We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money quality place to relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samal Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isla Reta Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Keep coming back to this place for it's white sand,clear water,fresh fish for the days catch. On a budget traveller this is the place to go for relaxation and feel the crystal white sand of Talicud Samal island. Rooms are clean, rain water is used for their toilet and shower needs

Electricity turn on 3pm and turn off at 6am the next day, because electricity in the island is run by a generator set. Water from the water system are salty so you need a bottled water for drinking.

A picturesque for phographer

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Isla Reta Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 112 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

pros:
>only an hour sail from davao city
>very much of nature!
>very clean you can see whats beneath the clean water
>very affordable!
>lots and lots of starfish!

cons:
>a day tour would not satisfy since the first trip boat ride is 9 am and last trip from the resort is 3pm so all in all, you only have atleast 4.5 hours to enjoy the place/resort,

so better stay there overnight!

all in all its a great place!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yazhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had been meaning to go to Isla Reta for quite some time as we had good reports about the place, the opportunity to go came so we booked 3 nights in a concrete cottage. The trip from Davao on the resorts own boat was good, it take about 1 hour + and the fare is reasonable. We arrived at Isla Reta about 10.30 and first impressions were that the report were right. The beach has clean white sand and is lined with Talisay tree's which provide shade, the water is clear, blue and clean. We were shown to our cottage which is more or less what we expected, basic,but who wants to stay in there all day. There is no electricity between 6am and 3pm so leave all your gadgets at home also there is no fresh water, only bottled so if you can carry it bring some with you as it along with every thing else is more expensive on Talicud than the mainland. The showers in the comfort rooms seem to have a mixture of rain water and sea water but they are ok. Meals at the site are limited in choice but thy are cooked well and taste good appart from the rice which was nearly always cold. If you go just outside the gate it's only 5 minutes walk to Sta.Cruz where there is a market and stores where to can buy food at a reasonable price to cook yourself on the many B-B-Q's around the resort. The staff are very polite and helpfull but their English is limited I think so best go with a Filipino friend. Our 3 nights went so quickly and we were enjoying ourselves so much that I booked an extra 2 nights. It seems that the resort is quiet from Monday to Friday and busy at the weekend so depending on what you want choose your days,we wanted peace and quiet and thats what we got, avery relaxing few days. We will certainly be regular visitors there, in fact we have booked again for next month. Try Isla Reta, I don't think you willbe disapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukjeprox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

went for husband's 35th birthday.. without preparations!
hubby just told us that we're going there, so we packed asap for an overnight stay ;)

take a ferry boat ride to the island (isla reta resort) at the sta ana wharf of davao city (near magsaysay park). FARE is php80 from davao to sta cruz wharf (talicud island), since the ferry we had isn't docking on the resort directly. note that there are ferries that routes directly to the resort.

fortunately, there was a group who had pre-contacted a banca to serve as a connecting trip from the sta cruz wharf to isla reta. fare is php20/pax. if you opt not to take the "connecting banca", single motorbikes are available for an added excitement, though, the resort is just a walking distance from the brgy wharf.

RESORT FEES:
Daytour – Php 75.00/head
Overnight – Php 150.00/head
Overnight(Kids) – Php 75.00/head
3 years old and below – Free

tables/bench under the acacia trees are free, so as their monoblock chairs (ask their friendly staff to borrow some).

they have close cottages and tents for overnight stays. TENT RENTAL is php450 (2 pax), single-sized mattress/foam is php40; double size is php50. also have pillows and blankets for rent. their closed COTTAGES is for php800/night/2pax. they also have a dormitory room for 22pax for php6,500 only. no aircon rooms.

food is affordable, whole native chicken tinola only costs php300; dining utensils/plates provided. though i do not have an idea of the food choices since we ordered native chicken viands only.

beverages are pricey. san miguel beer light costs php60/bottle; milo/coffee w/ hot water & cup is php20

first trip to the island is 9am, last trip to davao is 4:30pm via Hof Gorei ferry. hof gorei routes from isla reta - kaputian district, samal - davao city.

area is generally clean. comfort room is spacious & clean, but its water source is sea water, so expect that bath soaps wouldn't bubble ^_^

resort has stand by life guards & a security personnel who roams around the resort at night, checking its guests & asking them to log their names in their resort book.

very good area for snorkeling ;)

recommended season to visit the island: SUMMER!
a "low pressure" storm got our area that frightened us. wind was so strong. i thought a hurricane was coming.

resort's contact number: (082) 234 7903

the asap packing was worth it.. the water, the shore, the island is a sparkle to our eyes...

Room Tip: take the hut cottages since it is nearer to the shoreline. concrete cottages are quite far.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tweetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My Family and I, 6 adults and 3 kids, went on a 3 days 2 nights stay at Isla Reta. An hour boat ride from the Sta. Ana Wharf in Davao. It's part of Talicud Island, very relaxing and far from the frills of neighboring Samal Island.
We rented a room of 800 pesos per night. We cooked food which we bought from the public market, the fishes were fresh where the locals fish themselves. The place is clean, quiet, you can leave the kids to play on their own. The water is blue and clear. We rented a small boat to go around the island and snorkelling in the coral area for 1500 pesos.
It costed us very little but we enjoyed and got to rest so much.
The staff tried as much also to accomodate us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sw8tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Happened on to the island by accident with no particular destination in mind...Chartered a small boat to the island on the way there for about 40 us dollars...which I thought was reasonable for a private ride. The island is rustic and no frills.. nice cottages with indoor bathroom, or comfort room as the filipino's say. Very reasonable for about 20 dollars a night. Camping, beach side bedrooms and dormitories also available. Beautiful white sand beaches and clear blue water.... simply amazing scenery. The owner and staff were great. Food would be the only shortfall of the entire experience...limited to native chicken at the time we were there, but it was good. All in all a great place that I will surely return to. If you catch the big boat to or from the island it is only a couple of dollars.

Room Tip: Pretty straight forward... either you want your own bathroom or you don't.....
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Considered "Samal" by the Davao locals, Talikud island is actually another island at the back of Samal Island. You can get there by boat from the Sta. Ana wharf. You can park your car at that wharf for free and there is a guard there. The boat ride is about 45 minutes long, and once you reach Santa Cruz on Talikud you head left until you get to Isla Reta. It is about a 5 minute walk. You can also get here by boat from Kaputian on Samal island for around 300p or so. It has the most beautiful white sand beach and blue water that I have yet to see on Samal island. They maintain the beach really well with daily coral cleanups. There is a coral reef nearby that you can hire a boat to get to. Grass huts are around 700p for the night, and there are concrete cottages available also. You can tent as well for a small fee, and it's nice to bring a hammock so you can lie in the shade of the trees on the beach. Running water is all salt so you must bring your own to drink although there is some available from the nearby stores on the island. There is a seafood wet market right next door and you can pick something and the ladies at the resort will fry or grill it to your liking and serve you rice. They can also give you a flask of hot water for your coffee. I think they also sell soft drinks. There are charcoal grills there as well, and you can buy charcoal in one of the corner stores. They have a videoke machine as well.
This is a nice place to relax, snorkel, catch crabs or baby octopus, or play in the sand! It is so peaceful. In fact, a year ago when we were there we saw Noli Di Castro and his entourage having kinilaw on the beach!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank ccduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samal Island hotels
12.2 mi away
Bluejaz Beach Resort & Waterpark
11.6 mi away
Chema's by the Sea Resort
Chema's by the Sea Resort
#3 of 8 in Samal Island
109 reviews
9.2 mi away
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
Punta del Sol Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Samal Island
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
Hof Gorei Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Samal Island
145 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
Pearl Farm Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Samal Island
860 reviews
12.1 mi away
Paradise Island Park & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Reta Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Reta Beach Resort

Address: Talikud Island, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Norte Province > Samal Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Samal Island
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Isla Reta Beach Hotel Samal Island
Isla Reta Beach Resort Davao/Samal Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing