We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Mont Dol Review”
Review of Chateau Mont-Dol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mont-Dol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Mont-Dol
Ranked #1 of 8 Mont-Dol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a gem, how lucky we were to find such a lovely place to stay for one week in Brittany. The Gite was spotlessly clean and nicely equipped. We were able to use the Salon for relaxing any time of the day and evening. Wonderful gardens to wander or sunbathe in. Jacqueline and Yannick are superb hosts and nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend any guests to book for dinner the food and service is superb. Before opening Mont Dol Yannick was chef to the French Ambassador's Residence in London and cooked for the Queen and Queen Mother and many other Dignatories.
We will certainly look to return again soon.
Mar c and Mandy Bates

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandarcbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Mont-Dol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

as usually we decided to go back with my familly to mont dol chateau ,enjoying jacqueline and yannick 's fantastic welcome.
the spa was just finished , and i decided to be tempted by 1 hour massage. in fact i was the very first to try massage in the new dedicated nice room. Corinne made a fantastic massage blinding various technics , a very relaxing quality time. one more opportunity to stay in mont dol chateau . just great

Room Tip: all are good
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We returned to the U.S. in early May from a vacation in France, where we spent five days at the Château de Mont-Dol. The Chateau is located in a charming village not far from Mont-Saint-Michel and many other interesting places in Brittany and Normandy. Yannick and Jacqueline, the hosts, provided a friendly welcome to the Chateau and to our attractive and comfortable room, with a door that opened onto the garden. They served delicious breakfasts of home-made crêpes, cakes, and jams, and fresh bread, yoghurt, and local butter.

We also very much enjoyed their dinners (by reservation) which were some of the best meals that we enjoyed in France. The refined and expertly-prepared dinners offered an excellent opportunity to taste the specialties of Brittany, especially fresh seafood. At the breakfast and dinner tables, we also met other guests, from France and Belgium, and learned more about the country. Yannick and Jacqueline were very helpful and knowledgeable about local sites and made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickTripAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We have spent a wonderful week in this charming and friendly B&B. Jacqueline and Yannick are the best hosts. They both offer you plenty of tips regarding restaurants in the area (all the best choices) and the attractions around. Yannick is an excellent cook who delights you with his special dishes of fresh fish and Jacqueline makes sure all the details and arragements are in order. They are welcoming, attentive and they create a wonderful atmosphere at the chateau. We had the good luck of meeting other wonderful guests from many different countries thanks to the savoir faire of the couple. We heartily recommend the place, be it for a day, two or a week.
Òscar and Josefina (Girona, Spain)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscarjosefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Yannick and Jacqueline welcomed us warmly; they were unfailingly friendly, polite, and eager to please throughout our stay. They assisted with any number of things, including helping us create a comfy dog bed for Coby, planning our sightseeing expeditions for the best sights and best times of day (e.g., to avoid the biggest crowds, arrive at Mont St. Michel at or after 4 p.m.), and where to shop for food that was not available in the village, which is too tiny for a supermarket.

The gite was spacious for 2 adults plus a Labrador Retriever (Bill's service dog). It was very nice to have the Table d'Hote available the first evening and first morning we were there (we made reservations in advance) before we had the time to go shopping for provisions. The food served was quite good, much of it from the Chateau's gardens. We especially enjoyed the coffee & tea service after dinner. The diners "retired" to a common room and had a choice of beverage and treat. Very nice! Over the course of the week we were there, we saw the gardens being tended by 3 generations of the family. We also saw the young son playing soccer (football) with his buddies in a nearby field while we played fetch with Coby. We felt very much at home.

We would recommend the Chateau de Mont Dol to anyone looking for a warm reception in a charming location with comfortable appointments.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank olia2bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank plefevre73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-Dol
2.7 mi away
Akena City
Akena City
#1 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tertre
Hotel du Tertre
#1 of 1 in Mont-Dol
80 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,722 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Malouiniere des Longchamps
La Malouiniere des Longchamps
#3 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
169 reviews
12.7 mi away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#15 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Mont-Dol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Mont-Dol

Address: 1 rue de la Mairie, 35120 Mont-Dol, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Mont-Dol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mont-Dol
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of Mont-Dol, classified site in the heart of the Bay of Mont Saint-Michel, Yannick welcomes you in his charming residence of the 19th century. 5 chambres and three holiday gites of great comfort, elegantly decorated in a cosy atmosphere are waiting for you. You will have a spacious lounge with fireplace and library to relax, and a magnificent flowery park in the summer months. This beautiful bourgeois residence is located between the Mont Saint-Michel and the fine sandy beaches of the Emerald Coast, Cancale, Saint-Malo and Dinan. Enjoy your break in Brittany and dinner at the table of the "Jardin des simples" (in the same property) with views over the gardens. After having cooked for personalities in London and Paris, Yannick returned to his native land and prepares you a dinner refined local products and vegetables from his natural garden. Looking forward to luxurious moments of relaxation and promenades... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing