We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost timeless”
Review of Paronella Park

Paronella Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.09*
and up
Paronella Park Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everyone has a dream. José Paronella’s dream became a reality. On 5 Hectares beside Mena Creek Falls he built his castle, picnic area by the falls, tennis courts, bridges, a tunnel, and wrapped it up in an amazing range of 7,500 tropical plants and trees. He even harnessed the waterfall for his electricity. It opened to the public in 1935.Today, visitors to the park marvel at the achievements of one man. Admission to Paronella Park is valid for 12 months and covers all of the tours (a 45 minute guided walk that explains this extraordinary story & takes you through the highlights as well as the stunning Darkness Falls Tour where the castles and waterfall are flood-lit to allow for amazing photo opportunities). Admission also includes the souvenir guide book, fish food, umbrellas, access to the online photo gallery as well as a site for one night in the adjacent van park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Almost timeless”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I first visited in 1971. Most if not all buildings were open to the public. My recent visit highlighted the ravages of flood, fire and time. A lot of structures are off limits due to their deteriorating condition, but it's a credit to the owners for preserving it for future generations. Jose Paronella's history and his vision for the future is inspiring. The park is an impressive monument to a bygone era. This is a must see in North Queensland and don't be deterred by rain, it really does add to the atmosphere and umbrellas are provided.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for deciding to revisit Paronella Park, and for posting this review.

You're absolutely right about the challenges nature has thrown at the Park over the years.

That said, we're lucky to have the support of visitors like yourself to ensure work towards maintaining and preserving this special place can continue.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    297
    98
    40
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a place I visited over a year ago but thought I would share my experience.
I live in Cairns and decided to visit this place with my two kids. I am glad I did as it was really amazing. Walking around Paronella park with the guides who tell you the whole story of how it was built and the entreprenurial spirit of the man that built the place is totally amazing. My two kids who were 10 and 17 yrs old really enjoyed themselves as well. You must go around with the guide though and hear all the stories as that is what makes this place special. I would very highly recommend Paronella park as a place to visit for tourists as well as locals alike.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SangeetaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for deciding to share your Paronella Park experience with others.

It's really great to hear that everyone in your group had an enjoyable visit.

Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Impressive! Must do!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is absolutely #1 must do of Queensland! Beautiful park, with an amazing waterfall, beautiful nature and amazing acient buildings still remanning covered up in rainforest during the years. The entrance includes a guided tour, a guided night tour with amazing glow in the dark mushrooms and fireflys! a free camping site witch makes it two days you can spend in the park! Despite of the rain we had it was great, everything was amazingly green! And I certainly would go back, to see how this amazing place looks on a sunny day.
Definitely worth visiting, no mather what weather ;)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MS-SS-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We often say that Paronella Park is at its very best during, or just after rain!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“paronella bygone beauty”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We are locals and have visited a few times.Beautifully kept ,well worth a visit to a bygone era.Allow 1-2 hrs.Can stay at cabins nearby . day tours and night tour..24hr pass . recommended

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, and for your support of Paronella Park.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We weren't sure about coming here at fist, since it's a short way of Bruce Hwy and ended up staying for 1 1/2 days. We camped overnight and did an afternoon tour and a night tour. Finding out about Paronella Park and it's history was just a wonderful experience. We are so glad that we came here. We definately left inspired and want to come back to this place one day. Thank you so much for this great experience Mark, Judy and the entire staff!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rumgroast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for deciding to visit, and for taking the time to write this review!

It's wonderful to read your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paronella Park also viewed

Queensland, Australia
 

Been to Paronella Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing