We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Colombia”
Review of Eco-Habs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tayrona National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eco-Habs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

First of all Tayrona is just an amazing place to visit. It's gorgeous. The ecohabs are fantastic, the views amazing, comfortable. Make sure you try the jacuzzi, the views are spectacular and the food is out of this world.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Maybe not 5-star in terms of luxury, but way more than adequate - but the experience itself is world class! The setting of each individual Ecohab is spectacular (although I think there are one or two that face away from the sea...no point to that, so make sure...) and the actual accommodation is great. Take some of your own wine and hit the personal hammocks overlooking the sea. The beach right in front is tricky for swimming, but the beaches down the path in the park offer a range of different options, and some are idyllic. And the path (a good few km) is brilliant for a walk or even a run in a spectacular setting. PS The restaurant at the Ecohabs was pretty good too. If you're in the area this is worth the effort (PPS the guys at the Aviatur office Santa Marta were unbelievable in helping find a night there for us in the middle of peak season, with no Spanish on our part or English on theirs, it being closing time, AND the usual admin nightmare involved in securing Parks Service reservations etc. Go Google Translator...)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is an awesome place to visit on your next vacation

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the EcoHabs after trekking in the jungle for four days. Given the cost, we were just going to stay one night but loved it so much that we stayed for 2. We stayed in Ecohab #7 at the top of the hill and had sweeping views of the jungle below and the coastline. It was such a treat to wake up to the sunrise, crashing surf, and swaying palms. The huts have two levels - the first includes a bathroom (hot water, luxurious towels), a patio with two tables, two hammocks and a mini bar. Then you go upstairs to the bedroom, which is entirely surrounded by windows and has a fan, TV, wifi, and a slider of sorts with a magnificent view straight out to sea. The restaurant was fantastic for both breakfast and dinner, the resort also has a private beach where you can swim. Very relaxing and romantic. Loved this place!

Disclaimer: if you are scared of bugs and lizards, I wouldn't stay here because the huts aren't fully sealed, meaning bugs and an occasional lizard are inevitable.

Room Tip: Ecohab 7 or 8 would be a good bet. Up high with great views and fewer bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed one night at the Aviatur Ecohabs at Cañaveral in Taryona National Park.
It is a bit of a drive by car or motorbike from the park entrance to Cañaveral (or you can go by horse or it's a very long walk) - if you plan to travel to Arrecifes and further, make sure you have backpacks - easier to transport by horse or on your back - suitcases not recommended as there is no road past Cañaveral to Arrecifes etc. At a hefty £193 per night the Aviatur Ecohabs were definitely the most expensive place of accommodation on our 2 week trip in Colombia. The 2 person or 4 person Ecohabs are the same price - we went for the 2 person Ecohab as there was only 2 of us but it was tiny - for more space, privacy and better view, go for the 4 person Ecohabs which are placed higher up the hill. I believe Ecohabs 6-9 have better sea view. Also regarding the spa - when we saw those pictures on their website, we were desperate to book a time in the spa when we arrived - nothing was available in the evening so we booked a 10am morning slot but when we arrived the spa was much less luxurious than pictured. It is a very small spa with nothing else and the water is yellow which of course we thought meant it was dirty - turns out the water comes from a fresh water river nearby hence the colour! The spa is more like a cool bath - no jets or hot water, not that I could have handled hot water in the heat of Tayrona but just to let you know if you do miss out on booking the spa you are definitely not missing out on anything!
The Aviatur restaurant is excellent - food is so delicious and much more affordable than I feared. Food was very hit and miss and sometimes surpisingly expensive when travelling on the Colombian coast but this was well worth it and in line with the cost of other meals we had.
There is a nice beach suitable for swimming nearby. We travelled by horse with our backpacks to Arrecifes the following day. Unfortunately the other Aviatur accommodation - the Cabañas were fully booked so we stayed one night at Finca El Paraiso Arrecifes a bit further down from Aviatur in a very basic and not so clean cabin for 120000COP/£39. There is other cabin accomodation nearby - a small walk further which was even more basic and at the start of Arrecifes - before Aviatur, there is Don Pedro who has one cabin in addition to camping but we did not see the cabin.
We ate again at the delicious Aviatur restaurant in Arrecifes and had breakfast the next day - it is interesting to note that prices for food at Finca El Paraiso were actually the same or more expensive! Definitely eat at Aviatur's restaurant!
If I did it again, I would skip Cañaveral and go straight to Arrecifes and stay at the Aviatur Cabañas for 2 nights - these are cheaper than the Ecohbas and look really nice, they seem better value for money, plus Arrecifes is a much better base to explore - it's further in to the park where Cañaveral is the first stop. You can also visit other swim-able beaches like La Piscina and and the best - Cabo San Juan.
It's a bit of a walk to these beaches and some parts a bit slippery so I found it a bit easier in my hiking boots but there may be a couple of points where you need to take your shoes off to walk over shallow water but plenty of other ppl were in flip flops.
Also, make sure you have insect repellant! We got yellow fever vaccinations but no one asked for our certificates.
Apparently you don't need it as they have never had it - someone a long time ago was diagnosed there but was infected before arriving. Anyway various websites say technically you need a Yellow Fever Vaccination Certificate to enter the park. I believe you can get free Yellow Fever Vaccinations at airport on arrival if it fits in with your travel plans to Tayrona as supposed to be vaccinated min 10 days before.
Tayrona is so beautiul, we saw many brightly coloured lizards, birds and crabs, the landscape and beaches amazing, we also saw some small monkeys! The accommodation is expensive but Taryona is worth it - don't miss out!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mioymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I splurged and spent about $300US per night to stay in the Ecohabs resort at Canaveral in Tayrona Park, Colombia. The rooms are huts or cabanas distributed over the property and reached by stone paved paths. The bedroom is upstairs, with a thatched roof and louvered widows and doors all around. The louvers are covered with bug screens an, in fact, few insects came into the room. But one large, fat lizard came in and more than once defficated, with his droppings landing on the bedspread! There was no air conditioning, but the room was cooled by a large ceiling fan. The bathroom and patio are on the lower level. It was lovely to sit on the patio or lay in one of the two hammocks there. But it was creepy to go to the bathroom at night among insects, bats and lizards! This is advertised as Eco friendly but fresh towels are brought each day...

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs to deaden the sound of crashing surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We came to Colombia to see the park and decided to try the eco-habs. First I would like to stay they are much more rustic than expected but the views and beaches are worth it. The swimming is not really safe but I believe at other beaches is is safer. Not sure if this is a year round thing or just a rough tide while we were there. The price seemed a little high for what we got but it was an experience we won't forget and we did enjoy being here. Not the comforts of home and I suggest ample bug spray and good walking shoes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tayrona National Park hotels
4.4 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
590 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
#1 of 1 in Los Naranjos
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Posadas Ecoturisticas Seineken
Posadas Ecoturisticas Seineken
#1 of 5 in Tayrona National Park
144 reviews
2.7 mi away
Playa Brava Teyumakke
Playa Brava Teyumakke
#5 of 11 in Tayrona National Park
37 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jasayma Tayrona Hostal
Jasayma Tayrona Hostal
#2 of 5 in Tayrona National Park
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Habs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Habs

Address: Tayrona National Park, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Tayrona National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tayrona National Park
Also Known As:
Eco-Habs Hotel Tayrona National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing