We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wolf's Lair ~ Hitler's Eastern HQ in North East Poland”

Wolf's lair - Wolfsschanze
Book In Advance
More Info
$164.69*
and up
Wolf's Lair - Adolf Hitler's World War II Headquarters
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Gierloz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Previously East-Prussia; Former Military complex of the Third Reich. Military Commanding Center of the Eastern Front in WWII. Site of the 1944 assassination attempt on Hitler, by Claus von Stauffenberg. Story told in the 2008 film Valkirye.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wolf's Lair ~ Hitler's Eastern HQ in North East Poland”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I would certainly not like to give the impression that this is an experience for enjoyment , rather for the Historical fascination to see the buildings and the place that was important. It is interesting to see the huge bunker buildings, to be able to walk around and in some of them where it is safe to do so. The thickness of the Concrete is amazing. To see the building where Hitler was almost assassinated and know that History, bad History took place at Wolf's Lair. It is a bit out of the Way, but well worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank scandibalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    114
    38
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hard to believe that the Second World War was directed from here”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hitler spent a huge part of the war at Wolf's Lair and supposedly the Nazi regime went unnoticed!the bunkers were amazing with the huge thickness of the concrete. The whole place felt really weird with an eerie chill even though it was a very hot day when we visited. Would recommend if you are fortunate enough to get that far north in Poland that you make the effort to visit this historic site. The tour guide was really knowledgeable would recommend that you read and research this place prior to visiting, I understand that the famous assassination attempt on Hitler took place here it's well worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

While the Germans did their best to destroy this facility as the Russians approached, there are still plenty of structures to see, and even the ones that were hit with TNT are, due to their size and construction, largely intact and can sometimes be walked through. We met a guide in the carpark (rather than front gate) who for 60 zlotys, took us around the around the complex for more than an hour. It was money very well spent as she was great. Highly recommended site to visit. I was surprised to learn that the facility is run privately.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I did a lot of research before we visited, and the site delivered everything I expected. I guess the negative reviews were written by folks who either did not research the site beforehand, or had been somehow misled on what to expect. It was just as I had imagined it would be, only more impressive.

There are good guide books in English sold on the site for $4-5 each. With one of these guide books (with map), you really don't need to hire a guide. The main Sperrkreis I site with the main ruins is actually quite small and you can easily explore all of this in a morning or afternoon, following the marked paths and the guide book. The main ruins all have numbers painted on them, corresponding to the trails and commentary in the guide books. You can probably also do the Blue Route to the south side of Sperrkreis I on the same morning or afternoon as the main Red Route. Then you can visit the ruins of the train station (just down the tracks to the west of the entry gatehouse) and the main ruins of Sperrkreis II opposite on the south side of the tracks. You can easily do all of this in one day. Some of the most impressive blown up bunker ruins are in this part of Sperrkreis II (the Nachrichten/communications Bunker).

I recommend planning a second day to visit the Mauerwald (Mamerki) bunker site, 18km north of the Wolf's Lair. There is a small map available in the hotel (as well as guide books to the Mauerwald site, although we did not see one in English) and the route is well marked (follow the signs to Mamerki/U-Boot). There are small museums there that include a reproduction German U-Boot, but these museums were not open when we visited. The bunkers at Mauerwald were not destroyed in 1945 as was the Wolf's Lair, so you can see what the intact bunkers would have looked like (actually small on the inside). There are two bunker sites on either side of the road, but you can visit just one side of the road (the original "Quelle" site) to see the largest bunkers and representative types of the smaller bunkers. Bring a flashlight! There is a large dirt parking area on the right (east) side of the road, just up from the entrance to where the bunker museums are - this parking lot is marked with a large sign like at the entrance to the Wolf's Lair, for Mamerki / OKH Mauerwald. Just inside the woods from that lot starts the trail to the "Quelle" bunkers.

There are other associated sites around there to see, but you will have to have a good map or a guide. Heinrich Himmler's bunker complex "Hochwald" is easy to find, but Hans Lammers' bunker is not. The unfinished locks on the Masurian Canal near Mauerwald are a breathtaking piece of Nazi concrete architecture, but not easy to find. You can also visit an old fortress at Gizycko that was used as part of the overall Wolf's Lair complex.

I recommend mid-April as the best time to visit, to avoid summer foliage obscuring the ruins, avoid the infamous mosquitoes, and avoid large tourist crowds.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny_Gault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burpengary, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Valkyrie Thwarted - Unlucky.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

An eerie complex, created in an isolated piece of Polish forest, and quite well preserved and accessible to most of the public (despite the transport facilities being a bit awkward to negotiate). Very impressed by the tour guide's knowledge and ability to convey messages to a variety of languages. They were most helpful and willing to spend a little time explaining things. Should be high on a 'must do' list for any travellers to Poland, as the surrounding countryside is also spectacular, making the journey even more worthwhile. We stayed at a beautiful little hotel a short drive away - Zajad Bialy Mlyn, Ryn, which had excellent facilities, food, and hospitality. It worked well with Wolf's Lair, as opening hours were from 10 - 4pm, and we were able to visit lost/found relatives beforehand.
Wolf's Lair had a good food menu, and good service, even though they were very busy. My son had a ride on a restored German side-car too, which was a thrill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf's lair - Wolfsschanze also viewed

Mikolajki, Warmia-Masuria Province
Olsztyn, Warmia-Masuria Province
 
Gizycko, Warmia-Masuria Province
 

Been to Wolf's lair - Wolfsschanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing