We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Certificate of Excellence
NSW, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Its paradise”
Reviewed January 29, 2009

I loved this place the moment we got off the boat.

We had one of those rooms right by the ocean and it was wonderful to step into your balcoony which is immersed in water.

The rooms are basic but comfortable. All meals were included and value for money is excellent. Quality of food was great. They had a new menu and theme each night with entertainment. Happy hour gives great value for drinks while watching the sun go down

Water activities were fun. I tried scuba diving for the first time here and the folks were paitent to take you through the trial session in the pool and then take you for a 45 minute dive. All for USD. Great value, suberb experience.

I also had 4 spa treatments. The ladies were professional, took their time and give a mean massage! Just what the soul needed.

I would most certainly go back there.

  • Liked — The views and value for money
  • Disliked — Did not like the ammenities provided
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Portia1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    254
    69
    32
    21
See reviews for
271
262
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

I had a good time at Pearl Farm all in all. We came down from Manila for a few days and headed to the resort after one night in Davao City.

Incidentally, aside from seeing two guys get tragically murdered- shot in the head- Davao City was interesting and worth a stop, but I wish we'd stayed in the Marco Polo Hotel- just next to the cool downtown covered craft/shell market. Instead we stayed in some dowdy casino hotel.

Arriving by boat at Pearl Farm I was surprised to see that the resort had a good sized shanty village/town next to it. To be honest once you are in the resort you aren't really aware of it and I didn't see sewage or anything in the water. Still, it must be there and you kind of imagine the hotel is in splendid isolation - but that clearly isn't the case.

We had one of the three storey houses on the water- front looking out over the clear water. The accommodation was really nice and I'm glad we changed from the pokey water front one-room cottage that we were originally booked into. The upgrade was def worth the extra money.

The hotel also has a smaller island just offshore, which the speed boat goes back and forth between. The beach and swimming is nicer over there (including an anchored raft offshore) and they have larger cottages on stilts over the water if you are a larger group. Just check to make sure there isn't a Wedding when you are there as they monopolize the entire nicest beach area. If you go over to the smaller island walk on the old concrete jetty and your eyes will become accustomed to the seabed, upon which you'll notice scores of giant clams.

The bar above the jetty on the main resort is kind of cool, built up above the ground.

Good security, with armed guards.

Downsides

Food is either ok, verging on good, or hit and miss.

Tacky cultural show that you MUST sit through before being "allowed to eat" dinner- Five Star Resorts are about discretion and opting into such things if you want them. They should hold it somewhere else other than the main dining room. If you go to be seated after the "culture show" then you will probably not get a decent table. The show seemed more to the benefit of the participants who were giggling and laughing among themselves. Cute but not worthy of a mandatory supposedly 5* experience. Added no value to the "Pearl farm" experience- only detracted.

Pool water was a little bit cloudy.

Service was hit or miss- inconsistent

I recently had a widely travelled friend with a penchant for luxury hotels come back from Pearl Farm who was very disappointed.

I didn't do any of the dives there but some other guests really enjoyed them, especially some old WWII Japanese ships.

Management are greedy allowing too many day-trippers who crowd the resorts dining area.

Every time new people arrive or leave there is a very loud, giant xylophone which is played and reverberates around the whole resort. Thinking of dozing until you naturally wake-up?? Thank again!!

  • Liked — The 3 storey houses are architecturally pretty cool and fun for a stay. The sea life.
  • Disliked — Overcrowding day-trippers, Weddings crowding the island, too much NOISE!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank britinnyc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

I have booked the Pearl Farm Davao for a romantic getaway and as well as a birthday getaway for myself and my fiance. It is his first time in Davao, thus a resort will be perfect for our trip.

The stay was lovely, got a room on the hillside, though there are mosquitoes and a rustic shower room but overall the room was nice and clean. We had a quick swim at the pool before our buffet dinner. The food was really nice, i still misses the food every now and then. After the food, we had a relaxing night at the Parola, drinking cocktails. The staffs are very hospitable and helpful.

I would definitely come back again!

  • Liked — The Pool and Parola
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Love_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2008

Well, I have to say that this is really one nice resort! The pictures on their website don't even do it justice. It looks even better in person. We stayed here in one of the Samal Rooms at the Pearl Farm Resort for 3 nights for our honeymoon in late November 2008. The rooms overlook the water. I looked at many places in the Philippines to have our honeymoon but this was one of the most romantic resort I could find in the Philippines without spending hundreds of dollars per night. We just had our wedding in Cebu but wanted to go somewhere different for our honeymoon.

The room was fantastic! The service was excellent. The food was not always up to my taste but then again I am not that fond of seafood ...which is not a good situation if you are located on a small island! Otherwise, it was a top notch resort and up to the standards of any resort anywhere else in the world.

We paid $115 a night for our room overlooking the water. It included a full buffet breakfast every morning plus free airport transfer plus free boat transfer to the island (it takes approx. 25 mins to get to the island from Davao City). I found this deal on [-].

The same type of accommodation in Palawan will net you 4 times that price! It is a great deal!

This is perfect place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

This is my 1st time to travel to this province and this resort. Pearl Farm is so lovely and so romantic =)

We we're there during off peak so the price is quite affordable including buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is great and my hubby loves it.

It's a resort on it's own island and the samal houses are super great as in it's standing on the water. I love our balcony as the sun shines through your room and you can see all the fishes there =)

our experience is really splendid even for a night =)

  • Liked — serene beach
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexme18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

I, my wife & our 6 yr. old stayed here last August 2007. We chose the Samal houses which made our stay memorable. We got to see the fabulous marine life just outside our room. It would have been better if they installed little glass floors just like in the BORA BORA resorts...:-) We asked stale bread from the resto & brought it back to our room, then fed the fishes right outside our veranda. Our kid enjoyed it a lot...
As for the beach, we didn't liked it that much. We even went to Malipano Island to see if the beach there was better but got dissappointed. Better to use the infinity pool, you get to relax & enjoy the view of the sea....very near the dining area :-)
One minor drawback. I was surprised to see one of the cleaning staff suddenly enter the veranda in the middle of the night with no apparent reason. He suddenly went away when he realized that I saw him...Anyway, For me a 3d2n stay in these resort was appropriate.

  • Liked — The Samal House
  • Disliked — the beach
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Passion4Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Having read the reviews on this site I had decided to take a few days relaxation in this resort while on a business trip to The Philippines. Flew down to Davao and was met by the resort representative who took me to the ferry check in terminal to the resort. So far so good. The greeting at the resort jetty was somewhat mechanical and formulaic and I was taken to my hillside room. My bags were dropped off without me being familiarised with the room. Mmmm - what follows will surprise the readers of this review given the favourable promotion this hotel has received hitherto. On opening the toilet seat lid to use the toilet I was greeted with a pile of cigarette ash in the toilet bowl. There was also a dirty ashtray on top of the cistern. I had requested a non smoking room but surely even a smoker would nave been taken aback at this. The rest of the bathroom had not been cleaned with body hair in the shower cubicle and old cobwebs on the ceiling . I then went to unpack my bag and found that the cupboard shelves were in a filthy state so I cleaned these myself before storing my clothes. Upon leaving the room the door lock would not function properly. The descent down to the restaurant(I was starving and had nothing to eat all day) was very poorly lit and even I as a fit individual had trouble negotiating my way. On entering the restaurant I was about to take a seat at one of the vacant tables when a waitress asked me if I had "made a reservation" (yes - you could not make this up if you tried.) I flipped. I have travelled extensively around the world but cannot remember being treated like this at a so called 5 star resort ever before. I went to the front office and demanded to see the manager; I had no intention of taking out my anger at the Filipino guy at the desk. The assistant Spanish manager eventually came(manager was off duty) and I stated in no uncertain words what I felt about his resort. I had booked in for 4 nights but demanded to be put on the next boat back to Davao the following morning which I was. For those North Americans and Europeans reading this review you should be aware that The Philippines hotel resort network is not as polished or professionally run as other countries in Asia with the exception of a handful of international hotels in Manila. However this was my 9th visit to the Philippines and what the Filipinos lack in infrastructure and training more than make up for in their charming hospitality and sense of humour - alas I lost mine at Pearl Farm Beach Resort.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — abominable service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 110209a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samal Island
7.5 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 8 in Samal Island
106 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
9.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
892 reviews
9.9 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Samal Island
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Farm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Farm Beach Resort

Property: Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Address: Brgy Adecor | Kaputian, Mindanao 8119, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pearl Farm Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the serene west coast of the Island Garden City of Samal, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is a haven that encompasses 23 hectares of solitary refinement away from typhoons. It welcomes guests with dominating vistas over Philippines' largest city and highest peak - Davao Gulf and Mount Apo respectively. It finds life in panoramic, exotic islands with coastlines adorned with white sand, mangrove forestry, and rock formations. The photogenic breadth is Mother Nature's sanctuary of luscious, equatorial forest inhabited by native greens, giant ferns, multihued flowers, and unrivaled wildlife. Pearl Farm Beach Resort embraces you with unparalleled Mindanaoan hospitality and architecture. It boasts on Mindanaoan motifs, epitomized in our signature Maranao okir-a-bai. Sophisticatedly designed, our rooms and facilities have become modern-day shrines of tradition that forged from all-natural and tropical materials that perfectly blend with the greeneries. Offering you with inimitable leisure are the resort's maiden beaches and cerulean pools. Down to your tummies, you will delight in the savory fusion of international and Filipino cuisines and drinks. Fun-seekers will meet a wave of enjoyment from a range of games and aqua sports. For total rejuvenation, Ylang-Ylang Spa is for your indulgement. The neighboring Malipano Island is a 7-hectare clandestine hideaway. It cradles the quintessence of grandeur and abode, the Malipano Villas. Discover gaiety among its palm garden and pristine beaches that create the paramount beach wedding experience the resort is notable for. The resort is owned by the Floirendo family. and managed by the Anflo Group of Companies which helms other well-known companies: TADECO, Davao International Container Terminal, Davao Packaging Corporation, Damosa Land Inc., and Nestfarms. Instilled in Pearl Farm Beach Resort's mission is the upliftment and promotion of the culture, arts, and skills of Mindanao. To be one with our cultural roots demonstrated in architecture, food, products, and People - we find lifeblood in this advocacy. Truly the jewel of the south, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is where you can revel in tropical pleasures, relish life's flavors, and feast on nature's bounties. -- Notice of Renovation (2015 June 27): Dear our Valued Guest, As part of our continuous endeavor in providing you with cardinal Mindanaoan service, we are pleased to announce that we will be upgrading our Samal Houses. Please be informed that the resort is undergoing Samal House renovations until further notice. With this, we apologize for any inconvenience that this will cause during your stay. Rest assured that we will do our best to conduct the renovation with the most minimal noise. Should you have further inquiries, please feel free to call our Davao Sales Office and Manila Sales Office. We greatly appreciate your kind consideration. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl Farm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Farm Beach Hotel Samal Island
Pearl Farm Beach Davao
Pearl Farm Davao
Pearl Farm Beach Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing