We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willows Bed & Breakfast
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really lovely stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at The Willows. We were very warmly welcomed by Joh, Steve and their lovely dog Moss. As soon as we arrived we were offered tea and cakes while we talked about our plans for the weekend. When we said that we were looking for somewhere to eat on the first evening, Joh and Steve recommended some local places and then logged on to various pubs' websites to show us their menus; when we had chosen one Joh rang and booked us a table.
We were walking the Yorkshire Three Peaks and had an early start on the second day. Joh was up and cheerful at 6.00am to seve us a hot breakfast sandwich which we enjoyed along with cereal, fruit and coffee - it really was a good start to a long day of walking and the thought of returning there at the end of the day to the very comfortable bed, hot power shower and clean room was very welcome!
The full breakfast on the second day was lovely, just the right amount and made from all fresh produce and not at all greasy.
The Willows is exceptionally clean and well looked after. Joh and Steve are very friendly and willing to 'go the extra mile' to make their guests' stay extra special.
The setting is great - with stunning views from the front and very near to the village centre and the railway station.
I look forward to returning there in the future to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After a wet and windy day we were warmly welcomed into this friendly and quality B&B. Lovely bedroom and bathrooom the size of a ballroom helped us recover totally for the next days walk to Hawes. Fantastic breakfast including a lovely range of fresh fruits set us nicely for the walk.
Jo and Steve have a great knowledge of the dales and it was fascinating to get an insight into the organisation of the famous Three Peaks Fell race.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A fantastic luxurious B & B with friendly, knowledgeable hosts. A great place to stay when exploring the amazing countryside around the Three Peaks. Superb bathrooms, comfortable beds, luxurious linens, tasty breakfasts, friendly hosts.
You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room (Penyghent) if you would like a view of Penyghent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our hosts couldn't have done more to make our stay a pleasure. We stayed in Horton as a base for our Yorkshire 3 Peaks challenge. The room was scrupulously clean and the facilities and fittings of a really nice standard. We were given the impression that had we wanted anything (which we didn't) it would have been no trouble. On the morning of our walk we were so impressed by the fact that we were served a suitably early breakfast. In so many places you have to slip out quietly because they have rigid and inflexible breakfast hours - certainly NOT the case here! We weren't really in a fit state to do much after our walk other then get a very welcome shower, grab a meal at the nearby pub and crash out, but could have had tea and cakes etc had we wanted.

On the morning of our checkout we were treated, and I say the word advisedly, to the Willow's Full English breakfast. It really was superb, with care clearly having been taken over the sourcing of the various components. It was super tasty and absolutely grease-free.

All in all it was a marvelous find and we'd certainly come back like a shot - maybe to do the 3 Peaks walk again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Pen-y-Ghent: it had a fantastic view over the hill of the same name. We didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trentmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This B&B very much run as I imagine a traditional B&B might have been. It is a family hospitably opening up some guest rooms for you, rather than a small hotel. As a result you walk through the family sitting/dining room and kitchen area (all open plan) to reach a separate "wing" where the three guest rooms are located. Tea and cake on arrival was served up in this open plan area, sat on sofas with the owners and their dog and breakfast was also served here so we chatted to the owner as she cooked our breakfast rather than being waited on at table with the owner slaving away in a remote kitchen. For clients who like to feel they are in a hotel at their B&B this wouldn't suit, but for those looking for a more informal and friendly feel then this place is great.

The guided tour around our room was much more the sort of thing your friend would give you when you go to stay with them rather than leaving much of it up to assumption (eg. feeling the need to explain about the curtains/blinds set up and telling us to just help ourselves to anything we want in the bathroom). This may leave some people feeling a bit "over-directed" but if you approach it with an open mind and a sense of being made welcome into a family house then you'll love it.

A great touch was the particularly well-stocked bathroom with multiple different bottles of lotions and potions and a bag of women's products too for anyone caught short at Horton where supplies are now hard to come by since the shop has shut down.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The gluten-free food was limited but the owner explained that she needs sufficient notice to get anything - she has no car and therefore relies on weekly shopping trips by train to get in supplies, especially supplies of more unusual items such as gluten-free bread. Unfortunately the company that booked our accommodation had only given her a couple of days notice. However if you advise her of allergies when booking I am sure she would accommodate them.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ammiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited this lovely Bed and Breakfast in March, when the weather was still very cold. The couple are very friendly, welcoming and every need is catered for. I would recommend it as ideal for keen walkers, or anyone taking the 3 Peak Challenge.

Room Tip: Peny-g-hent was our room and it was perfect. Very peaceful, electric blanket amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved this B&B. We travelled up 5 hours for the 3 Peaks Fell Race. As soon as we walked in, Jo said that her husband Steve and one of the guests had just gone out for fish and chips. We'd eaten on the way up but when the fish and chips arrived, we were still offered a chip butty. Afterwards, we all spent the remainder of the evening sitting around talking. Both of the other guest rooms were taken by returning guests but we were completely included and everyone was clearly comfortable just sitting around. The next morning we had a really delicious and generous breakfast. After the racers went off, Jo took myself and another guest walking up Pen-y-Ghent to cheer them on and after we'd cheered them all through, we jumped in her car and she drove us to a 2nd vantage point - just like being part of the family. On returning to the B&B later, we all sat around with tea and cake discussing the race and were very glad of those super comfy memory foam matresses on the 2nd night. Like the guests using the other 2 rooms, we will also be returning. A really lovely weekend. Our rooms are booked for next year already!!!

Room Tip: There is one double room with fabulous views which has to be the best room - but all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
4.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
19 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brookhouse Guest House
Brookhouse Guest House
#3 of 5 in Clapham
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Willows Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hawes Rd, B6479 | opp. Horton playing fields entrance, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come into the Warmth of Friendly Homely Hospitality of the Willows Bed & Breakfast. We're just a short 4 min from Pen-y-Ghent Cafe. We are located in the heart of Horton-in-Ribblesdale village on the road B6479. The Willows is an ideal place to start your '3 Peaks Challenge' walk/run from,(Directly opp. Horton playing fields where most of the major charity walks/races start & finish - adjacent to 'Winston's field') We are just a 5 min walk off the the Ribble Way & Pennine Way. The Dales way Plus the 'New' Trailblazer trail. Also 10min from the New Pennine Bridle way for horses & cyclists (We can arrange to pick you up after sorting your horse for the night in our friend's secure quiet field. Then you can have a relaxing restful night as well). Horton-in-Ribblesdale railway station set just a 3 min stroll from us. Save the stress of a car journey on the winding & contested 'A' road. Plus avoid the motorway hold-ups. - Reach us by rail, feeling relaxed into Yorkshire Dales National park. Travel up on the famous & scenic 'Settle to Carlisle' railway line. (Change at Leeds for commuters from London which can be reached in under 4hrs!) The Willows B&B has total refurbishment of all 3 Rooms. X2 En-suites (King & triple). Plus x1 twin room with luxury Bathrooms. Be Welcomed with a smile after your long muddy day on the fells! Drop you muddy clothes & boots at the door & change into your house slippers, while you relax beside our lovely log burning stove. The kettle will be on, ready for you to take Complementary Tea/Coffee & the cake/biscuits between 5-7pm. (Please book up to 1 yr in advance for the 3 Peaks Challenges- as we have over a thousand walkers looking for rooms in Horton at weekends during the walking season. (Start April - End October) Stephen, your host, is a local lad who has been a fell runner for many years with the Settle Harriers. He is always out & about on the fells regularly training for the next 3 Peaks Fell Race with our friendly collie dog. We get up to make you Early 3Peaks Walkers Breakfast FROM 6:00am. So, from 6am, we offer you a tasty bacon sandwich. PLUS! Over a dozen types of cereals. PLUS: Fresh locally produced yogurts, fruit juice, fresh fruit, breads, fruit, Jams, Honey etc. Full Yorkshire 'Belly Busting' Breakfast from 7:30 - 9:00am. Vegetarians & special diets can also be catered for. We have Three tastefully styled bedrooms in our home. ROOM 1 - Pen-y-Ghent En-suite room with King size memory foam bed with beautiful views over to Pen-y-Ghent mountain. ROOM 2 - Ingleborough (En-suite) with 3 single memory form beds. ROOM 3 - Whernside, 2 single memory foam beds with your own very spacious bathroom (just 1 step over your corridor) - lovely under floor heating double ended bath & Extra large Matiki shower cubicle with electric shower. ** At The Willows - To ensure you have the best possible restful night's sleep we ONLY use Top Quality Memory Foam mattresses on ALL our beds -. ** Sleep peacefully in freshly laundered Egyptian cotton bedding - with None-Allergic quilts, fresh fluffy pillows & throws.** Each room has a daily stocked - overflowing variety of choices on our tea trays - teas, coffee, chocolate, herbal & deff's. Plus: Complementary biscuits.** Lovely Fresh white towels for your use. ** Plus many lovely toiletries for your use while you are at The Willows B&B. *** FREE: Parking Plus Wi-fi throughout our home. (Which you wont find at all locations in village) ** Flat screen TVs & Free view in bedrooms** Lovely Log burning stove in guest lounge. *** FREE Parking.** Plus Very Large, Secure lock-up garage below our house for horse tack, motor bikes/pedal cycles / etc **We are convinced that you will happily enjoy your stay at The Willows B&B. You can easily see our previous many 'Excellent' rated guests reviews TripAdvisor. Take a look! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willows Bed And Breakfast
The Willows Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing