We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it was last year (2011)”
Review of Duddingston Arms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Duddingston Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was last year (2011)”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband & i went here for a group gathering and the service we got i had to laugh at , after my started i was asked to keep my cutlery as they did not think they would have enough . I did get clean cutlery just before my main course came ( must have washed some ) . Was not impressed with what met me in toilets either , there was a strong smell of dampness to which i found when entering the cubical . Mold up around bottom of wall yuk . Also to top everything everyone in the group were met with a 20% service charge EACH . Must admit there was 1 lovely girl that served me with one of my courses could not have been more pleasant . Would have been a great night if it were 2011 all over again . Will be going else where ,I believe customers come first & are not just cash cows to bump the bill up as they please .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jul3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newhaveninn, Owner at Duddingston Arms, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I am sorry for your disappointment on the group visit of the 17th.

I was also sad to hear all was not right on the night and I have taken action with the staff who were working. They did say the group increased from an expected 25ish to 42. This put the staff under some pressure as we are only a small pub and not really suited to such a large group. However this is no reason for bad service. I have also been in touch with your group organiser (see review above).

As for the toilets, I know there is a problem with the flat roof extension under which the ladies are sited. We have tried many times to fix this but in an old building (1832) it has proved harder than we first thought.

I have asked the staff to review the cleaning rota for the toilets as it is very important that the toilets are always clean.

Thank you for your nice comments on the one staff member who provided you with good service I wish all our staff were this helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had lunch here on our way to visiting Hopetoun House. Very friendly staff and efficient service. Nice to find a pub selling proper pub food for a change. We both had nice meals, good portions and nice and hot. We will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BambiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant with our one year old kid”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Good local little pub, the locals were lovely people & the bar staff are very friendly they go out there way to help you, my wife & I would highly recommend it for a visit.
The food is to a good standard and the amount was more than enough.
We are planing our next visit shortly with other couple.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MollyWally”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited for a quick bite of lunch yesterday for 1st time. Innocuous from the road and having no car park of its own, but pleasantly surprised at the warmth inside from Staff who were attentive, polite and efficient, food was good and plenty of it, well kept beer. Will definitely return very soon and will recommend to all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wish this pub was closer to home”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times and have never been disappointed. It has a lot of good things going for it. It is very quaint, it has great beer with guest ales coming in all the time, it is dog friendly, it has great service and the food is freshly cooked and comes into the superior pub food category. All in all well worth a visit. Just wish it was that little bit closer to home and it would be very definitely my local.

Helpful?
Thank Mr_Dangelbery_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duddingston Arms also viewed

Newton, West Lothian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing