We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location somewhat overprized”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Samal Island
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unique location somewhat overprized”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in this resort in 2011 but could not fill that in so i choose june 2012 instead. I must agree with some of the comments that it is somewhat overprized really. The location and state of the property is really nice though and so is the courteousness of the personnell. The most unique experience is offered in the round huts made of native materials but still provided with all the modern luxuries like aircon and if i remember well even a tele and a small fridge.

One drawback of staying in this place is that you are completely depending on the services of the hotel, that is, also for dinners or lunches. Reason is there is simply no place to go or to walk unless you would somehow arrange to take a boat or crawl through the bushes to another part of the island. The food is average and adds up again to the already relatively high price.The beach is a bit untidy in my memory and, certainly in the context of the price, could be arranged and fixed a lot better.
That having said it is still a nice location, with beautiful flowers all over the property. You can encounter a goose couple during your walk or sit at the poolside.
Transport to and from Davao is provided and inclusive in the booking.

Room Tip: The round hut offers the most unique experience but is still heavily overprized in my humble opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    24
    7
    10
See reviews for
20
81
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The resort is very quiet and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the serenity! The butler Ging Ging catered to our every need and was a delight to talk to. The food was excellent! Fresh and Very Reasonable for the quality and portions! When you are here you wouldn't even know the resort had any other guests. We swam in the beautiful pool every day and there was only one time another group was in the pool. At high tide the water is fine to walk in right off of the beach. A few rocks here and there, but not a problem at all! The beach dinner was the highlight! Some complaints here about a lack of a restaurant....Why do you need one! You get served anywhere you want on the property! We had a Hillside Hut and LOVED IT! The walk up the steps was not a problem. Good exercise! We cannot wait to return! Thank You Ging Ging and Miss April! Miss April - Thanks for the ride and Apo View Hotel, we had a blast!! Dave and Angie!!

Room Tip: Hill Side Hut is very quiet and overlooks the resort!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveL578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We didn't get the value for money spent in this resort. They have a rocky beach that no one dare to swin, they don't have a lifeguard too. The food is really expensive more than double compare to others. Animals (cats,chicken, ducks, goose and turkeys) roam the resort whole day. I regret having a vacation in this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rodelrudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

what can i say,i found the resort amazing and relaxing,i could not fault it,its butler service is an original concept,very helpful and friendly service,thank you "thang"(our butler),she was so helpful,friendly and patient,we stayed in the beach chalet which was very clean and comfortable.The food was fabulous and had a great choice on menu.generally the whole experience was great and am definatley going back,and would recommend it to anyone.thank you HOF!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaffrososana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The resort is about an hour by boat from the city wharf.The resort facilities are fine. It's just that you are stuck in the resort when you are there coz the resort is the only place you can see. The other resorts are far from each other unlike other places where resorts are near each other. There is no restaurant, just a bar, so you always have to order a room service and of course they will charge you for the room service.

Room Tip: The room we stayed is a family room for 4 which is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 5 days over the New Year, we liked the ambiance of the place, easy access to the beach, we had a good time snorkeling in the clear blue sea. Beware of the hidden charges, no restaurant, all room service only and you have to pay the 10% service charge. Our room attendant was not helpful and not forthcoming, we had to talk to the owner who replaced the room attendant with someone who knew how to deal with the guests at the resort. The food was bad and I would not go back there again. You're better off going to Pearl Farm and paying a bit extra for the excellent facilities there.

Room Tip: Go for the beach front rooms otherwise you've got a long walk uphill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Els N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Its a wonderful relaxing place to be. The stuff is wonderful, you have your personal butler. The garden is amazing, explore the plants and animals ... and dinner on the beach very romantic. The german/english speaking owner April helps in every way. Nice pool, very good restaurant ... The Hillside Round Hut is very nice, just have to walk some steps up on the hill. Enjoyed the stay!

Room Tip: The Hillside Round Huts are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckyPirat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samal Island hotels
8.2 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 7 in Samal Island
104 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
0.9 mi away
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Samal Island
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Samal Island
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vida Orchard Samal
La Vida Orchard Samal
#2 of 14 in Samal Island
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof Gorei Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof Gorei Beach Resort

Property: Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Address: Adecor, Kaputian, Samal Island, Mindanao 8120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hof Gorei Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gof Gorei Beach Resort is a boutique style resort nestled upon a coral jewel set amidst in Samal Islands sparkling turquoise water. Calmly and idyllic, the resort is a perfect hideaway for those who seek both relaxation and discovery where possibilities are blissful, endearing and endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hof Gorei Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hof Gorei Beach Hotel Samal Island
Hof Gorei Beach Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing