We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Place, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island French Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island French Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Samal Island B&B and Inns
Davao City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint Place, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

For those looking for something a little less mainstream and private, I'd recommend this place. Not too expensive, and the service, the food, and the amenities are hands-down a..ma..zing. Rooms are so clean, you wouldn't mind walking barefoot in them.

Will definitely recommend this to couples looking for a place to shack up and cuddle for the weekend, or families who would like to have a great time in Samal, minus the huge crowds you can usually find in more popular resorts like Paradise Island, or Pearl farm.

Room Tip: * Don't bring a sedan. The road to IFR is steep and bumpy. * If you're with your family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the resort only for a day but I love every minute of it. They gave me a free boat trip to the vanishing island which is less than 10minutes away from the resort. Every staff of the resort are all attentive to my needs. They're courteous & very pleasant. The owner also made me feel welcome. The beach front was cluttered with seaweeds though which made it not suitable for swimming but it's still great because the resort has swimming pools which I took advantage of. I'll definitely go back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank nyle_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I hope it's not too late in writing this review for those planning to go to Samal Island, Davao.

We had an overnight stay here at Island French Resort on October 17, 2013 check-out date October 18 with two of my travel buddies. I would say that I should be thankful to a Hotel Booking site for I was able to find this beautiful place.

Location wise, for me it's not bad being 45 minutes to an hour away from the city of Davao (it depends on the volume of traffic though). We rode a cab going to the Port for a 10-15 minute Ferry ride and from there we were fetch by hotel crew via single motor (habal) for free. The resort is about 20
-35 minutes away from the port and the ride, indeed was totally cool!

The Hotel is owned by couples Ms. Sonia (Filipina) and sir Jacque (French). This is a private type resort and since it is new, currently, they only have 6 rooms and as what was told by nanay Fe (a friendly staff), the couple are planning to expand the resort in the nearer future.

It was superb! My friends and I were very happy because we've made a right choice. We've maximized our time during our stay; the Hotel/Resort is close to Monfort Bat Sanctuary and approximately 45 mins to Hagimit Falls. It is also conveniently located to other local store as well as Market.

The hotel staffs and the owner of the hotel itself was very friendly and accommodating. Infact, sir Jacque, personally took photos for us upon arrival. A welcome drinks was served.

Nanay Fe showed us our room that was very impressive even if it was small. Two super comfy single bed with soft linens and comforter. It has complete room amenities such as 3 towels (for each person), shampoo, soap and bottled water. They have nice interior design and the white paint on the wall made each room looks more elegant and clean. There's a Balcony outside the room and as you walk away, you'll see the beach. Perfect time to go there when sun is about to set while playing with Genius the friendly dog. They also have few birds at the main entrance and a free tour at Vanishing Island

I sure will 100% recommend this to those people who wanted to find sometime to just sit back, relax and forget about the busy life in Manila.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DhonaTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
924 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Island French Resort,

Very small resort which is situated approx 20 minute trike ride from port, The resort consists of 7 guest huts which are finished to a high standard, ( some huts are still under construction), a restaurant and two small pools one aimed at kids and one for adults.
Photos in the advertisement show sandy beach which in reality does exist but in reality is about 15 metres wide and a couple of metres of sand which disappears with the tide. This little section of beach would be ok if not for concrete and wire fence separating it from neighbouring properties which reminds you of a prison . And when looking beyond tis fence see neighbouring properties have large areas of pristine sandy beaches showing regardless of tide and but is just out of reach beyond the fence.

Activities and facilities at the resort are minimal, they offer kayak rental at. 150 Php for 2 hours or 500php for half day. Whilst snorkelling was available at 750php per person. The other activity is a trip to the vanishing island.
The vanishing island is a sand bank with no facilities but suitable for swimming, sunbathing etc when the tide is out and the island is accessible. However the staff seem to be unable to advise when tides would be suitable, even suggesting that we go when the tide is in and we would be standing chest deep in the water! We were told 2.30pm. But tide was fully in meaning no island at all.
No other set tours /trips are offered through the resort. We enquired about bat caves and waterfalls on the island, and a minivan was arranged.


The good points:

Rooms at the resort are finished to a high standard with queen bed and separate ensuite toilet and shower which is a big plus.

Breakfast is excellent and included in the room rate.
Other meals in the restaurant can be selected from a minimal menu, meals are tasty and well presented.

Staff are helpful and friendly.


The bad points:

No internet at all ! In this day and age most customers would expect some form of basic internet service.

Beach
What beach there is, is very small with imposing fencing separating it from neighbouring and much nicer beaches. Beach is often used as place to dry laundry, though to be fair, Was not certain if this belonged to guests staying in other rooms.


Limited activities available. Ie: only the trip to vanishing island offered, no advertised trips to the islands other attractions such as bat caves or waterfalls. Would be good if hotel could offer set tours to these places with published prices.

When enquiring about getting to the waterfalls. Was quoted 1200 for a minivan, the next day this price had strangely reduced to 800php ( maybe foreigner surcharge as is common in the Philippines).

The property next door has daily karaoke sessions so does not provide for quiet intimate mealtimes.

Stayed 3 days at the Island French resort and most of this time was in bed as suffering from an allergy (which started before arrival). However when feeling well enough, found very little to do. This place is ok if you want to catch up with a good book, or a few days cut off from civilization without internet access but not if you want to explore new places and visit local sights.


Overall I would visit Samal again to give the island a fair report, however I would not stay at the Island French resort again, and would have difficulty in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank saf7670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samal Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 7 in Samal Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
0.0 mi away
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Samal Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Samal Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Vida Orchard Samal
La Vida Orchard Samal
#2 of 14 in Samal Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Samal Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island French Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island French Resort

Property: Island French Resort
Address: Island French Resort Baybay Tambo | Babak District, Mindanao 8119, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Samal Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel decorated in French, with two pools, one for children, one for adults, an international cuisine restaurant, Philippines and French specialties. Bungalows for two to 6 people with air conditioning, 4 bedrooms including a master suite near the pool, television, shower (hot and cold water) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island French Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing