We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five go the Crown Hotel.”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Me and my four aged friends stayed here in late October. The building is quite impressive for the village. On entering the porch you are confronted by several notices which tell you what you can and can't do. We were to find similar ones throughout the hotel. My favourite was the one next to the open fire: "Don't mess with the fire, ask a member of staff". By the end of my stay I was quite attached to these notices and began to see them in a different light since they must get some right idiots staying here attempting the 3 peaks for the first time.
The young lass who greeted us was friendly and efficient. The rooms were adequate. The bath was a boon for aching bones and the hot water plentiful (the only notice missing was to warn you about the scalding temperature!).
Dinner was good to very good (comments from five of us). Beer was grand. Again full marks to the serving girl who was brilliant. Landlord chatted to us and was friendly enough in spite of the manic behaviour of one of our party.
Breakfast was a bit variable - the sausage on day 2 was definitely not right - this needs looking into. Service by the friendly woman at breakfast made up for it though. She was gradely!

I'd stay here again. I think some of the negative comments are a reflection of the commentor's namby pamby up bringing. And as for dogs - apart from working dogs I wouldn't allow them in the valley, let alone the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 283 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Reading the other reviews and having spent two nights here recently with others, I can understand various comments, positive and negative.

On arrival a fairly dour barman asked us to sign in and then showed each pair to their rooms. Fair enough. He was not the most chatty barman but was perfectly civil and efficient.

Our room was No. 6 and had two single rooms and a bunk bed. Perfectly adequate and spacious. The furniture was a bit dated but functional. In fact with some investment, the bathroom could be enlarged without making the bedroom cramped.

The radiator was very hot but could not be turned off as the thermostat kept turning in its housing. But covered in the bath towels and with the window open we did not fry so did not bother mentioning it! We had to cover it with the towels as there was nowhere in the bathroom - no towel rail. (Some colleagues in other rooms did have.)

The bathroom was fairly small and cramped with a corner unit which was not in the best of shape. There was no fan but a window in a recess at the head of the bath with a shower over. The shower was uncontrollable - it was either too hot or cold. The temperature control must have been related to the radiator, it spun round and round. The only way of regulating the temperature was to use the other control, the hot/medium/cool wheel (or suchlike) and again we managed to have a shower despite the lack of control.

The handle on the toilet was very loose in its socket and felt as though it would drop off at any moment but didn't.

The beds were comfortable. The room looked out over the yard in front of the hotel but was quite over the weekend.

There was no TV remote control but as we didn't watch it it wasn't a problem although it would have been useful to catch the forecast. But as I listened to a radio weather forecast it was not a problem. Had i read Trip Advisor before our stay I would have realised to ask for it. The wiring of the TV could do with tidying up - looks like a 'cats cradle'!

The food was plentiful, tasty and there was a good choice plus a specials board. Once ordered it came within a reasonable time. The Lamb Henry was particularly good and with a very generous portion. The Moussaka the next night was equally tasty.

The landlord chatted with us and was friendly and both he and the barmen knocked the few pence of the drinks round to round figures - not an amazing gesture but appreciated.

The beer comprised two real ales - one from the Blackburn Brewery which was not to our taste (?Boggin?) and the Black Sheep was passable but not the best tasted. There was an excellent range of whiskys.

Breakfast was as others have stated 08.30 - 09.00 which suited us and was a wholesome full English with Black Pudding which wasn't listed on the menu. The cereals were adequate although some grapefruit/prunes etc would have been appreciated. Toast and tea and coffee was good and refreshed on asking. The young woman serving was very pleasant.

The bars both had coal fires and were lit and warmed the place up.

The notices in the bedroom folder (£50 fine for setting off the fire alarm by smoking, damages and spillages will be charged for and rooms checked on departure, hotel holds no responsibility for anything going missing from your room, etc ) and on the door (no personal alcohol) were amusing and no doubt prompted by experience but were a littel over the top. Having said that, everywhere in Horton seemed to have a notice telling you not to do something.

The rooms were a little dated or tired but as said perfectly adequate.

There is a non-returnable deposit per person on booking. It is only available for set-off against another booking if you need to cancel. Again, I suspect this is prompted by experience but I do not recall similar condition for other B&Bs and hotels I have stayed at provided adequate notice given.

Overall, an average marking. I've stayed in better establishments for the same money but nothing really to complain about or stop me going again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After wandering across the dales from Kettlewell we were looking forward to a good, wholesome meal, a smooth pint of real ale and some good company. We found all three at the Crown Inn. The beer is kept well and the portion sizes at dinner are particularly generous. Breakfast too was well cooked and tasty and set us in good stead for our next day of walking. The only critiscism would be that the rooms were a little tired (rather than 'traditional') with drab decor and some dated fittings. Regardless, after a days walk and a few delicious pints I slept like a log. Lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were renting a cottage locally and ate here on two evenings. The food was good quality “pub” food at a reasonable price. We particularly enjoyed the Moroccan Lamb. The staff were friendly and even on our second visit when the place was full service was quick. Will certainly return when next in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romseyman112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Agree with Ian, the Landlord of the Crown is terse and very unfriendly, and will no longer accept dogs, despite the place having 3 rooms, and being almost empty on a wild, wet evening.
Golden Lion down the road very friendly, food excellent, and dogs welcome in the small front bar - and its cheaper!.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

The only reason you call us unfriendly is because you were not allowed in with your dog. There are notices around stating that dogs are not allowed in when food is being served, 12.00 - 2.00pm, and 6.00 - 9.30pm.We talk and listen to our customers and the majority of them did not want dogs in while food is being served so that is why we do not allow them in at these times. Your review contradicts the previous 10 or 11 reports who all say how friendly we were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place made Fawlty Towers look like the Metropolitan. Rude and unaccomodating staff. The decor is akin to a student house, with the added feature of a sign on every wall telling you to not do something. The breakfast is like prison food. Shame, as it's a nice old building in a fantastic location, I guess they can trade on that and feel no obligation to be in any way service orientated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Obviously we could not please you so you wont be returning , which is probably for the best after all the rubbish you have just written.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights whilst we completed the 3 Peaks challenge and were pleasantly surprised. We were welcomed by a friendly member of staff who showed us to our rooms and explained the breakfast arrangements for early morning departures. The bar was very busy but when they knew we wanted to order food they made sure we could get a table and went out of their way even though they were rushed off their feet. The rooms are a little tired but homely and comfortable and above all .... clean! The food was lovely, home made and there was lots of it..good value for money.
Perfect for a few nights stay while walking in the hills...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Annlou15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
5.7 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
507 reviews
4.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
557 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
6.0 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
357 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#17 of 22 in Settle
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Horton In Ribblesdale, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Price Range: $117 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing