We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass this up”
Review of Paronella Park

Paronella Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.24*
and up
Paronella Park Admission Ticket
More Info
$116.77*
and up
Atherton Tablelands Day Trip from Cairns Including Paronella Park and Millaa...
More Info
$119.99*
and up
Small-Group Paronella Park and Mamu Tropical Skywalk Day Trip from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Everyone has a dream. Jose Paronella’s dream became a reality. On 5 Hectares beside Mena Creek Falls he built his castle, picnic area by the falls, tennis courts, bridges, a tunnel, and wrapped it up in an amazing range of 7,500 tropical plants and trees. He even harnessed the waterfall for his electricity. It opened to the public in 1935.Today, visitors to the park marvel at the achievements of one man. Admission to Paronella Park is valid for 24 months and covers all of the tours (a 45 minute guided walk that explains this extraordinary story & takes you through the highlights,the stunning Darkness Falls Tour where the castles and waterfall are flood-lit to allow for amazing photo opportunities, and the hydro tour, giving you an in-depth look at the hydro electricity system that harnesses the power of the waterfall to provide the electricity for the whole Park). Admission also includes a souvenir guide book, fish food for feeding our resident fish and turtles, a bookmark, as well as a site for one night in the adjacent van park.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't pass this up”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

So amazing to see one man's vision - brought about through his own hard work - and on it's way to being restored by some latter day visionaries. The scope of this place is amazing and it has such a rich history. The staff are fantastic, all very inspired and excited by their work in this incredible place. The entry fee is a little pricey but it includes one night's camping if you are travelling that way and, when we visited, the opportunity to visit again at some time in the next TWO years. We were only able to do the day tour this trip but enjoyed this very much. The night tour would be very atmospheric I'm sure!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katec62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for writing a review.

Hopefully one day you're able to revisit to experience the night tour!

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    305
    102
    41
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great camping, fascinating story”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stopped here on a road trip back from far north Queensland. I had always wanted to see Paronella Park after reading about it and seeing it on travel TV Shows. It didn't disappoint. The staff were very welcoming. Included with the admission fee was one night's camping, which made it great value for money. If you weren't staying the night it may be a bit expensive for just a quick visit.

As we were staying overnight, we got to do both the day and night tours, which I recommend you do if possible. Due to arriving late, we did them back to back with just a short rest in between. Both were very interesting, and offered different aspects to the park and its history. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, and the story of Jose Paronella's dream is fascinating. The owners are doing a great job of maintaining the place, and I believe they have plans to restore the original ballroom complete with mirror ball. I'm not sure this is a good thing, but would love to go back to see it.

The campsite is well kept, amenities clean, and the grass luscious. The sites aren't huge, but as most visitors are in hire campers it works well. We opted to have the simple dinner after our night tour (nothing to write home about), and joined another couple who were also camping and had a very pleasant evening chatting and comparing travel notes. You can BYO wine to have with your meal - all very civilised.

I would be happy to stop here if we were to travel that way again. I give it a thumbs up, but mostly because the camping was so convenient. I'm not sure you'd need to do the park tour more than once.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this detailed review.

You provide some great feedback, and some useful information for potential visitors here.

I can certainly see where you're coming from with your comments about the proposed ballroom restoration project - it's definitely something we need to do the right way.

The approach we're planning to take will retain the look and feel of the original building (and existing concrete work), while making the building safer and stronger, and useable once again. As things progress, we'll be able to give everyone a much better idea on what we plan to do (with detailed drawings and plans etc).

Thanks once again for your support, and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinaroo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow how interesting”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a great guide in Willo. Staff all really friendly the kids loved it. very interesting part of the local area heritage. A must see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kara-Jane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review!

Great to read your feedback regarding your guide, and glad to hear that the kids enjoyed their visit!

Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous garden”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited in April in search of a wedding venue. It wasn't what we were looking for but was very pretty nevertheless.
We found the entry fee a little expensive since we were only spending a short time there (we did the tour and a quick explore and left) but happy to be helping them recover some of the damage cause by cyclones etc.
It rained while we were there but they provided umbrellas. I heard others complaining about mosquitoes but we had repellant on and were not bothered. Beware there is dengue in North Queensland at the moment so do wear repellant.
Our guide had only been working at paronella for 3 weeks but clearly enjoyed her job as she had learned the information very well.
It was interesting and pretty but just not the right wedding venue for us. Would definitely recommend for couples wanting a rural/garden/vintage wedding out in the elements. And definitely recommended to visit if you're in the area. You get a pass out valid for 2 years and you get 1 night free camping.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALeeKAt-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting (and considering us as a venue!), and also for writing a review.

You provide good advice to potential visitors to our region regarding wearing repellent. This, suitable clothing and footwear, and sunscreen go a long way towards making a holiday safe and enjoyable!

I hope everything went well in your search for the right wedding venue!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
“Raining But Even More Magical”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It was a wet day in which we visited Paronella Park however we were greeted at our car by a friendly staff member armed with enough umbrella's for the whole family.

After admission to the park we were given a fully guided tour including history with our tour guide answering all of our questions and then left to explore the park by ourselves.

We had our 11month old son with us and the staff were very accommodating of our needs with a pram!!!

Also we were able to receive a pass out enabling us to return to the park for up to 2yrs with a night in the caravan park included.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NancyB845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to provide a review.

I'm glad you chose to visit despite the rain, and had an enjoyable experience.

There's no doubt that the wet weather can really improve the look and feel of the Park.

Thanks once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paronella Park also viewed

Queensland, Australia
 

Been to Paronella Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing