We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place -- Cant wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were quite apprehensive about going to Samal for 1 night but it was worth it! We flew arrived at 9AM so we were able to have a full breakfast on our 1st day. Plenty of choices but what we loved were the cheese, the bacon and the cereals! The fruits were super fresh.

It rained in the afternoon but our view was breathtaking, we didnt mind it at all.

Dinner buffet for P950 was worth it because of all the grilled seafood we ate. Try to stay overnight because a day trip is not enough. The shuttle to the Hillview rooms were being fixed so if you're planning to book a Hillview room, suggest you call Pearl Farm first because it looked like quite a walk. So happy with the Samal Room. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a Samal room at least. The Hillview room could be quite a walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jApdoLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 883 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

what a 5 night stay we had in this resort, it is a tropical paradise, the accomodation, food, staff, location, spa and water sports 5 star, I could not recommend this resort more, the most perfect holiday I have had in years. Dont expect bouncing night life, there is none, only light music, bar music but for relaxation and pampering you will find nothing better, myself and partner will most certanly return. Finaly top marks to the manageress a beautiful lady who pulled out the stops to help me readjust my booking due to work commitments salamat

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreghorn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had an overnight stay. This place is clean, well maintained, good atmosphere. Everything is in order. Great place for vacation/relaxation. Staff are superb, nice and courteous. Breakfast buffet is also satisfying.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed there once with my companion,The terminal boat close to the chateu del mar was beautiful,clean and the staff in the ferry boat going to Pearl Farm was very educates,well managed and they are just hospitable with their beautiful smiles,the crew was just accomodating,and the boat just pretty, going to Pearl Farm beach resort in kaputian,just perfect after the 1 hour sailing in the sea they will just welcome you and asks how was your trip ma'am/sir,then they gave us a hot towel i guess with a little bit alcohol with it to their guest that just arrived,and a little meeting about the resort and their facilities,Everything is 5 star,it is kind of expensive resort but your money just worth for your stay in their lovely rooms,good linen,bed was perfect made in bamboo,they also have tennis court which is very perfect idea for those sporty guest,the pool is very clean the beach is just crystal blue,and you can see their many starfish so cute,the food is tasty.Our stayed there was just memorable and it was lovely experienced to stay a resort more than Boracay! Perfect!!! and we're hoping to come back in Pearl Farm again soon.

Room Tip: In this hotel you don't have to choose for a good room because all the rooms seems very lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovely C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for only one day, but we were able to tour almost the whole place. Where most Samal resorts usually just had a boat tied to the jetty/dock, Pearl Farm has its own Marina with a pool, front desk/reception, cafe and native works shop. By that time, I knew I was in for a treat.

Overall: I'd come back here to relax and get pampered, but I think I'd have to save up a bit for it.

Pros:
- The staff was so helpful. They rarely said no to our requests (which were still within reason, of course). We asked to see one of each room type, and a very nice lady walked us through almost every one, including the gorgeous Malipano Villas. One of the cleaning ladies tried to hurry up her work just so we can see the Samal House (but we told her not to bother, and we moved on without seeing it). I wanted to take a walk along the beach but didn't want my coconut shake to get warm, so I gave it back to the restaurant to store in their fridge--requested this without a fuss from the waiter. We asked to be taken to Malipano Island (twice) and we were ferried across promptly.
- They had a raffle for everyone who arrived that day (I'm not sure if this is something they do everyday, though). I won a free 10-minute wakeboarding session. Yey! But the wakeboarding equipment was broken, so they just replaced it with a kayak that I can use for 2 hours. No complaints here, I love kayaks.
- Almost all the furnishings of the rooms are all-wood and polished immaculately. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Earthenware jars in front of every room so we can wash off the sand from our feet.
- Yummy lunch buffet! I can tell that the veggies, fruits and squid were all fresh. Had to pay for the drinks, though, but since they were delicious, I didn't mind.

Cons:
- Insect problems at the restaurant: some ants got into the pineapple jam and bread basket in the buffet. Flies also got into the room where salads, cheeses and desserts were kept.
- Not much to do without shelling out more cash (the watersports like kayaks, wake-boarding, scuba diving, snorkeling, island hopping all cost extra, and in my opinion, the rates are a bit high). To remedy this, I'll bring my Frisbee or a volleyball during my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAnnah Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just came back yesterday from this beautiful place. We spent two nights there, and those two nights were so different from my usual hustle and bustle that it feels a bit jarring to come back home to the usual.

The only thing taxing about the resort is getting there, since you need to take a boat, which means waiting for all the passengers to arrive. A flight after ours was delayed so we had to wait an extra 45 minutes for the rest to arrive. Luckily, they have a small deli at their lobby with really cheap but huge AND delicious sandwiches available (P200 on average -- roughly 4 US dollars). I also recommend the gambas and ripe mango shake.

Boat rides lose their novelty after 2 minutes but the seats are comfy enough to sleep on. It takes about 20-30 minutes to get there, but cool welcome drinks are waiting for you right when you arrive. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating, and always greet you when you see them.

Now to go to the Pros and Cons of actually staying there:

Pros:
+ Fantastic breakfast buffet, with lots of variety. You can ask for hot chocolate/coffee/tea too.
+ Very friendly staff, as I said.
+ Rooms have fantastic views, especially the Samal rooms, which are on stilts -- you're greeted with water right outside your balcony. Each room feels really homey and helps enhance the ambiance of the entire place.
+ Very peaceful and solitary. Ended up sleeping at 9 PM and waking up at 6 AM everyday and I felt great.
+ Beautiful beach with white sand.
+ There are little trams that take you wherever you want, and the resort itself isn't overly huge so you can walk to wherever you want to go anyway. The walk itself is very scenic.

Cons:
- Dinner buffet needs more variety.
- They discourage eating at the open restaurant when your clothes are wet. Maybe it's just me, but one of the best parts about resorts is getting to eat right after you come out of the beach. Doing it in reverse (eating a heavy meal -> swimming) doesn't feel as right.
- Bathrooms are weird. In the Samal rooms, one closet-sized space holds the toilet, and another closet-sized space holds the shower (which is literally just a shower), and in between those two is the sink. It's a bit much for claustrophobic people, and the shower room just has a bunch of racks that are placed much higher than my 5"0 self. It's also easy for your clothes to fall off the rack, so I don't know how they expect children to bathe, or platonic friends (in case you wanna leave your clothes in the room). That's my biggest complaint about the place.

Overall, though, I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: The Samal rooms have the best view since it's at level with the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great value - but I got food poisoning from the buffet.

If your idea of a relaxing holiday involves sitting on a desert island, soaking up the sun, then this is for you.

Don't expect easy day-tripping to Davao. DO expect a stay that will cost next-to-nothing for a bungalow over the water.

Having heard about the 2001 incident here, I'm not sure if I'll return. And I didn't enjoy the food poisoning. But I did enjoy everything else about my stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samal Island
7.5 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 8 in Samal Island
110 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
9.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Samal Island
146 reviews
7.9 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Farm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Farm Beach Resort

Address: Brgy Adecor | Kaputian, Mindanao 8119, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Samal Island
Price Range: $147 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pearl Farm Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the serene west coast of the Island Garden City of Samal, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is a haven that encompasses 23 hectares of solitary refinement away from typhoons. It welcomes guests with dominating vistas over Philippines' largest city and highest peak - Davao Gulf and Mount Apo respectively. It finds life in panoramic, exotic islands with coastlines adorned with white sand, mangrove forestry, and rock formations. The photogenic breadth is Mother Nature's sanctuary of luscious, equatorial forest inhabited by native greens, giant ferns, multihued flowers, and unrivaled wildlife. Pearl Farm Beach Resort embraces you with unparalleled Mindanaoan hospitality and architecture. It boasts on Mindanaoan motifs, epitomized in our signature Maranao okir-a-bai. Sophisticatedly designed, our rooms and facilities have become modern-day shrines of tradition that forged from all-natural and tropical materials that perfectly blend with the greeneries. Offering you with inimitable leisure are the resort's maiden beaches and cerulean pools. Down to your tummies, you will delight in the savory fusion of international and Filipino cuisines and drinks. Fun-seekers will meet a wave of enjoyment from a range of games and aqua sports. For total rejuvenation, Ylang-Ylang Spa is for your indulgement. The neighboring Malipano Island is a 7-hectare clandestine hideaway. It cradles the quintessence of grandeur and abode, the Malipano Villas. Discover gaiety among its palm garden and pristine beaches that create the paramount beach wedding experience the resort is notable for. The resort is owned by the Floirendo family. and managed by the Anflo Group of Companies which helms other well-known companies: TADECO, Davao International Container Terminal, Davao Packaging Corporation, Damosa Land Inc., and Nestfarms. Instilled in Pearl Farm Beach Resort's mission is the upliftment and promotion of the culture, arts, and skills of Mindanao. To be one with our cultural roots demonstrated in architecture, food, products, and People - we find lifeblood in this advocacy. Truly the jewel of the south, Pearl Farm Beach Resort is where you can revel in tropical pleasures, relish life's flavors, and feast on nature's bounties. -- Notice of Renovation (2015 June 27): Dear our Valued Guest, As part of our continuous endeavor in providing you with cardinal Mindanaoan service, we are pleased to announce that we will be upgrading our Samal Houses. Please be informed that the resort is undergoing Samal House renovations until further notice. With this, we apologize for any inconvenience that this will cause during your stay. Rest assured that we will do our best to conduct the renovation with the most minimal noise. Should you have further inquiries, please feel free to call our Davao Sales Office and Manila Sales Office. We greatly appreciate your kind consideration. The Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Pearl Farm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Farm Beach Hotel Samal Island
Pearl Farm Beach Davao
Pearl Farm Davao
Pearl Farm Beach Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing