We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay.”
Review of Flock Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flock Hill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Opua, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just a couple of hours drive from Christchurch the lodge is situated among stunning surroundings. On arrival, check in at the restaurant. We were in cabin #3. The comfortable living room overlooked the pond and the mountains. The four bedrooms could sleep 10. Very spacious for the two of us!

We ate in the restaurant. The lamb was from their own stock, and you could taste the freshness. The wines were also excellent.

It is highly recommended that you take the seven minute walk up to ‘the Knoll’ for wonderful views over the hill station and the lake. The track starts just to the left of the tumbled down wooden building. If you like peace, beauty, and nature this location is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed 1 night enroute to Franz Josef, our room is a double room in backpackers lodge which is seperated from the cottages. Its consists of about 10 rooms , 4 bathroms and a kitchen and were the only one staying that night.
The room very simple , just 2 single beds and heater. The thin wooden structure makes the room freezing cold at night and for the first time i need to use the heater and to get to the kitchen you need to walk outdoor which is freezing in the early morning.
Its about 2 1/2 hours drive from Christchurch and 20 minutes from cave stream so its make an idea place to break your long journey the the west while enjoying the environment staying virtually in the middle of nowhere. We enjoyed our stayed here despite being cold, we walked through the resort seeing animals and the wondeful scenery and with the moon the only campanion in the night.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner room, it will be freezing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

we stayed in one of the cottages for a long weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. the cottage was clean, and had everything we needed for cooking. Although one night we did eat in the restaurant, which was also very nice.
I couldn't fault anything about the place or service. Will definitely go back! :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Rooms very comfortable,warm and well -equipped. Fabulous meals and a stunning setting. Real country hospitality and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel-Ware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Travelling with 2 adults and 3 kids we needed one nights last minute accommodation en route from the West Coast to Christchurch. The lodge exceeded our expectations. We had a 4 bedroom cottage, which was perfect for us, opening up onto a gorgeous garden & pond area. Nothing flash decor wise but clean and warm. The food in the lodge restaurant was better than any other we had had on our week long trip and the service was warm and friendly. Would definitely stay there again, particularly when traveling with kids.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank montfordfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The grounds are really gorgeous and our two bed unit was clean and sizeable. The patio doors opened out onto lovely garden area with a trout pool in it. They have a restaurant that looks out onto the gardens. They serve a limited selection of good food.

Only note worthy shortcoming here was our bathroom. . Bathroom was disabled friendly (and as laudable as that is) it results in an unavoidable post shower wet floor over most of the bathroom. Having a perpetual cold wet floor (unless you are prepared to mop the floor after every shower) is not very nice.

The bathroom problem wasn't serious enough to stop us really enjoying this lovely place. Maybe a better design that works for everyone could be found?

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a non disabled friendly bathroom
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank talk2mrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed for one brief night at this lodge in a spacious 2 bedroom cottage/cabin. The views from the lodge, particularly from up the knoll, are spectacular overlooking the lake towards Arthurs Pass. We wished we'd had more time to do some walks round the area and see the goings-on at the working station, sheep shearing etc.

The cabin itself was functional and fairly well equipped. The staff pleasant and efficient. Quite a cosy bar area and restaurant which we didn't have time to try.

$183 for the night seemed good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlespBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
16.5 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
253 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
186 reviews
23.5 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Springfield Motel & Lodge
#1 of 3 in Springfield
61 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ashley Gorge Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flock Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flock Hill Lodge

Property: Flock Hill Lodge
Address: Great Alpine Highway | Craigieburn Valley, Cass, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Cass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flock Hill Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing