We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
Review of AquaHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AquaHotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ovar
Lisbon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

After a period of degradation, AquaHotel in Ovar, Portugal, went through a total refurbishing offering us a pleasant surprise. Completely renovated, it now offers comfortable rooms, a small but efficient spa and parking facilities in the centre of the small town. Great staff, always ready to help, good breakfast in a room overlooking the creek that crosses the town, AquaHotel proves to be a good choice for all those visiting this part of the country.
Ideal for business travels, it further offers the advantage of nearby beaches and opportunitity to tour around the area.
We've been several times to AquaHotel and will keep on staying there whenever we go to Ovar.
Good value for money, too.

Room Tip: Can't help much, since we always stay in the same room: first one, first floor, overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila50Lisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    50
    50
    10
    7
See reviews for
31
61
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for business meetings for a week. Very clean room and very nice breakfast buffet! Especially, the managers and staff are so nice and very professional. We had wonderful stay with very good service from the staff. Highly recommend staying in this hotel if you're ever in Ovar Portugal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithopolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff at Aqua Hotel goes above and beyond to make their guests comfortable. They were so helpful. Internet not very strong, but the staff kept trying to make it work. The town is quaint. Everything is within walking distance. The Saturday morning open market was great. Around the corner is some great nightlife on the weekends. Just up the hill, about a 10 minute walk, is the train station that takes you to the gorgeous city of Porto in less than an hour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davenanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evora, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A hotel in a classic building in the city of Ovar, near a river, it all gives a warm atmosphere.
First, and the strongest point of the hotel, the service and people. We arrived at 1am to check in and were greeted with a welcoming smile and a friendliness that nobody was expecting much less to one in the morning. At breakfast whenever we needed something just was always satisfied our request sympathetically and promptly.
Rooms are always clean and tidy.
Breakfast good and varied.
Unfortunately not everything was perfect. Much furniture is old and worn-looking; the bathrooms were remodeled but the solution was not the best since the shower was a drain in the floor with a booth; many carpets stained and faded in the corridors; nightclub near the hotel may disturbing sleep who goes to bed early.

Too bad the negative points, because people's sympathy and warm atmosphere really deserve the 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night only but we would happily have stayed longer. Ovar
is a small quiet market town around half an hour from Porto by car and convenient for the
station and the sea. The hotel is centrally situated overlooking the river.
It has a very attractive modern decor and the rooms and bathrooms are very comfortably furnished.
The staff were all extremely welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to help when we managed to lock our bikes to each other and couldn't unlock them.
The restaurant has a good selection of food and wines all well cooked and served with charm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaypersonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stayed here for two nights with a work collegue. This hotel is lovely and modern on the inside, and rooms were spacious.

From the outside, we struggled to find this hotel - the doorway is rather hidden, but from the moment you open the door you are greeted with the beautiful interior of this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and will go out of their way for you. The waiter however spoke very little English and it made things a little tricky (I know I am very ignorant and should make an attempt with the language - however it was a very last minute trip!).

There is also free Wi-Fi in the hotel, can be used in rooms as well as the lounge - however was quite slow.

I would reccomend this hotel, however Ovar is very tiny and a fair way from Porto airport - around 55 euro in a taxi, almost an hour away. It would be perfect if you didn't want to go and explore too much, as it is too far out of Porto to be a base, and there didn't seem to be very much going on.

The Portugese people are lovely lovely people and will go out of their way to help and are exremely polite. We got the hotel to book us a taxi, and we got a lovely man who spoke good English, was always ealry, who was well dressed and had a lovely clean car - he was also a little cheaper than the other taxi's we used. This is a vast difference - trust me!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riproaringpoptart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovar
2.9 mi away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meia-Lua
Hotel Meia-Lua
#3 of 3 in Ovar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tulip Inn Estarreja Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
#2 of 16 in Aveiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
10.7 mi away
Jardins da Ria
Jardins da Ria
#3 of 3 in Torreira
2.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel PraiaGolfe
Hotel PraiaGolfe
#2 of 2 in Espinho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AquaHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaHotel

Property: AquaHotel
Address: Rua Aquilino Ribeiro 1, Ovar 3880-151, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Ovar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ovar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AquaHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aqua Hotel: Fully equipped with facilities and services to accommodate customers traveling on business or leisure, the Aqua Hotel harmonized the construction of the 80's with the daily needs of our guests. This hotel offers 52 double rooms and 4 suites to provide an excellent stay when visiting us. The Aqua Hotel offers his guests a restaurant, for groups or events, specialised in creative regional cuisine. The Rio Bar, Lounge or terrace, Meeting Facilities for up to 180 people. SPA with turkish bath and Hamman bath, massage programs, Garage, Laundry, Library & Web Corner and free wireless throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your AquaHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing