We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Guangzhou
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you like tranquility, beautiful scenery, relaxation, good food and perfect service is Hof Gorei the place.
Best resort ever for me and I have been many places. Are you for party and nightlife is not the place for you.
You live pretty much in the middle of an unspoiled jungle with the charm that comes with, in the form of some little ant here and there.
I have seen some negative comments about ants in the bathroom and yes if you're a 5 star city hotel type brat, and like everything is sprayed off with various chemicals you have to think twice before you book a holiday here.
Unfortunately, we had only 3 days and could easily spend another week in this paradise.
Thanks to our personal butler Moman who was always very close to service us.
We will be back....

Room Tip: Hmmm, I personally would not choose a room 250 steps up the mountain. Of course depends on your phy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klausinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    24
    7
    10
See reviews for
20
81
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iligan, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The place is nice and perfect for couples who want to spend time relaxing with themselves. Beach with white sand is adorable, you can have your dinner or breakfast set at the beach for a romantic experience. Rooms are big and clean with a private veranda. Personal butler that is a bell away, you don’t have to worry whose gonna take your pictures. Foods are deliciously cooked; I specially love the Tinolang Manok. Love Love Love the place.

But please note that wifi is only available at the wharf area, even if you have your own broadband, there is no 3G service in your rooms. Signals are only available on the wharf. This might be a problem for freelancers like me. Prices are usually x3 but I think it’s reasonable because they get there supplies from Davao City.

If you are getting the 3d2n package with free Island Hopping, take note the foods is not included, you have to pay for it. If I would have known I have to pay almost 1K for the food, I should have ate more or ordered the ones I would like to have.

Other than the that, It was fun to be here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The best place to relax, quit, and nice view.Personal butler is a unique way of giving a good customer service.Round hut room is the best room with a beach view, staying in your private veranda at midnight with a coffee and a good companion my husband while hearing the background sound of trees and sound of the bird..for me its very romantic.Room is clean but but the only downside is having a small comfort room and shower room with very slow pressure of water..its like waiting to finish my shower the whole day..but then for me its acceptable because of many good reason to stay.One day is not good enough..hope to come back again maybe a bit longer.

Room Tip: round hut room 2 is the best to stay with clear view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hof Gorei is a wonderful resort, fully comparable in quality to much more expensive resorts on Samal Island. Our beachfront bungalow was cute and clean, the food was incredible, and the service was impeccable. Our personal butler, Erven, went the extra mile to make our experience an unforgettable one. For my fiancee's birthday, he arranged a candlelit dinner on the beach, and ordered a cake to be delivered from the mainland! Truly a wonderful experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a place to relax then there is no place like this resort, it is tranquil, quite and most of all clean! The helpful staff makes it perfect! I had fun and would certainly go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank didi-chard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

we are family of 8 and we stayed in 3 different rooms.

Bungalow- my husband and i stayed here. the room has awesome native furnishings.

guest house- my sisters stayed their, one room is big and the other one is smaller.

round hut- this is my favorite room. it is situated uphill with a fantastic view of the beach, this one is uniquely made and design, I just love it.

one of its kind in Davao with own butler service. ours butlers were rizza, and i forgot the two who treated as well.

The owner madame April is very hospitable and accomodating. She also pick us up at the wharf.

the place is lushed with plants, trees and flowers. animals are wandering around like goat and goose, they have caged snake, and a pond. Clean pool and a bar. no restaurAnt yet but they will have one in the future according to staff.

If you love a peace and quiet, and appreciate nature. This place is for you! no night life here.

suggestions for improvement:
gameroom
restaurant (options for guest)


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aqua16_itravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hof Gorei Resort is a truly amazing place. Ideal for couples, or for people who like peace and quiet. The IDEAL place for a honeymoon, with comfortable rooms and excellent service. It is not ideal for children or for folks who want lots of bars with loud music... I'd call it a touch of paradise! The food is FANTASTIC... There is an excellent swimming pool that is VERY well maintained, and a beautiful tropical garden complete with a duck pond. It is the ideal place to relax. I certainly hope to return there sooner rather than later. Visiting Hof Gorei was a wonderful experience for me. It is simply brilliant!

Room Tip: Go for a bungalow near the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrVjWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samal Island hotels
8.2 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 8 in Samal Island
106 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
0.9 mi away
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Samal Island
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Samal Island
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vida Orchard Samal
La Vida Orchard Samal
#2 of 14 in Samal Island
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof Gorei Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof Gorei Beach Resort

Property: Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Address: Adecor, Kaputian, Samal Island, Mindanao 8120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hof Gorei Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gof Gorei Beach Resort is a boutique style resort nestled upon a coral jewel set amidst in Samal Islands sparkling turquoise water. Calmly and idyllic, the resort is a perfect hideaway for those who seek both relaxation and discovery where possibilities are blissful, endearing and endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hof Gorei Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hof Gorei Beach Hotel Samal Island
Hof Gorei Beach Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing