We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willows Bed & Breakfast
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“5* stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Joh welcomed the three of us to her lovely home after a long day travelling from Shropshire and then walking over Pen-y-Ghent in the rain and cloud to Ribblehead and then catching the train back. It was lovely to relax in the hot shower and on the super comfy beds. Breakfast was a wonder to behold with everything immaginable on offer. I would particularly recommend the fresh fruit bowl. Steve and Joh provided us with lots of local info and thankfully could cope with all the wet clothing we had, which was dry and ready for more Yorkshire rain. Nothing was too much trouble and I would fully recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CymraesCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our second stay at the wonderful Willows B and B. Joh and Steve make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive with tea, cakes, and a relaxed chat after a long drive. Excellent breakfasts and pack-ups (optional) give you the energy needed for the big walk. The most comfortable beds ever made are ready for you when you eventually stagger back. Everything is spotless, superbly organised, well done and thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saveourseals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed in June with my partner for Yorkshire Three Peaks.
Changed our walking plans and only did two peaks and stay.
Joh and Steve were very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and great hosts.
The bedrooms are decorated tastefully, are clean and very comfortable.
The Pen y Ghent room has an awesome view, a very relaxing, comfy bed with electric blanket- great to ease aches and pains after walking.
The breakfast and conversation is the best we have had in a bed and breakfast.
All very high quality, couldn't recommend a nicer place.

Room Tip: Book early and book dinner at the crown early too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at The Willows. We were very warmly welcomed by Joh, Steve and their lovely dog Moss. As soon as we arrived we were offered tea and cakes while we talked about our plans for the weekend. When we said that we were looking for somewhere to eat on the first evening, Joh and Steve recommended some local places and then logged on to various pubs' websites to show us their menus; when we had chosen one Joh rang and booked us a table.
We were walking the Yorkshire Three Peaks and had an early start on the second day. Joh was up and cheerful at 6.00am to seve us a hot breakfast sandwich which we enjoyed along with cereal, fruit and coffee - it really was a good start to a long day of walking and the thought of returning there at the end of the day to the very comfortable bed, hot power shower and clean room was very welcome!
The full breakfast on the second day was lovely, just the right amount and made from all fresh produce and not at all greasy.
The Willows is exceptionally clean and well looked after. Joh and Steve are very friendly and willing to 'go the extra mile' to make their guests' stay extra special.
The setting is great - with stunning views from the front and very near to the village centre and the railway station.
I look forward to returning there in the future to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After a wet and windy day we were warmly welcomed into this friendly and quality B&B. Lovely bedroom and bathrooom the size of a ballroom helped us recover totally for the next days walk to Hawes. Fantastic breakfast including a lovely range of fresh fruits set us nicely for the walk.
Jo and Steve have a great knowledge of the dales and it was fascinating to get an insight into the organisation of the famous Three Peaks Fell race.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A fantastic luxurious B & B with friendly, knowledgeable hosts. A great place to stay when exploring the amazing countryside around the Three Peaks. Superb bathrooms, comfortable beds, luxurious linens, tasty breakfasts, friendly hosts.
You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room (Penyghent) if you would like a view of Penyghent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our hosts couldn't have done more to make our stay a pleasure. We stayed in Horton as a base for our Yorkshire 3 Peaks challenge. The room was scrupulously clean and the facilities and fittings of a really nice standard. We were given the impression that had we wanted anything (which we didn't) it would have been no trouble. On the morning of our walk we were so impressed by the fact that we were served a suitably early breakfast. In so many places you have to slip out quietly because they have rigid and inflexible breakfast hours - certainly NOT the case here! We weren't really in a fit state to do much after our walk other then get a very welcome shower, grab a meal at the nearby pub and crash out, but could have had tea and cakes etc had we wanted.

On the morning of our checkout we were treated, and I say the word advisedly, to the Willow's Full English breakfast. It really was superb, with care clearly having been taken over the sourcing of the various components. It was super tasty and absolutely grease-free.

All in all it was a marvelous find and we'd certainly come back like a shot - maybe to do the 3 Peaks walk again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Pen-y-Ghent: it had a fantastic view over the hill of the same name. We didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trentmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
4.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
517 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
577 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Willows Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hawes Rd, B6479 | opp. Horton playing fields entrance, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come into the Warmth of Friendly Homely Hospitality of the Willows Bed & Breakfast. We're just a short 4 min from Pen-y-Ghent Cafe. We are located in the heart of Horton-in-Ribblesdale village on the road B6479. The Willows is an ideal place to start your '3 Peaks Challenge' walk/run from,(Directly opp. Horton playing fields where most of the major charity walks/races start & finish - adjacent to 'Winston's field') We are just a 5 min walk off the the Ribble Way & Pennine Way. The Dales way Plus the 'New' Trailblazer trail. Also 10min from the New Pennine Bridle way for horses & cyclists (We can arrange to pick you up after sorting your horse for the night in our friend's secure quiet field. Then you can have a relaxing restful night as well). Horton-in-Ribblesdale railway station set just a 3 min stroll from us. Save the stress of a car journey on the winding & contested 'A' road. Plus avoid the motorway hold-ups. - Reach us by rail, feeling relaxed into Yorkshire Dales National park. Travel up on the famous & scenic 'Settle to Carlisle' railway line. (Change at Leeds for commuters from London which can be reached in under 4hrs!) The Willows B&B has total refurbishment of all 3 Rooms. X2 En-suites (King & triple). Plus x1 twin room with luxury Bathrooms. Be Welcomed with a smile after your long muddy day on the fells! Drop you muddy clothes & boots at the door & change into your house slippers, while you relax beside our lovely log burning stove. The kettle will be on, ready for you to take Complementary Tea/Coffee & the cake/biscuits between 5-7pm. (Please book up to 1 yr in advance for the 3 Peaks Challenges- as we have over a thousand walkers looking for rooms in Horton at weekends during the walking season. (Start April - End October) Stephen, your host, is a local lad who has been a fell runner for many years with the Settle Harriers. He is always out & about on the fells regularly training for the next 3 Peaks Fell Race with our friendly collie dog. We get up to make you Early 3Peaks Walkers Breakfast FROM 6:00am. So, from 6am, we offer you a tasty bacon sandwich. PLUS! Over a dozen types of cereals. PLUS: Fresh locally produced yogurts, fruit juice, fresh fruit, breads, fruit, Jams, Honey etc. Full Yorkshire 'Belly Busting' Breakfast from 7:30 - 9:00am. Vegetarians & special diets can also be catered for. We have Three tastefully styled bedrooms in our home. ROOM 1 - Pen-y-Ghent En-suite room with King size memory foam bed with beautiful views over to Pen-y-Ghent mountain. ROOM 2 - Ingleborough (En-suite) with 3 single memory form beds. ROOM 3 - Whernside, 2 single memory foam beds with your own very spacious bathroom (just 1 step over your corridor) - lovely under floor heating double ended bath & Extra large Matiki shower cubicle with electric shower. ** At The Willows - To ensure you have the best possible restful night's sleep we ONLY use Top Quality Memory Foam mattresses on ALL our beds -. ** Sleep peacefully in freshly laundered Egyptian cotton bedding - with None-Allergic quilts, fresh fluffy pillows & throws.** Each room has a daily stocked - overflowing variety of choices on our tea trays - teas, coffee, chocolate, herbal & deff's. Plus: Complementary biscuits.** Lovely Fresh white towels for your use. ** Plus many lovely toiletries for your use while you are at The Willows B&B. *** FREE: Parking Plus Wi-fi throughout our home. (Which you wont find at all locations in village) ** Flat screen TVs & Free view in bedrooms** Lovely Log burning stove in guest lounge. *** FREE Parking.** Plus Very Large, Secure lock-up garage below our house for horse tack, motor bikes/pedal cycles / etc **We are convinced that you will happily enjoy your stay at The Willows B&B. You can easily see our previous many 'Excellent' rated guests reviews TripAdvisor. Take a look! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale
The Willows Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing