We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Davao!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Samal Island
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Davao!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We went on a day tour with them. Everything went very smoothly. I love this place. Definitely my favorite place in Davao. The water is crystal clear. They have a boutique and a huge restaurant. The lounge chairs near the beach are equipped with electrical sockets (hooray!) and the wifi is really fast too. You can island hop when you go to Pearl Farm but my wife and I opted to stay in one spot and drink cocktails the whole day. Allocate at least a full day with them. The tour will start at 8am and the ferry will take you back to the city at 4pm. Ask one of the wait staff to serve you your drinks outside the restaurant. They'd be happy to do that for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleth Kae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFBRGenManager, General Manager at Pearl Farm Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Mabuhay!

To be labeled as your favorite place in Davao is very fullfilling and heartwarming to the resort’s management and staff. Indeed we have crystal clear beach which we are proud of. You may check on your next visit our new airconditioned shower and locker room areas which will offer the highest level of comfort and convenience, especially for our day tour guests, this new facility will be fully operational by early June this year. Pampering our guests is the only way we go!

Thanks again for coming to our little paradise and for your great review. We all look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,
Josu Mikel Villaverde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    254
    69
    32
    21
See reviews for
268
256
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
158 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a great and Excellent stay in this fantastic resort.

Overall experience was great starting from arrival up to departure.

Room facilities and amenities are up to international standards. What you need are all there.

Only thing a bit uncomfortable in the shower room area is that -there are no provisions to place the soap and shampoo. You will just end up dropping it in the floor..

Recreational facilities such as the water sports, white sand beach and the swimming pool are excellent.

Restaurant
Buffet meal selections are adequate though this could still be improved.

Menu selection is just adequate but the chef should be more creative in adding more local food choices.

We had the ala cart menu since we only want to order what we want to eat. We were already sick and tire of buffet since you have to eat as much as you could to compensate value of money.

"Catch of the day menu" This item should be made always available since this is classified as good high end holiday resort and definitely guests are willing and able to pay the price. Only available are frozen seafood?and this is rather a "turn off"


SPA
We availed of the massage and manicure/pedicure. Facilities and staff services are excellent.

Despite some personal observation and opinion in the area for a improve or innovation, our experience was still the best compared to our previous stayed resorts.

We will definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUTCH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFBRGenManager, General Manager at Pearl Farm Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
It is with much appreciation that we met your expectations. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
Your suggestions to improve our service in the restaurant and some areas are well noted, due to the delays on the renovation works we were not able to implement all changes yet, however as days come we are coming up with the implementation schedule, new and exciting innovations are churning out from the pipeline.

Thanks again for the valuable feedbacks. It was a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward in welcoming you soon again.


Truely yours,
Josu Mikel Villaverde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time to visit Davao and a stay at this well-known beach resort was a "must-do" for my friend and I. We stayed in Samal house #16. The room was comfortable with a queen size bed. The tv was too small though, and you can't get wifi in the room. Wifi can be availed of in the common areas, like the dining hall and the parola. We went over to Malipano island to enjoy the beach. Tired of swimming in salt water, we went back to Samal island to take a dip in their infinity pool and we had the pool all to ourselves. Dinner buffet was kinda pricey and I wasn't in the mood to stuff myself, so I just ordered a burger; it was big, juicy and good! The staff was friendly and attentive. Pearl farm might not be an actual farm anymore but it's still a gem!

If you want to be nearer the pool and dining hall, get Samal house 1-5. If you want utmost luxury, book a Malipano villa.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Regi_grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFBRGenManager, General Manager at Pearl Farm Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are so pleased to read your beautiful review, the fact that you describe our resort like a gem and felt overall satisfied with your stay. Iam sharing your lines with all the pearl farm family and by doing so we felt motivated to render the highest level of service to our guests.

We have also taken note of your comments and as a matter of fact we are currently replacing small televisions placed in some of the rooms for a 32” or 40” flat screen depending of the room type. We are likewise taking action on the wifi issue and currently assessing the challenging orographic terrain with our supplier to boost and strenghen signal all thruout.

It has been a pleasure having you at Pearl Farm Beach Resort and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Josu Mikel Villaverde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Been here twice and it has never lost is charm.
The first time we stayed at the Samal House and the recent one at the Malipano Villa.

If you want privacy and experience staying in a private island, stay in one of the Malipano Villas. Malipano island has its own private beach, a mini golf course and a restaurant/bar which is only open in high occupancy.

Rooms - Spacious, intricate & authentic Philippine ornaments, beds are comfortable
Had no insect bites in 2 stays here

Service - Hourly speed boat transfer from Malipano to Samal islands
Buggy service in touring the resort (Samal)
In-room/villa service is average

Food - excellent

Watersports - very accomodating
snorkelling tours to the house reefs and the giant clams are a must

Beach - 2 at Samal island
very long stretch at Malipano, open to all guests
Lots of fish

Pools - Main Infinity Pool
1 other pool

I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: On Weekends the Dinner Buffet includes a Philippine Traditional Dance Show. If on a budget, Samal H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcgmd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las PiñAS
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Too pricey! Except for the food which was delicious, there was nothing more to be desired. Cottages looks worn out from the outside due to wear and tear. Only 1 shower is available to day trippers - and this is in the open. The beach failed in comparison to the beaches in El Nido, Palawan and even to the highly commercialized Boracay. Staff were approachable though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balandat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFBRGenManager, General Manager at Pearl Farm Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Ma'am,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review appraising both the food and the staff. It is nice to see that our day trippers enjoy a beautiful day at our resort.

We take note of your concern about the shower and we can proudly announce that our shower and locker area facility shall be completed early June.

With regards to other destinations it is true that our beautiful philippine islands offer unending travel possibilities for all kinds of budgets, and so we feel so proud of being one of them.

We are equally proud of being one of the few resorts in the country using wood and bamboo, in our buildings and cottages, we avoid chemicals as much as possible but we can assure you that our cottages are very well maintained. We do not varnish the bamboo of our roofings to keep it natural.

We hope one day you could spend one or a couple of nights with us at pearl farm beach resort.

This is our mail for anything you might need from us.....cheers!


Thanks
Mikel Villaverde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I believe that this is not an overrated resort. It may seem pricey but the facilities and everything about Pearl Farm is just the best there is. There are several things to like about the resort - the luxurious pools, fine beaches, really really good food at their restaurant, and the warm welcome by the staff.

Classy and luxurious, this resort is. There's exclusivity and privacy in every aspect. The Malipano villas are just amazing. The view, the rooms, the feel of just being alone with people you love. I believe that Pearl Farm has one of the best stretches of fine white sand in Samal Island. The clear waters are definitely a go-sign for water activities.

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Pricey for a 0 star resort.arrival at the marina,reception and boat transfers are terrible.housekeeping staff are really annoying.dining staff are rude.beach at the resort is just a small and not a sand but gravel

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank dsomido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PFBRGenManager, General Manager at Pearl Farm Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Sir,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your stay with your partner and for taking the time to post your review. It is through comments such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

It would be great if you could provide further details which can explain why your experience was so disappointing and hence be useful information to help us improving our services.

We may correct you on your comment pertaining the gravel since we believe that what you really saw is a mix of corals/pebbles caused by natural erosion of the seas, corals are treasures of nature which we can not simply dispose.

It is with sincere regret that your experience was not meaningful, please accept our sincere apology for the disappointments caused to you.

We all look forward to the pleasure of having you back with us at Pearl Farm Beach Resort. In the meantime and as mentioned above, and if I can be of any assistance, you can email me through msmelorin@anflocor.com.


Sincerely,
Mae Ann S. Melorin
Executive Asst. to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samal Island
7.5 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 7 in Samal Island
104 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
9.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
875 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Samal Island
144 reviews
7.9 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Farm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Farm Beach Resort

Property: Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Address: Brgy Adecor | Kaputian, Mindanao 8119, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pearl Farm Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the serene west coast of the Island Garden City of Samal, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is a haven that encompasses 23 hectares of solitary refinement away from typhoons. It welcomes guests with dominating vistas over Philippines' largest city and highest peak - Davao Gulf and Mount Apo respectively. It finds life in panoramic, exotic islands with coastlines adorned with white sand, mangrove forestry, and rock formations. The photogenic breadth is Mother Nature's sanctuary of luscious, equatorial forest inhabited by native greens, giant ferns, multihued flowers, and unrivaled wildlife. Pearl Farm Beach Resort embraces you with unparalleled Mindanaoan hospitality and architecture. It boasts on Mindanaoan motifs, epitomized in our signature Maranao okir-a-bai. Sophisticatedly designed, our rooms and facilities have become modern-day shrines of tradition that forged from all-natural and tropical materials that perfectly blend with the greeneries. Offering you with inimitable leisure are the resort's maiden beaches and cerulean pools. Down to your tummies, you will delight in the savory fusion of international and Filipino cuisines and drinks. Fun-seekers will meet a wave of enjoyment from a range of games and aqua sports. For total rejuvenation, Ylang-Ylang Spa is for your indulgement. The neighboring Malipano Island is a 7-hectare clandestine hideaway. It cradles the quintessence of grandeur and abode, the Malipano Villas. Discover gaiety among its palm garden and pristine beaches that create the paramount beach wedding experience the resort is notable for. The resort is owned by the Floirendo family. and managed by the Anflo Group of Companies which helms other well-known companies: TADECO, Davao International Container Terminal, Davao Packaging Corporation, Damosa Land Inc., and Nestfarms. Instilled in Pearl Farm Beach Resort's mission is the upliftment and promotion of the culture, arts, and skills of Mindanao. To be one with our cultural roots demonstrated in architecture, food, products, and People - we find lifeblood in this advocacy. Truly the jewel of the south, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is where you can revel in tropical pleasures, relish life's flavors, and feast on nature's bounties. -- Notice of Renovation (2015 June 27): Dear our Valued Guest, As part of our continuous endeavor in providing you with cardinal Mindanaoan service, we are pleased to announce that we will be upgrading our Samal Houses. Please be informed that the resort is undergoing Samal House renovations until further notice. With this, we apologize for any inconvenience that this will cause during your stay. Rest assured that we will do our best to conduct the renovation with the most minimal noise. Should you have further inquiries, please feel free to call our Davao Sales Office and Manila Sales Office. We greatly appreciate your kind consideration. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Pearl Farm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Farm Beach Hotel Samal Island
Pearl Farm Beach Davao
Pearl Farm Davao
Pearl Farm Beach Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing