We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design hotel with a good kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rijswijk
Reviewed December 8, 2012

In a not very interesting neighborhood this hotel stands out because of the its elegant quality interior design. The rooms are big and quiet with good and modern beds and shower. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and the restaurant better than average in this region, particularly the fish on the menu.
Minuses are a tiny fitness room with only a few cardiovascular devices hooked up and functional, no swimming pool, no miles and ridiculous WiFi rates in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodieMunich_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandWinston, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear FoodieMunich_Germany,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate your kind words about Worldhotel Grand Winston.
Please note that we offer free WiFi in all rooms and public areas of the hotel.

Hopefully we may welcome you back in Worldhotel Grand Winston!

With kind regards,

Arjan van Esveld
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 913 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Was in Rijswijk for business and stayed at this hotel. The room was quite large (I was in the wing towards the back of the hotel) but had the bathroom in it (encased with glass walls)! Not a problem for me, but worth knowing if you are travelling with family/friends. Hotel is located very close to the Rijswijk train station, so very convenient.

Large bed and a very adequate bathroom with good toiletries and little touches geared towards a business traveller (shoe shine, vanity kit etc.) I ordered in room service which was quite pricey - especially with a EUR 9 delivery charge. The food was average at best.

The breakfast buffet was quite nice and at EUR 15 (pre-booked) was decent value. The dining room is a bit soulless though - like a huge staff canteen! Staff quite cold overall....but efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Wanderlust81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have stayed only on night there, the hotel was very clean, with stylish design and plenty of choices of breakfast. The most comfortable bed I ever had in the hotel. The only negative point was no free WiFi room, need to go to the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoyo_kwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Poor and limited Internet connection. No Film channels. Basic if non existent gym. No pool. Poor choice of breakfast (no pork at all). Slow and grumpy service, particularly in the food and beverage department. Expensive and no air miles offered.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandWinston, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Dan 1,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. My apologies for the inconveniences during your stay at Worldhotel Grand Winston.
Please note that WiFi is free until 20 mb. Premium fast WiFi is available.

Airmiles are only available for specific rates. Please contact me directly to make the arrangements for a further stay. I will personally look after your reservation.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

With kinds regards,

Arjan van Esveld
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Changes since my last review

Check-in - very friendly and didn't charge me a night when my flight was delayed and I called them, changed a room that smelt of smoke but no apology
Room - furniture really scratched and worn
Wireless - sketchy and drops out (front tower in case you want to fix it)
Shower - I really hate getting soaked with cold water turning it on
Restaurant - food ok and still way too fancy, needs to simplify
Breakfast - rubbery overcooked eggs, undercooked hard beans and no real bacon but quick and lovely omelettes and good coffee

Rob

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandWinston, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Rob,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. My apologies for the inconveniences during your stay at Worldhotel Grand Winston. We take your review very serious and we will use the feedback listed in your review to improve our facilities and services.

Please contact me directly to make the arrangements for a further stay. I will personally look after your reservation.

I hope we still have your trust for coming to our hotel again.

With kinds regards,

Arjan van Esveld
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

+sliding panel window cover
+staff
-everything else
-pillows very bouncy like a balloon. no comfort or support
-nespresso machine is nice... except it was broken
-really cheap *plastic* bath fixtures (tub, control panel) [forgetting the fact that shower room transparent]
-other bathroom fixtures e.g. soapholder misaligned and crooked
-you can see clearly the caulking and sealant for the bathroom are all yellowing and old and dirty
-near-nonfunctional shared hallway clothes-iron
-small tube television, in the year 2012
-dinner service... lets just say odd and uninformed and untrained (albeit they were nice / they tried)
-shared tables for breakfast room. food quality was only average
-made multiple bookings the same method, with the same corporate rate... sometimes i got mileage earning, other times i was told "we cannot give you miles due to corporate rate"
-at check out, i was asked if i wanted to leave a tip ?????

okay, so NORMALLY i am not at all picky on hotels. give me a clean comfortable bed, quiet room, and fast internet and im happy. but theres so many weird little things here, especially relative to the price, that its hard not to list them. among the strangest is being asked if i would like to leave a tip, when i was checking out. ive never been to any hotel in 30+ countries that have ever asked this. i wasnt offended... just surprised.

also getting the feeling that since this hotel is basically a feeder to the neighboring Shell building (i.e. guaranteed occupancy), theres no real impetus to make real improvements.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justarandomperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Spent two weeks at the grand winston for work again. Wondering why I keep making the mistake of staying there. The whole attitude seems to be that they are doing you a favour by having you at the hotel. During two weeks I had the following issues:
Apples on the side in the room for guests were mouldy when I first checked in.
Bin was not emptied one day.
The extractor ducts were cOvered in dust.
The tv was broken on checkin and took three days and four reports to the hotel staff to get it fixed.

Overall the only reason I consider it is that it's so close to the office. In the future I think I'll just put up with getting up earlier and stay in den Haag centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike00010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandWinston, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear mike00010_11,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. I personally apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. We are very much aware that we are not doing you a favour but you are doing us a favour instead. Hopefully you will grant us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in order to provide you the perfect service and attention you deserve.

Please contact me directly to make the arrangements for a further stay. I will personally look after your reservation.

With kind regards,

Arjan van Esveld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijswijk
2.2 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Petit
Best Western Hotel Petit
#37 of 68 in The Hague
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Savarin
Hotel & Spa Savarin
#2 of 3 in Rijswijk
292 reviews
24.4 mi away
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
16.4 mi away
Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel

Address: Generaal Eisenhowerplein 1, 2288 AE Rijswijk, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Winston Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rijswijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rijswijk
Price Range: $79 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in the Grand Winston Hotel, named after the famous statesperson Sir Winston Churchill, can be described as an unique experience; ultimate luxury and comfort in surroundings of special design in a hotel perfectly located between the royal cities The Hague and Delft, in the Plaspoelpolder area of Rijswijk. The remarkable design hotel has an international appeal and charisma. It offers 252 rooms, of which 184 Comfort Rooms, 54 Executive Rooms, 7 Junior Suites and 7 Apartment Suites. All rooms are spacious and have a special design. The bathrooms have triangular walls of glass, providing a very special effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldhotel Grand Winston Hotel Rijswijk
Hotel Grand Winston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing