We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, spacious cabin, friendly staff”
Review of Flock Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flock Hill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, spacious cabin, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is a hidden gem in a beautiful location near the Canterbury end of the Great Alpine Highway. Our cabin was spacious and well furnished and cost less for a night than some of our hotel rooms. ( 2 of us had 4 bedrooms to choose from!)The garden setting was beautiful and there was an easy walk up to a view point with a wonderful view of the nearby lake and surrounding mountains. The restaurant was very good and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jofife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed in a self contained cabin at Flock Hill and the accommodation was outstanding. Clean warm and cosy, had everything you need. We arrived hungry and charged to the restaurant which has a bar, pool table and large screen TV which impressed my boys as the Rugby was on...Aust vs NZ so all the guests joined together to watch the game. Great atmostphere. The staff are outstanding, providing service with a smile, and honest up to date snow reports. We will certainly stay here again, its a spectacular place, I cannot recommend it enough. Just book it, you wont be sorry. Good hot breakfast too, fabulous place - go there. Sharee & John White, Sydney Aust.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skifunSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at Flock Hill on our first night in New Zealand, and what a little gem it is. Our accomodation was a two bedroom cabin, which was huge, with a well equipped kitchen and large dining/living room. While the decor was relatively simple, the view out the windows more than made up for it. We had a very tasty dinner and breakfast, and they also packed us a fab packed lunch. This is a perfect place to stay and explore the beuty of Arthurs Pass.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeOfExploration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed here for two nights on our way from the West Coast to Queenstown and are so glad we stopped over. We were in an apartment-style cabin that was clean and spacious, with a nice kitchenette -- nothing fancy, but better than many similar places we've stayed in NZ. We also had a couple of very good meals at the restaurant. What I really love about this place, however, is the setting on a station (ranch) and the miles and miles of surrounding trails for hiking and biking. The lodge itself is also beautifully landscaped around a pond. For photos and details, please see our family blog post http://away-together.com/2010/01/27/cheerio-new-zealand/

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We recently booked out Flock Hill Lodge for the reception and accommodation for our wedding (which was held at Arthur's Pass). The staff were amazing and the food brilliant. Everything was conducted perfectly and with minimal fuss. Even with the last minute changes we had in numbers and meal requests the staff coped admirably. The venue is stunning (particularly in May just after a fresh heavy snowfall) and event our Auckland guests managed to stay warm in the rooms. The rooms aren't upmarket but are comfortable and there is plenty of hot water. The backpackers were warm if basic (but also cheap).
A stunning location with excellent staff. Would recommend for a stop-off or for a function.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We had a one night stay on the first night of a Connections coach tour.

As we were part of a tour we were well looked after. The food, staff, bar prices were all good. The lodge is set in pleasant surroundings.

We slept in one of the bungalows on a shared facilities basis. Small rooms but clean and ok for one night. Ideal for a family.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalverleyRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

There are very few accommodation options on the east side of Arthur’s Pass, and this is one of them. It’s a sheep farm in a fine mountain setting which has diversified by building a number of motel-type units and a backbacker’s dormitory. We spent 3 nights here with another couple, in a cottage unit for six. It had a large living area and a good kitchen, but the bedrooms were very small. Cleaning left something to be desired – there was rubbish under one bed and one quilt cover had a number of stains – although the living area and kitchen were fine. The staff were friendly, and were happy to arrange or suggest a number of activities.

Flock Hill has a restaurant, which is pretty essential as the nearest shop is 40 km away, but you do need to book a meal in advance. We arrived at 19.30 on the first day to find the restaurant had stopped serving at 19.00, but to her credit the French Canadian girl who was their current cook willingly set to and produced a meal for us. It was good, though we suspect the quality of the food will depend heavily on who they happen to have as their cook at the time. Not surprisingly, the choice of food was limited. Self catering would be difficult because of the absence of any nearby shops, but the restaurant can provide breakfast and some essential supplies.

It’s in a good area for walking (and for winter, it’s close to the ski slopes). Overall, whilst the accommodation was not outstanding, it was acceptable, and indeed we suspect it may well be rather better than anything available at Arthur’s Pass itself. It was also very reasonably priced, at $160 a night for the four of us.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, bedroom size
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank P_and_T_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
15.7 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
186 reviews
16.5 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
250 reviews
16.9 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
66 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ashley Gorge Holiday Park
16.1 mi away
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Springfield Motel & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Springfield
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flock Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flock Hill Lodge

Property: Flock Hill Lodge
Address: Great Alpine Highway | Craigieburn Valley, Cass, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Cass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flock Hill Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing