies, turtles and fish, trees and interesting architecture to view. Great for family.

Thank MrFatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget E, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Mr Fatherman,

Thank you for your review, and we're so pleased to hear that you had a great time at Paronella Park and find it an awesome place to visit.

Night time definitely has a special magic as well.

We hope that you received your two year pass out card (it's included with your admission cost) so you can come back and visit us again and again - including in the cooler months!

Safe travels,

Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This place is truly amazing. This was our second visit as the first time our tour bus was running behind so we only got to do half the tour. This time we self drove and were able to do the full tour and take our time exploring the park. Amazing back story and they are always discovering some new ruins. Staff provide great service and are deeply passionate about the park. Even our teenager was interested!

Thank PurpleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget E, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased that you were able to stay for a tour this time! That must have been very disappointing to have your visit cut short last time.

I'm not sure whether you got a chance to take in the night tour on this visit, but if not, it's something to look forward to on your next one! It's included in the entry cost, and our new light and sound system adds such a magical atmosphere to a place that's already so beautiful - definitely worth coming back for!

Thank you for the compliment on our team as well, we think we have the best customer service staff in the whole of QLD. :)

See you next time,

Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had reservations based on the price when looking to visit, but it was worth every cent. A beautiful drive (from Cairns), with the park being off the beaten track. We took the tour straight off to have the grand reveal. Our guide Danny was very informative, but it wasn't death by details which was perfect. So many things to see- the once original buildings, the turtles and fish, beautiful eclectic trees, and the waterfall. There was nothing the staff wouldn't do to help visitors. And you can return for free within 2 years. Even got a piece of the old castle as a gift, from where it fell in a fire. Thank you to everyone for a great day!

Thank MarieW833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget E, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Marie,

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit here with us at Paronella Park.

Sounds like you had a beautiful day, and we love that our awesome team added to the experience.

I know you've received your passout card, so we look forward to seeing you back here for visit number 2!

Thanks again,
Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 2 cabins for an overnight stay. Arrived early afternoon and were met by very friendly staff. Each cabin is for 2 people. Small but very clean and had great air conditioner and a little balcony that looks onto the tropical forest. Perfect for us. You use the caravan park toilets and showers and they were spotlessly clean. We did an afternoon and an evening tour of Paronella and both were fantastic. Couldn’t believe that it only costs $45 each and $41 for seniors and you can go back anytime with your ticket for 2 years. Unbelievable. We had dinner at the Menna Creek Hotel which is 5 minutes from Paronella and they supply a mini bus there and back. We couldn’t fault anything. It was a wonderful 2 days.

Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget E, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Janet,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Park, and our cabins.

It sounds like you had an awesome visit with us, and I'm so pleased to hear it!

You mentioned that you received your passout card, and so I'm certain we'll be seeing you again soon.

The Park looks so different at different times of the year; there's always something new to see and do - we can't wait to show you!

Thanks again,
Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been wanting to go here on every previous trip to Cairns. Initially my husband didn't want to go but he was pleasantly surprised at what he saw. Our guide was Alexis and apart from his commentary sounding like a recording he was happy to answer random questions. This is truly an amazing attraction.

Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget E, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Lyn,

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we're so glad you were able to convince your husband in the end!

I'm so pleased that Alexis was able to answer any questions that you had. All of our guides have different personalities and ways of telling the story, but the one thing they all have in common is their passion for Paronella Park and the story of Jose's Dream, so they're all founts of knowledge on the topic!

I'm not sure if you were able to do the night tour this time, but if you didn't get a chance, make sure you put it on the list for the next Cairns visit - it's so magical!

Look forward to seeing you next time!

Thanks again,

Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent longer here than expected. Afternoon tour and wander, then the special hydro tour and had coffee and scones waiting for the lights tour. Mandy, our guide, was fantastic and very knowledgeable. A stunning place

2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget E, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Sue,

Thank you for your lovely review!

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed all three tours, and ended up staying longer than expected - Paronella Park does that to a person! It draws you in and makes you want to just take in the magic forever.

Mandy is a total gem, glad she took great care of you!

Hopefully your next visit will be a five star experience - feel free to email me with any suggestions that can make that happen - bridget@paronellapark.com.au

Thanks again, and see you soon,

Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped at Paronella Park during our ride from Cairs to Townswille. The park itself is nice, but it is not worth 46$ per ticket. Our guide sounded like a recorded audio guide, without any emotions. Too bad, we expected more and we were quite dissappointed after the visit.

2  Thank jorisp370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget E, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Joris,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we appreciate all feedback, both good and bad, as it helps us to grow as a business.

It's interesting and disappointing that you say that the tour guide sounded like a recorded audio guide, as all of our tour guides were hired due to their passion for Paronella Park and the beautiful story of Jose Paronella. All I can think is that maybe it could have been the guide's accent, rather than an actual lack of emotion. If you could email me with the guide's name (it's written on the back of the free bookmark they hand out at the end of the tour), and some more information, I can investigate for you.

The price that we charge is necessary to employ the number of people that we employ here in rural FNQ, and to keep the Park preserved. We provide many job opportunities for people, and are proud of what we are doing for the local community.

Thanks again,
Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to paronella park after doing the skywalk up the road. We were greeted by lovely folk at the front door (Who we later found out were the owners and they sit out all day greeting and farwelling visitors). We stopped for a chat with the friendly counter staff and found out everything we needed to know. We then went and grabbed a bite to eat from the cafe. Food was very yummy, and reasonably priced. Our tour guide Dylan came out, and he first noticed we had a pram with us and asked if we had been informed about using the pram around the park. We hadn't. He advised that there were quite a few places where you need to remove the baby from the pram and carry it down stairs etc. And unfortunately it was too late to go back to the car to get our carrier. It was a bit of a nightmare tackling the park with the pram, and the getting in and out of the pram made baby very upset as she was trying to sleep. It woukd have been nice for the counter staff to mention this on arrival. They knew we had the pram and they looked at the baby and everything, but never mentioned what a hassle we would have. Unfortunately we really struggled to enjoy the tour because of this, and woukd have been much better if we had of taken the carrier instead. Saying this, Dylan was an awesome tour guide. Very knowledgeable and very patient with the crying bub and the slow parents trying to cart the pram around. He was very insightful into everything there is to know about the park. After the tour was over, we went back and got the carrier and we could properly enjoy the park. It is definitely well worth the visit and a very cool place to see. So much to do, so definitely allow yourself a lot of time. We spent a good 4 hours at the park.

Thank Adventure17474509741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews