We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willows Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for a weekend in April 2013. It is a spotlessly clean , family home with high quality, modern guest rooms.
We stayed in the Pen-Y-Ghent room which, as the name suggests, has beautiful views across to Pen-Y-Ghent. The room was great, comfy bed (with electric blanket), TV, tea & coffee, and modern en-suite shower room.
The breakfast was fantastic, the tastiest bacon and sausage and all locally sourced.
Jo and Steve were excellent hosts and extremely knowledgeable about the local area.
We did plenty of walking whilst there and have been inspired to go back and attempt the 3 Peaks challenge later this year.
If The Willows has room we will definitely be staying there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1k311y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 183 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed with my wife when I was walking part of the Pennine Journey from Settle to Middleton. The welcome that we received from Jo and Steve could not have been warmer. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, and the breakfast was excellent. Our stay was a delightful experience that we hope to repeat.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dockermaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here on our 2012 Pennine Way trip, and it was by far the best place we stayed at along the way. After a quite harsh walk in pouring rain and fog from Malham and over Pen-y-ghent, we were very happy to arrive at The Willows which seemed to be about the only B&B in the small village of Horton. The couple hosting the B&B in their home were very welcoming, inviting us for a brew after installing ourselves. Very nice but with a certain distance, which suits us northeners well. Rooms are large and clean and the breakfast is good too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiggeLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed her in the Pen-y-Ghent room for two nights before and after we completed the Yorkshire Three Peaks. We had a double/king room with ensuite.

Breakfast was available from 6am for walkers - contintental plus a cooked sandwich - veggie sausage for us - thanks Steve, and then later for a larger breakfast.

Our room was spacious with a room over the front with a wardrobe, tv, good hospitality tray and toileteries available should you forget anything.

This is a B and B and Steve and Joh's home - we felt welcome and comfatable during our two night stay. The other rooms were both booked out whilst we were here.

No complaints - would recommend for those staying in the area who will be out exploring all day.

All information is available on their website.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here in order to complete the 3 peaks - for this it's ideally placed and the rooms are very well done. But you do need to be aware that this is a primarily a home that has a B & B in it. I don't agree with comments that all are like this - you don't ever have to walk through the owners private area to get to your room. The landlady also has some issues with guests - 'don't prop your bags against the wall as it will scratch the wallpaper', 'feel free to use the shower gels etc but don't steal them all when you leave', ' don't roll the roller blind down and knock the heads of the flowers off'.
Also for some reason we weren't given a key to the property and had to coordinate all movements with the owners - so when we arrived back from the 3 peaks earlier than anticipated we were locked out and instead of having a shower and relaxing we had to go The Crown and wait for a couple of hours until they returned.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redgrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley02, Owner at The Willows Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank-you for your review on our B&B. But, we are bemused to why it has taken you so long to write this review, as you say its 12 months since you stayed with us. We have checked back in all our records, but can NOT find any guest (as you have not left a name we can recognise) from the Reading area that stayed with us in March 2012.- Indeed! not even in Feb or April 2012. Surly? If you where so incensed into writing such a review - why didn’t you post sooner? Or, tackle any issues with us during your stay - which I’m sure we could of easily sorted out.

On your first point - We do not advertise ourselves as a Hotel. You can see from our website, (Plus the Enquiry & Confirmation email I sent you) that we offer friendly, hospitable service of Bed & Breakfast in our family home. Many guests who choose us, recommend us to family & friends - return with them several times during each year. Obviously by guests returning they must enjoy the personal time & attention we give them. Embrace the homely atmosphere & all that goes on in it - a true ‘Family Home’. We genuinely wish to cater for all our guests - many of which are walkers, who wish to be on the ‘3 Peaks’ very early morning. So we are unique to our village, as we are up before sun-rise, before 5am preparing ’tasty & nutritious, Early Walkers Breakfast’ for guests to eat from 6am!

We have 3 guest rooms/En-suites/bathroom - down a separate guest wing in our home. We have given our B&B much love, care, time, attention making it comfortable & homely for our guests, trying to make it a ‘Home from Home' for them. (We have our own sleeping/bathing quarters upstairs)

The room you refer to briefly walking through, is an exit to the front door. This room is a lounge/kitchen/dining area for our guests. Guests are Welcome to relax & unwind here, next to the lovely log burning stove. Maybe, reading our complementary walking books or watching Sky TV on the bigger screen, as apposed to their rooms. Guests enjoy looking out on to the peaceful rear garden or look out over onto ever changing colours of Pen-y-Ghent mountain. Complementary Yorkshire Tea / Fresh Filter Coffee, Home-make cake & biscuits is always on offer!

We are interested in our guests - we tend to find that most guests are happy & eager to talk - as we are to listen over a cuppa about their proposed walk. They like to pick-the-brains of a local lad. Your host is a local ‘fell running’ lad with many years of experience of the mountains & moors of this some times bleak area. Being out & about in all weather conditions he usually comes back with ‘up-to-date’ knowledge of the conditions of the moors. Guests love to congregate & use this lounge/dining/kitchen area to spreed out & talk before or to use this area after their walk to relax & sit with friends talking about their arduous days walking on 3 Peaks Challenges. - So you see - It’s not just for our specific use, though we sometimes do use this TV lounge when guests are not using the facilities.

We also do use these kitchen facilities ourselves - as it’s not normal to have two kitchens in a family home. But, we are always mindful of our guests - so do try our best to organise our meals/cooking around our guests. Sometimes though due to unexpected events things don’t go quite to plan. But WE don't see this as any great problem.

I don't know about you? But, my Mother always taught my siblings & myself to treat people & their belongings with love, care. To respect things/others as you would treat your own! We have spent a great deal of time, love & money bringing our guest quarters up to a 5* standard. Guests usually treat our rooms & furnishings with as much care & love & respect they treat their own things & belongings. Maybe? Not in your case by discarding you bag down the wallpaper? Indeed, many past guests commented at the quality of the standard or our rooms & furnishings - so we just would like to keep them that way, for future guests use please! Many previous guests have stayed at 5* hotels around the world & stated that they have not found as many products for use. We provide many luxurious gents & ladies products plus an array of many different bath soaks in ‘sensible size bottles’ for guests use at No extra cost to our guests.

I believe I have been miss quoted. You know yourself you have NOT quoted me correctly - I KNOW I have been miss quoted! Clearly you have failed to mention the care & attention we did give you. Like providing breakfast from an early bird hour of 6am! We have been told by guests they don’t know anywhere else that provide hot breakfast at this exceptionally early time of 6am in the morning. You didn't mention the Complementary Tea/Coffee cake & biscuits on arrival & after every walk. Plus many complementary extras in you bedrooms that we supped at No extra cost. Normally you get charged for every little extra at other hotels B&B’s. Did I also make you & your friend a packed lunch when I got up at 5am to make your breakfast if you did your 3 Peaks Walk?

As for us not providing a front door key - this is utter rubbish! Hundreds of past guests would back-us up on this one. Not all guests wish to take a key on their walk - they prefer to use the ‘Emergency’ key. There is ALWAYS available a spare ‘Emergency ‘hidden’ front door key, which we tell guests about - if you failed before leaving for you walk to ‘pick up’ your own rooms front door key,

Clearly! your review, is in the minority. - People reviewing our 98 ‘Excellent’ reviews on trip adviser can make an ‘educated’ assessment about our hospitality & service, care & attention we give our guests in the homely atmosphere of The Willows B&B in the heart of Horton in Ribbledale village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I spent a relaxing couple of days in Horton with Jo and Steve.
The welcome was warm and the room comfortable with a couple of pubs close by serving good food. Brilliant location for tackling The Dales 3 Peaks and a decent walk into Settle along the River Ribble.
Thanks again to you both for your hospitality
Tim & Mandy

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim1961A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed in Jo and Steve's welcoming home whilst walking the Pennine way-5 minutes walk away.
Arrangements for pick up/drop off were completed with the minimum of fuss and allowed us to stay for two nights.Room was warm and immaculate.Breakfasts were delightful.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.Their local knowledge of the area was most helpful.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hancomajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horton-in-Ribblesdale hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
287 reviews
0 mi away
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
22 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Penyghent B&B
#5 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hawes Rd, B6479 | opp. Horton playing fields entrance, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Price Range: $75 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come into the Warmth of Friendly Homely Hospitality of the Willows Bed & Breakfast. We're just a short 4 min from Pen-y-Ghent Cafe. We are located in the heart of Horton-in-Ribblesdale village on the road B6479. The Willows is an ideal place to start your '3 Peaks Challenge' walk/run from,(Directly opp. Horton playing fields where most of the major charity walks/races start & finish - adjacent to 'Winston's field') We are just a 5 min walk off the the Ribble Way & Pennine Way. The Dales way Plus the 'New' Trailblazer trail. Also 10min from the New Pennine Bridle way for horses & cyclists (We can arrange to pick you up after sorting your horse for the night in our friend's secure quiet field. Then you can have a relaxing restful night as well). Horton-in-Ribblesdale railway station set just a 3 min stroll from us. Save the stress of a car journey on the winding & contested 'A' road. Plus avoid the motorway hold-ups. - Reach us by rail, feeling relaxed into Yorkshire Dales National park. Travel up on the famous & scenic 'Settle to Carlisle' railway line. (Change at Leeds for commuters from London which can be reached in under 4hrs!) The Willows B&B has total refurbishment of all 3 Rooms. X2 En-suites (King & triple). Plus x1 twin room with luxury Bathrooms. Be Welcomed with a smile after your long muddy day on the fells! Drop you muddy clothes & boots at the door & change into your house slippers, while you relax beside our lovely log burning stove. The kettle will be on, ready for you to take Complementary Tea/Coffee & the cake/biscuits between 5-7pm. (Please book up to 1 yr in advance for the 3 Peaks Challenges- as we have over a thousand walkers looking for rooms in Horton at weekends during the walking season. (Start April - End October) Stephen, your host, is a local lad who has been a fell runner for many years with the Settle Harriers. He is always out & about on the fells regularly training for the next 3 Peaks Fell Race with our friendly collie dog. We get up to make you Early 3Peaks Walkers Breakfast FROM 6:00am. So, from 6am, we offer you a tasty bacon sandwich. PLUS! Over a dozen types of cereals. PLUS: Fresh locally produced yogurts, fruit juice, fresh fruit, breads, fruit, Jams, Honey etc. Full Yorkshire 'Belly Busting' Breakfast from 7:30 - 9:00am. Vegetarians & special diets can also be catered for. We have Three tastefully styled bedrooms in our home. ROOM 1 - Pen-y-Ghent En-suite room with King size memory foam bed with beautiful views over to Pen-y-Ghent mountain. ROOM 2 - Ingleborough (En-suite) with 3 single memory form beds. ROOM 3 - Whernside, 2 single memory foam beds with your own very spacious bathroom (just 1 step over your corridor) - lovely under floor heating double ended bath & Extra large Matiki shower cubicle with electric shower. ** At The Willows - To ensure you have the best possible restful night's sleep we ONLY use Top Quality Memory Foam mattresses on ALL our beds -. ** Sleep peacefully in freshly laundered Egyptian cotton bedding - with None-Allergic quilts, fresh fluffy pillows & throws.** Each room has a daily stocked - overflowing variety of choices on our tea trays - teas, coffee, chocolate, herbal & deff's. Plus: Complementary biscuits.** Lovely Fresh white towels for your use. ** Plus many lovely toiletries for your use while you are at The Willows B&B. *** FREE: Parking Plus Wi-fi throughout our home. (Which you wont find at all locations in village) ** Flat screen TVs & Free view in bedrooms** Lovely Log burning stove in guest lounge. *** FREE Parking.** Plus Very Large, Secure lock-up garage below our house for horse tack, motor bikes/pedal cycles / etc **We are convinced that you will happily enjoy your stay at The Willows B&B. You can easily see our previous many 'Excellent' rated guests reviews TripAdvisor. Take a look! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale
The Willows Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing