We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star hotel amenities right in the middle of nature!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“5-star hotel amenities right in the middle of nature!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we just came back from our 3-day trip to pearl farm beach resort and our experience must just be one of the best!

travel from davao international airport to the pearl farm marina usually takes only about 10-15 minutes; while the boat ride from the marina to pearl farm beach resort (samal island) is about 45 minutes. taking their speed boats though will only take about 15 minutes (which we were lucky enough to take).

the room we stayed at was one of the samal suites located on the farther left of the main island. from the dock to the samal suites may be a bit far but it can serve as great exercise as you go through the path they made, in between the sea and the mountain side.

you may also meet new friends as you pass by the "butik" (boutique) where you can meet two lovely native ladies who hand-weave beautiful cloth. you can buy their other handicrafts (beaded bracelets, earrings, etc.) for as low as 20 pesos per piece. you also have a lot of choices for souvenir inside "butik" ranging from souvenir shirts, to pearls, to bracelets made from recycled softdrink can pull tabs. by the way, they accept major credit cards.

i believe a cuckatoo (or was it a parrot?) is also nearby the shop. also, just across is the basketball court.

walking further is the parola or the light house. the pool beside it however, was currently under renovation so we were not able to use that pool during our stay. i was able to swim in the beach however, which was right under our suite! you may want to wear your slippers as some of the parts are rocky. the area beside the parola though is more sandy so you may opt to swim there instead.

me and 3 of my colleagues occupied the top floor while our other officemates took the room below. the room on top, by the way, is larger than the room on the first floor.

we were surprised to see how the interior of the room can be at par with a 5-star hotel! though the main theme of the suite is of bamboos and wood, the room offered just any amenity one can find in a city hotel. the room had air-conditioning, huge bed, flat screen TV, complete toiletries, hair dryer, water heater, towels (so no need to bring your own), and bath robes. it even had an ipod dock with speakers!

we also had the chance to go and see malipano island, which is just across the main island (about 5 minutes riding the speed boat). that was the first time in my life to see shells that are actually living and moving! there were even some as small as ants, and yet they’re moving around with their tiny shells! it was simply an amazing experience!

i must say the sand on malipano’s beach is whiter and finer so if you want to stay under the sun, on the beach…you may opt to book a room in malipano island instead of the main island.

food was simply gorgeous. i’m not sure though if it’s the usual breakfast they serve since we were a big group and they may have served food according to our company’s specifications.
breakfast consist of breads, jams (I remember there was durian jam and mangosteen jam), rice, bacon, eggs, danggit (dried, salted fish), dried squid, fresh fruits (watermelon, papaya, pineapple).

though one of their pools was under renovation, their other pool, near the dock was open and it looked beautiful. too bad, I had no chance of swimming in it, as our room was a bit far.

the staff was really friendly and they offered as much help as they can. they’d always greet you with a smile whenever they get to meet you.

i was also able to experience their spa and it was heavenly. it was an hour massage of the arms and legs and head. i chose that over back massage. you can however, also have a full body massage, though I’m not sure about the price as the massage i had was complimentary.

all in all, if you really want a perfect escape from the bustling city, pearl farm beach resort is one of the best options there is. the long trip is definitely worth it. besides, you don’t know when you may get to walk alongside a crab while you’re on the beach.

Room Tip: booking a samal suite is advisable for families/group of friends as it may accommodate up to 10 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arashiwantsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    262
    70
    32
    22
See reviews for
281
267
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have been to this place twice already on day trip. On both occasion, I was travelling with my family and relatives. If you have not been to any five stars hotel or resort before, you will probably find this place amazing. To me there is nothing special about this place. Except for the beach, everything here is just OK. Beach wise, I would prefer to swim in the nearby Paradise Island Resort where beach has fine sand than in PF. If you only want to experience Pearl Farm then I would recommend a day trip to PF. Unless there is a massive improvement of this resort, I do not see myself going back to PF.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabawenyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent a day tour with 7 other friends just this Monday and the resort was just underwhelming.The trip going to the resort was an exciting one for us. But when we arrived, we saw the resort almost deserted. There were a just a few people eating breakfast. The better part of the resort was also under renovation. The beach near the quay was not exactly memorable. Malipano Island was great, but the watersports were very limited, only around 3 or 4, and very expensive. The public beach area was also small as there were mangroves at the side area which made the area a bit muddy. The beach area in the exclusive side, where the villas are, was much nicer, sadly it is reserved for villa guests. The lunch buffet was limited, but some of the selections were delicious. The pool was refreshing, but it was certainly lacking in cleanliness. There were so many floating leaves, flowers and even bees and insects that I was itching while still in the water. Over - all, I didn't find my tour memorable. If you are the type of traveller who has been to Cebu, Boracay and Palawan, going to the Pearl Farm, would definitely be a letdown..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at Pearl Farm Beach Resort for a night and I felt that it was an amazing experience. We knew that we couldn't leave Davao without staying at least a night at this resort. The place was clean and the staff were very accommodating. The staff also speaks English quite fluently.

We arrived in a boat specially for Pearl Farm (+ complimentary chilled water before departure) at the Parola and were briefed by the staff about the different places around the resort. We were also given a complimentary glass of watermelon shake before sending our things to our respective rooms.

We occupied two Samal house. These rooms are the ones on stilts in the water. Underneath the Samal house were lots of sea urchin and colourful fishes. The tides go rather fast in the area, but it doesn't reach the house itself. The view outside the room was, I believe, the highlight of the price we paid. The sunset was just amazing. In the Samal houses we got, one room accommodates two people and the other room accommodates three. The A/C was lovely, it cooled the room very fast, I appreciated it very much when the weather outside became too warm.

The sand was quite rough on the feet thus I had to wear my slippers whenever I walk along the beach. I had an amazing time snorkelling (snorkelling gear and other water activity materials may be rented at a shack at the end of the resort), there were many fishes to see and feed. I enjoyed seeing families of clown fishes.

Their ala carte and buffet were good also for their price. I especially enjoyed their homemade ice cream. It was very refreshing.

Those who cannot walk far can avail a ride from the front desk or through a phone call to the front desk.

Overall, I enjoyed every minute of it.

Room Tip: Samal rooms have an amazing view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKellyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I hope that the Pearl Farm management reads tripadvisor reviews because seriously they need to change their level of service.

Please note this review is not for the actual resort / accommodation but on my experience with their booking/sales person.

We are booking in Pearl Farm to attend a friend's wedding and we decided to stay over for convenience. It took a whole week exchanging emails with the salesperson to be able to settle the details on the deposit and reservation procedure. A whole week of emails exchanged just to get a wrong bank account number when we are about to transfer the deposit.

Good thing we did not do an over the counter deposit from a different bank but instead did a mobile banking. Depositing in a wrong account will entail so much hassle to have that amount reverted back to our account and mind you the amount is not a paltry one.

We are not paying cheap to stay in Pearl Farm...Heck, it is even a tagged as a luxury resort in Davao but with that price tag I believe that the guest deserve a 5-star service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmiemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent one night in a Samal unit on the water. The food was good, service was great. The room was clean and nice. The prices are what you would expect to pay in the US not in the Phils but I still enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cferrell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A cut above the rest for accommodation and scenery. But you have to pay! Stunning atmosphere and scenery on a tropical island. The Mandaya house we stayed in was very luxurious open plan and modern, Something not for couples who are getting to know each other since the toilet is also quite open. Situated next to the pool and center of activities but still quiet and private. There are extensive modernization at the moment to the old central area but will be good when complete. The building work stopped at 5 pm so no noise. Recommended for a treat but you need a large wallet to stay the week.

Room Tip: The Hill top houses are just that. You need to be fit or wait for transport. They are away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samal Island
7.5 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 8 in Samal Island
107 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
9.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
925 reviews
9.9 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Samal Island
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Farm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Farm Beach Resort

Property: Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Address: Brgy Adecor | Kaputian, Mindanao 8119, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pearl Farm Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the serene west coast of the Island Garden City of Samal, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is a haven that encompasses 23 hectares of solitary refinement away from typhoons. It welcomes guests with dominating vistas over Philippines' largest city and highest peak - Davao Gulf and Mount Apo respectively. It finds life in panoramic, exotic islands with coastlines adorned with white sand, mangrove forestry, and rock formations. The photogenic breadth is Mother Nature's sanctuary of luscious, equatorial forest inhabited by native greens, giant ferns, multihued flowers, and unrivaled wildlife. Pearl Farm Beach Resort embraces you with unparalleled Mindanaoan hospitality and architecture. It boasts on Mindanaoan motifs, epitomized in our signature Maranao okir-a-bai. Sophisticatedly designed, our rooms and facilities have become modern-day shrines of tradition that forged from all-natural and tropical materials that perfectly blend with the greeneries. Offering you with inimitable leisure are the resort's maiden beaches and cerulean pools. Down to your tummies, you will delight in the savory fusion of international and Filipino cuisines and drinks. Fun-seekers will meet a wave of enjoyment from a range of games and aqua sports. For total rejuvenation, Ylang-Ylang Spa is for your indulgement. The neighboring Malipano Island is a 7-hectare clandestine hideaway. It cradles the quintessence of grandeur and abode, the Malipano Villas. Discover gaiety among its palm garden and pristine beaches that create the paramount beach wedding experience the resort is notable for. The resort is owned by the Floirendo family. and managed by the Anflo Group of Companies which helms other well-known companies: TADECO, Davao International Container Terminal, Davao Packaging Corporation, Damosa Land Inc., and Nestfarms. Instilled in Pearl Farm Beach Resort's mission is the upliftment and promotion of the culture, arts, and skills of Mindanao. To be one with our cultural roots demonstrated in architecture, food, products, and People - we find lifeblood in this advocacy. Truly the jewel of the south, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is where you can revel in tropical pleasures, relish life's flavors, and feast on nature's bounties. -- Notice of Renovation (2015 June 27): Dear our Valued Guest, As part of our continuous endeavor in providing you with cardinal Mindanaoan service, we are pleased to announce that we will be upgrading our Samal Houses. Please be informed that the resort is undergoing Samal House renovations until further notice. With this, we apologize for any inconvenience that this will cause during your stay. Rest assured that we will do our best to conduct the renovation with the most minimal noise. Should you have further inquiries, please feel free to call our Davao Sales Office and Manila Sales Office. We greatly appreciate your kind consideration. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Pearl Farm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Farm Beach Hotel Samal Island
Pearl Farm Beach Davao
Pearl Farm Davao
Pearl Farm Beach Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing