We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we hoped for =)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 3D 2N. We stayed at one of the hilltop houses - the accommodations are quite old, but functional and clean nonetheless. Also had a view of the sea and the greenery which gave a nice ambiance. A/C was a quite noisy, but that didn't really bother us. Shower and hot water worked OK, and the bed was big and comfortable. There was an ongoing renovation at the Parola, Maranao Resto and the infinity pool so it was too bad we didn't get to enjoy those parts of the resort.

Buffet breakfast was good - mostly Filipino but also has cereals, bread, jams, cold cuts and cheeses. There's always fresh fruits which is a plus for us. We didn't get the buffet for the other meals - for us that's too much food. Opted to go ala-carte for the other meals. Each dish can be expensive - a bowl of pakbet can cost around 400 php, and some beef dishes can go up to 900. Nonetheless having all your meals by the beach makes it a tad bit more romantic and special.

The beach itself was OK. Clean and mostly fine sand. They have buoys to make sure that guests stay within the safe area. Snorkeling was just OK - not much too see unless you avail one of their tours that would take you to sites outside the resort itself.

What stood out for me is the staff. They are amazing! Ready to help, and greets you without fail every time they see you around the resort. They are all warm, friendly, and prompt in assisting us with our needs and requests. Kudos to the staff at the Aqua Sports facility - they made our Coral & Giant Clam tour really enjoyable.

All in all, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoffeeLover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 922 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to Pearl Farm last July 2012 with friends for a day tour. We didn't really stay for the night. We had their lunch buffet. I enjoyed the food selection, and the other mini island in front of Pearl Farm. We enjoyed all the activities, the view and the beach. The staff are courteous and friendly. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerhue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent our first family vacation ever and it was paradise. Great infinity pool. Nice place for snorkeling and island hopping. Great buffet selection and warm staff to take care of all your needs. A must try when ever your in davao.

Room Tip: Must stay would be floating villas by the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rainluvs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a perfect beach a beautiful and peaceful Resort located at Samal Island
it would make your summer remarkable with romantic fresh air at night along the beach
you might like their express and excellent service,have a good trip and enjoy....

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemzStone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you like a little exclusivity and have the money to do so, this is a great place to unwind and just feel one with nature. We took the Samal Room with stilts and it was relaxing to see fishes swim underneath our nipa hut. You could also tour the area around foot and request to be picked up by the electric car. Staying here for 2 nights was great enough, more than that may have given me a great bore as it is a little far off other resorts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustFrolicking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was in Davao for a short getaway vacation and stayed there for 4 nights in mid February which was, as I was told, the off-peak season for the resort.

The resort is a 40 minutes boat ride from mainland Davao and it takes about 15 minutes to get to the jetty from the airport. We were greeted by the staff from the resort as we had opted for the airport transfer. Once we had reached the resort, check was quick and efficient. There had been a quick briefing by the staff for all the guest who had arrived and we were sent off to our rooms. We stayed at one of the cottages on the hill top and the view from our verandah area was nice. Transport was available around the clock and they will take you anywhere you want to go on the resort. There was never a long wait and I was very satisfied with the prompt arrival of the minivan/buggy.

The rooms were quite spacious and clean. The toilet was small though kept very clean and well-ventilated. There was a tiny TV in the room and reception was sometimes very fudgy. Nonetheless, there was a surpisingly wide array of channels that had kept me entertained throughout my stay.

As pointed out by other reviewers, the resort is going through some construction though it did not really bother me much. There are plenty of things to do at the resort to keep you occupied. I went diving, snorkelling and kayaking. The beach was beautiful and the water clear. I did not manage to check out the pool area, unfortunately. There are plenty of spa activities and I had the warm stone massage which was excellent. The resort had a daily movie night that was screened at their makeshift lobby/check in area. Service from the staff was good and I had no complaints.

My main gripe about the resort is how expensive it can get. Their room rates for a three star resort are on the higher end and I don't think it is fully justifiable. Plus, food is really, really expensive and not worth the money, imho. The food is decent but not at that price. They check your bags before you get onto the boat to the resort for contraband food so you can't escape having to eat the resort unless you want to spend 40 minute per way getting to the mainland just for a meal.

Overall, it was an enjoyable stay at a hefty price tag. I don't think I will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My family travels a lot and this is one perfect place that will suit someone planning for an extraordinary weekend. We travelled by boat and had welcome drinks and stayed in the Mandaya room which is really far from the beach and the restaurant but we got our privacy. The room was spacious enough it can fit 3 adults and the bathroom looked really amazing. There's a pool just right outside the room which is really convenient. The food is a real treat for those who love buffet. You'll find everything from vegetables, meat, drinks and dessert; however I noticed that they recycle the leftover fruit and make it into another dish like a salad or add it to the main dish. My mom had a stomach flu on her second vacation stay. But nonetheless, the restaurant entertains guests with live shows and even gives out prizes.
The only problem I had was exploring the whole island. I would rather stay in the cozy room but if you want your stay to be worth every peny, try out all activities and watersports. You have to pay the rental fee though which is not that bad but a little pricey.
There isn't much souvenir stuff to buy unlike in Boracay but a lot of cool places to take pictures. At night, you can stroll along the beach or just lie on one of the poolside chairs and just relax in the spa. I'd say the staff were all corteous and they greet you with a smile.
To sum it all up, It's a pleasant vacation spot for those who want to take a time off the city because as long as you have that extra money Pearl Farm will exceed your expectations. So grab those promos!

Room Tip: Mandaya provides privacy but it can be a little far from the beach and port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samal Island
7.5 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 8 in Samal Island
111 reviews
8 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
9.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 53 in Davao City
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 53 in Davao City
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Samal Island
148 reviews
7.9 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Farm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Farm Beach Resort

Address: Brgy Adecor | Kaputian, Mindanao 8119, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range: $168 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pearl Farm Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the serene west coast of the Island Garden City of Samal, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is a haven that encompasses 23 hectares of solitary refinement away from typhoons. It welcomes guests with dominating vistas over Philippines' largest city and highest peak - Davao Gulf and Mount Apo respectively. It finds life in panoramic, exotic islands with coastlines adorned with white sand, mangrove forestry, and rock formations. The photogenic breadth is Mother Nature's sanctuary of luscious, equatorial forest inhabited by native greens, giant ferns, multihued flowers, and unrivaled wildlife. Pearl Farm Beach Resort embraces you with unparalleled Mindanaoan hospitality and architecture. It boasts on Mindanaoan motifs, epitomized in our signature Maranao okir-a-bai. Sophisticatedly designed, our rooms and facilities have become modern-day shrines of tradition that forged from all-natural and tropical materials that perfectly blend with the greeneries. Offering you with inimitable leisure are the resort's maiden beaches and cerulean pools. Down to your tummies, you will delight in the savory fusion of international and Filipino cuisines and drinks. Fun-seekers will meet a wave of enjoyment from a range of games and aqua sports. For total rejuvenation, Ylang-Ylang Spa is for your indulgement. The neighboring Malipano Island is a 7-hectare clandestine hideaway. It cradles the quintessence of grandeur and abode, the Malipano Villas. Discover gaiety among its palm garden and pristine beaches that create the paramount beach wedding experience the resort is notable for. The resort is owned by the Floirendo family. and managed by the Anflo Group of Companies which helms other well-known companies: TADECO, Davao International Container Terminal, Davao Packaging Corporation, Damosa Land Inc., and Nestfarms. Instilled in Pearl Farm Beach Resort's mission is the upliftment and promotion of the culture, arts, and skills of Mindanao. To be one with our cultural roots demonstrated in architecture, food, products, and People - we find lifeblood in this advocacy. Truly the jewel of the south, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is where you can revel in tropical pleasures, relish life's flavors, and feast on nature's bounties. -- Notice of Renovation (2015 June 27): Dear our Valued Guest, As part of our continuous endeavor in providing you with cardinal Mindanaoan service, we are pleased to announce that we will be upgrading our Samal Houses. Please be informed that the resort is undergoing Samal House renovations until further notice. With this, we apologize for any inconvenience that this will cause during your stay. Rest assured that we will do our best to conduct the renovation with the most minimal noise. Should you have further inquiries, please feel free to call our Davao Sales Office and Manila Sales Office. We greatly appreciate your kind consideration. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pearl Farm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Farm Beach Hotel Samal Island
Pearl Farm Beach Davao
Pearl Farm Davao
Pearl Farm Beach Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing