We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best kept secrets of Samal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Precious Garden Samal
Ranked #3 of 14 Samal Island B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best kept secrets of Samal”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

It's rather unusual that whenever I mentioned to my friends in Davao where we were staying in Samal, nobody knew about this resort. They never heard of it. But nevertheless, we followed our instincts and booked the place.

Stayed overnight there with friends. First impressions, the Mediterranean or Spanish Villa-inspired place looked pretty lovely. The rooms and bathrooms were absolutely clean and spacious with a very homey feel. We really liked it. Even the common comfort rooms outside were spotless. That is my barometer for every resort/hotel I go too. Clean bathrooms, comfort rooms mean that management is serious with cleanliness.

The beach area which was just a few steps away also looked really nice. Loved the cabanas on the shore. Perfect chill out area any time of the day. We stayed and drunk our beers there at night.

But I would have to say that what impressed us most is the food. Their pasta and pizza were just excellent! We tried the pesto spaghetti and bolognese. And their thin crust pepperoni and mango pizza! We also ordered their sweet and sour fish, buttered chicken, chicken goulash, baby back ribs, and fish and chips. But what we really raved about, aside from the pasta, was their chopsuey and fish steak! To die for! Just remembering them makes my mouth water.

The staff, can't complain. They were all very helpful and gracious people. All praises to them specially Junnie (the server) and of course Neneng, the chef/cook and mastermind of the great tasting food. I would definitely go back for the clean, spacious, lovely accommodations and the great food!

Just a few areas for improvement, the garden area can probably use constant trimming. It's really not a big deal. And the water on the beach, we did not swim by the shore coz it did not look very inviting to swim, it was rather murky at that time, with a few pieces of garbage strewn on the shore during high tide. We swam further by the floating bar. Maybe the resort owners can do something to filter out those garbage that's probably coming from the adjacent houses on stilts. Maybe put a barrier or something.

Overall, we had an awesome time! Thanks to all the staff who kept the place clean and for the great food!

Room Tip: Take the ones at the second floor for a better view of the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JohnInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

It's my first time in Samal and staying in Precious Garden was one of the best decisions we've made while planning the trip. The place is relatively new and well taken care of. I was told that the owner is German but the resort's ambiance is very much Filipino. Kristeen, who took care of us, was very accommodating during our stay. She made sure that we get our money's worth. All the Staff, from the kitchen helper to the gardeners, are very polite and modest.

The place is private and provides the kind of peace and serenity that we were looking for. The beach area is a good walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are very clean with constant supply of water. Furniture and fixtures were carefully picked with special focus on the details. The beds are very comfortable and very much recommended for couples.

Food is great too! Try their pizza, it's very delicious. Actually, all dishes in the menu are to die for.

They also offer island tour packages. Avail those packages and let them plan your tour of the island for you. You may even request to tweak the itinerary to maximize your stay in the island. Kuya Joo, the driver assigned to us, was very accommodating, as well.

If we'd be back to Samal Island, me and my boyfriend will definitely book again a night or two in Precious Garden.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgePudadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I was born and raised in Toril, Davao City.

My fiance and I went to your garden resort with my family for lunch one day.
We loved the environment garden, it is so beautiful and the food was very good.

Your place is perfect because we could have a ceremony somewhere in your garden.

We are thinking of having 150 guests and we would prefer an exclusive party to make our wedding very special to us and to our family and friends as well.

Thanks
Anna

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JohnWeinsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Service, food, place is almost excellent... if you want to be away for just a day or two from the busy streets of Davao City, this place is exactly where you want to be. management themselves limit their guest to ensure the serenity and calmness of the ambiance for those who want to have that superb R and R (rest and relaxation). They also offer affordable and delightful dishes both Filipino and Europian cuisine.
I just hope you already got all your rooms well ventilated ( i mean with AC units installed) when i have the time to visit your place, coz i surely will.

Room Tip: better have your reservations first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We returned today from our brief stay at Precious Garden and I wanted to drop you a line to let you know that we had a wonderful time and that your staff were exceptional. You are no doubt aware that some freak weather caused our holiday to get off to a bad start, but that was completely out of your control. Your key staff - Jerphile, JC, Denessa, and Neneng could not have been more professional. Even though your accommodation does not have some of the things we are used to (TV, WiFi, Refrigerator, etc), we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food from your restaurant was first class and the service was superb. We particularly enjoyed our visit to your other home on the island, and we sincerely thank you and your wife Precious for being kind enough to let us visit it.

I am aware that you are developing the resort further and I intend to bring my family back for a longer visit when those developments have been completed.

Thank you again. I believe that your resort could easily become one of the most exclusive on the island.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxwellSmart82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samal Island hotels
3.8 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 7 in Samal Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
0.0 mi away
La Vida Orchard Samal
La Vida Orchard Samal
#2 of 14 in Samal Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Samal Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
10.0 mi away
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Samal Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Samal Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Precious Garden Samal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Precious Garden Samal

Property: Precious Garden Samal
Address: Miranda, Libudan | Sitio Libudan, Brgy. Miranda Babak Dist. IGACOS, Mindanao 8118, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Samal Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Precious Garden Samal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Precious Garden Restaurant and coffee house offers a warm welcome to all visitors. Sit out under the stars and enjoy the open air ambiance and leafy shade of mature tropical tress when enjoying our food. We are locally famous for our wood-fired oven pizzas and homemade pasta as well as other European and Filipino favorite dishes. We serve bio dynamic rice or fresh baked bread as options with all our dishes. We are confident that our brewed coffee and homemade cookies are the best on the island of samal. Our little fine hotel is located 10 minutes from the ferry landing in Babak / Samal Island. The tropical garden restaurant is a nice start in the morning and the white beach good for sundower. We offer many trips, also free shuttle servive to an islet named Sanipaan (Vanishing Island). Diving trips, snorkeling tours, inland tours (Bat Bave, Hagimit Falls, etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Precious Garden Samal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Precious Garden Samal Hotel Samal Island
Precious Garden Samal Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing