We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, amazingly friendly and helpful owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willows Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, amazingly friendly and helpful owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

We had a fantastic time at the Willows B&B in Horton-in-Ribblesdale. It was raining hard our first morning, and we realized that we were fully unprepared for the weather. The owners gave us their own raingear (and nice wooly hats), and drove us to one of the three peaks to help us get started. Thanks to them, we were able to weather the first bit of the day, and then enjoy a hike up Pen-y-Ghent once the sun came out. The end of the day was spent drinking coffee in their cozy sitting room while we waited for our train. Really a fantastic B&B experience, we highly recommend them!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lera30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We had the 'Pen y Ghent' room, which is the en-suite room, very large and full of all the comforts of home, with a great view of its namesake Pen y Ghent.

Breakfast was great and Steve's local knowledge of the surrounding area and his own interest in outdoor activities such as fell running and mountain biking, made for some good conversations and excellent advice on bike routes etc.

We stayed for three days and took our mountain bikes which were securely stored for us when not in use.

The location of the Willows is excellent for exploring Horton and the surrounding area, that coupled with Johanne's great vegetarian breakfast and Steve's outdoor expertise, and the very friendly atmosphere, makes it a great place to stay. The Crown pub serves excellent food and is a ten minute walk away – would recommend a torch if visiting in winter as street lighting is quite sparse.

We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shell123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed one night but took away a wealth of knowledge on the three peaks and beyond, friendly hosts who have done what everyone goes to Horton to do. Thank you and we wish you well with your little gem, Ann & Alex, North Linc`s.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeenandDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

A real "Little Gem" of a guesthouse! Friendly owners, large bedrooms, warm and cosy with a breakfast that can only be described as superb!!! Ideally situated for walking the Three Peaks Of Yorkshire and within easy walking distance of the Settle to Carlisle railway station.
A really good choice if you enjoy home comforts and a good walking area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 101rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the Willows in Horton-in-Ribblesdale we were pampered (that's the only word for it!). Within moments we were made to feel completely at home by Steve and Jo, and it felt like nothing was too much trouble. I've never been in a guest house where there was such a attention to detail, and such a genuine concern that guests have a great time!

I loved the house for its cosiness and the newly decorated bedrooms were beautiful and relaxing. I couldn't find a fault in the place! This will definitely be my first port of call whenever I am looking for a comfotable and friendly base in the Dales. Superb all round!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris_bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed in this excellent B&B with some friends as a base for the 3 peaks Challenge. The location is perfect, being about 100 yards from the train station and 300 yards from the Cafe where you start the challenge. Plenty of parking at the house too, if you are driving down. The hosts are very pleasant and very helpful with tips and ideas for if you are walking and nothing was too much trouble, even filling up flasks for us before we set off. Beds were very comfortable and all facilities were of a very good standard. Breakfast was to hotel standards and the choice was excellent with continental and full English choices all being avaiilable. Eating in the evening was simple with a choice of two pubs within a five minute walk, personally we ate at the Crown Inn and the food was superb.

I would not hesitate recommending this B&B and hope to return again soon to face the 3 peaks again...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gino71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
4.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brookhouse Guest House
Brookhouse Guest House
#2 of 5 in Clapham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Willows Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hawes Rd, B6479 | opp. Horton playing fields entrance, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come into the Warmth of Friendly Homely Hospitality of the Willows Bed & Breakfast. We're just a short 4 min from Pen-y-Ghent Cafe. We are located in the heart of Horton-in-Ribblesdale village on the road B6479. The Willows is an ideal place to start your '3 Peaks Challenge' walk/run from,(Directly opp. Horton playing fields where most of the major charity walks/races start & finish - adjacent to 'Winston's field') We are just a 5 min walk off the the Ribble Way & Pennine Way. The Dales way Plus the 'New' Trailblazer trail. Also 10min from the New Pennine Bridle way for horses & cyclists (We can arrange to pick you up after sorting your horse for the night in our friend's secure quiet field. Then you can have a relaxing restful night as well). Horton-in-Ribblesdale railway station set just a 3 min stroll from us. Save the stress of a car journey on the winding & contested 'A' road. Plus avoid the motorway hold-ups. - Reach us by rail, feeling relaxed into Yorkshire Dales National park. Travel up on the famous & scenic 'Settle to Carlisle' railway line. (Change at Leeds for commuters from London which can be reached in under 4hrs!) The Willows B&B has total refurbishment of all 3 Rooms. X2 En-suites (King & triple). Plus x1 twin room with luxury Bathrooms. Be Welcomed with a smile after your long muddy day on the fells! Drop you muddy clothes & boots at the door & change into your house slippers, while you relax beside our lovely log burning stove. The kettle will be on, ready for you to take Complementary Tea/Coffee & the cake/biscuits between 5-7pm. (Please book up to 1 yr in advance for the 3 Peaks Challenges- as we have over a thousand walkers looking for rooms in Horton at weekends during the walking season. (Start April - End October) Stephen, your host, is a local lad who has been a fell runner for many years with the Settle Harriers. He is always out & about on the fells regularly training for the next 3 Peaks Fell Race with our friendly collie dog. We get up to make you Early 3Peaks Walkers Breakfast FROM 6:00am. So, from 6am, we offer you a tasty bacon sandwich. PLUS! Over a dozen types of cereals. PLUS: Fresh locally produced yogurts, fruit juice, fresh fruit, breads, fruit, Jams, Honey etc. Full Yorkshire 'Belly Busting' Breakfast from 7:30 - 9:00am. Vegetarians & special diets can also be catered for. We have Three tastefully styled bedrooms in our home. ROOM 1 - Pen-y-Ghent En-suite room with King size memory foam bed with beautiful views over to Pen-y-Ghent mountain. ROOM 2 - Ingleborough (En-suite) with 3 single memory form beds. ROOM 3 - Whernside, 2 single memory foam beds with your own very spacious bathroom (just 1 step over your corridor) - lovely under floor heating double ended bath & Extra large Matiki shower cubicle with electric shower. ** At The Willows - To ensure you have the best possible restful night's sleep we ONLY use Top Quality Memory Foam mattresses on ALL our beds -. ** Sleep peacefully in freshly laundered Egyptian cotton bedding - with None-Allergic quilts, fresh fluffy pillows & throws.** Each room has a daily stocked - overflowing variety of choices on our tea trays - teas, coffee, chocolate, herbal & deff's. Plus: Complementary biscuits.** Lovely Fresh white towels for your use. ** Plus many lovely toiletries for your use while you are at The Willows B&B. *** FREE: Parking Plus Wi-fi throughout our home. (Which you wont find at all locations in village) ** Flat screen TVs & Free view in bedrooms** Lovely Log burning stove in guest lounge. *** FREE Parking.** Plus Very Large, Secure lock-up garage below our house for horse tack, motor bikes/pedal cycles / etc **We are convinced that you will happily enjoy your stay at The Willows B&B. You can easily see our previous many 'Excellent' rated guests reviews TripAdvisor. Take a look! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale
The Willows Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing