We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Small Paradise On Earth !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Bagus Lovina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puri Bagus Lovina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pemaron
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Small Paradise On Earth !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I loved everything ! The staff is very friendly, the bungalows are just amazing. Trees and flowers everywhere... Very calm, great sunsets...
Also we went to the spa at night and it was absolutely magical... Like in fairy tales...
Only the food was not impressive (menu etc...) and the service a bit long.
Other than that, I just wonder when can I come back and stay longer !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    184
    59
    17
    5
See reviews for
94
263
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Had an amazing stay for 3 nights, rooms looked to the beach, beautiful outside shower, complimentary massage and spa were picturesque, cook school at resort was incredible which included trip to the food markets, dolphin watching was worth it if you have never seen dolphins and can handle getting up at 5.30am to watch the spectacular sunrise, wished we had longer here, restaurants were short stroll down the lane and very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarieAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cikarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in June, 2 rooms with connecting door.

The staff were very friendly and kind to our children. Our rooms just in front of the beach, we can see the kids playing in the huge garden and see the ocean at the same time.

Hotel location is very good, closed to mosque (if you are moslem), some reviewer said the prayer service is annoying since it started at 5 am, but for us, we were looking for this after 5 days in Bali (kuta and ubud area) we never heard 'adzan' like in Pemaron, very beautiful if you can understand it.

Closed to the hotel, there is local mini market (Indomaret), Singaraja City, and some restaurants. We tried Warung Bamboo, very expensive, food is so so, i prefer to choose hotel's food for lunch or dinner. Breakfast at hotel is very delicious. Kids love it.

The best part is the pool and the sunsets. Sunsets was very very beautiful, and in the morning, if you go for dolphin tour, you can see sunrise too. Suggestion: local fisherman can give you cheaper rate for dolphin tour (half then hotel's tour rate).

The cons, mosquito and room cleanliness, the 2nd day we stayed, the rooms was not cleaned properly, and i have to clean it some part of the rooms myself.

Anyway, we will definitely go back again to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Stay at 107 or 108, best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adeaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Puri Bagus recently for 11 days for our honeymoon. The staff were amazing and super friendly, the grounds were beautifully kept.
Rooms were kept very clean, the airconditioner worked better after my husband cleaned the filters. The outdoor shower was lovely.
The hotel prices were quite expensive, but this is a resort, and resort prices are always expensive. We found going to the Indomart at the end of the lane on the main road kept us well stocked up with beer at half the price, plus all sorts of snacks and large bottles of water. The hotel does say that they prefer you not to bring food and beverages from outside the hotel into the rooms, but no one ever complained to us when they saw us loaded up with our shopping bags. It may have helped that we tipped the staff quite well.
There are a few locals trying to solicit a bit of business for tours, sarongs etc on the beach but this is nothing compared to the busier areas such as Kuta and they go away if you politely say no.
Puri Bagus is in a very quiet part of bali, so don't expect lots of shopping or bars close by - only the 3 restaurants mentioned below. There is a free daily shuttle to either Lovina or Singarajah, departing at 9 but returning at 11. Otherwise you can pay 100,000rp for return trip. I wouldn't bother with Singarajah unless you were desperate to see local markets (quite dirty, and smelly, and 2 hours in Singarajah is about an hour and half too long). Lovina was much nicer, with some bars, shops, spas etc, a bit more catered for the tourist, and cheaper prices that the hotel.
We only had one dinner at the hotel, the food was very good, but we found it much cheaper to dine at the other 3 restuarants close by - Arati, Warung Bamboo or 1000 dream. Stick to the balinese or indonesian dishes though as they do not do western food well at all.
My major complaint would be the 5am prayers that were blasted out from the Mosque at the end of the lane on the main road, it was rather a shock on our first night there. The prayers are played so loud the speakers have distorted. The other 4 prayers during the day aren't so bad, as you're awake when they are played. I have no problem with religious choice, but I think even the Hindu majority of staff didn't particularly appreciate being subjected to it either, but very little anyone can do about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights in May as part of a tour of Bali. Cannot speak highly enough about this place.

Stayed in an individual bungalow on the 2nd of 3 rows. Positioned so that the second row have a sea view. Some reviewers have commented that there are gaps around the doors that could allow mosquitoes in. There are only gaps at the sides if you position the sliding doors incorrectly. A small space under the door but we had no problems as there is a plug in mosi repellant in the rooms.

Best points
> Pool area is beautiful and so relaxing
> Restaurant food was fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. I particularly enjoyed the Thai beef salad.
> Staff are friendly but not over obtrusive (in some places staff attention was over the top - you don't need to be asked every 5 seconds if everything is okay, it just gets annoying)
> quiet - no annoying hotel activities, pool games, evening entertainment etc. If you like this sort of thing the hotel is not for you.
> sunsets - Wow! The sun sets over the sea from here and there are a number of canopied viewing beds along the front. Lay back and watch the sun set into the sea.
> location on the north of Bali means that there is less rain

Another plus for this hotel is the nearby Warung Bamboo restaurant. You can,t miss it as its on the small road leading to the hotel. Fabulous food at a good price. Try the full Bali taster meal - you won't be disappointed.

Would definitely go back to the Pui Bagus, a little slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the front two rows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Hill
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Puri Bagus is awesome. A group of us stayed there for several nights in May 2012. The staff, management and even trainees are very respectful and polite providing first class, friendly and prompt assistance to any request. The rooms were very clean and excellently serviced daily. The grounds are incredibly attractive and superbly maintained. I have no idea of how other reviewers have found cause to criticise these aspects of their stay. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

The down side to the place is that a local prayer service is broadcast at ridiculous volumes many times every day. I am tolerant of, and support religious diversity. I support anyone and everyone's right to follow the beliefs they choose. What I found difficult to understand was the need for the excessively loud and distorted prayer service being broadcast at full volume every morning at 5.00 a.m. through loudspeakers which were obviously ruined through use at excessive volume far beyond their rated capacity. It was so loud that even in the hotel room it was impossible to sleep through it.

If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay, with great staff and service, and you like getting up an hour or so before sunrise every day, this is the place for you. As I said, near perfect but...................

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife, my 8-year old son and I stayed 7 nights in Puri Bagus. The hotel setting was very nice. We stayed in a nice ocean-view bungalow and loved the roofles shower. Our stay was in April and there were few other tourists, so it was very quiet. Other tourists normally only stay for two nights in average. There is not so much to do there and excursions to the mountains are possible but the drive is tyring, so looking back I think 5 nights would have been sufficient. The staff very friendly but sometimes we felt the staff was not as cheerful as in other hotels in the south. A hot tip is the nearby Warung Bamboo. This restaurant serves absolutely delicious food and is only a one-minute walk away from the hotel entrance (when you leave the parking space of the hotel it is the first building on the left, you can't miss it). We also booked an excursion to a waterfall (not the touristy Gitgit) with Warung Bamboo and also arrange our transfer to the next destination with them. Breakfast at Puri Bagus is just ok but not great at all. Dinner at Puri Bagus was good.

Room Tip: I definitely recommend the ocean view bungalow. It is worth it to pay a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickTrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemaron
3.9 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#10 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
4.1 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Bagus Lovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Bagus Lovina

Property: Puri Bagus Lovina
Address: Jl. Raya Seririt - Singaraja, Lovina, Pemaron 81151, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Pemaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pemaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Bagus Lovina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private beachfront and traditional Balinese thatched roof architecture, Puri Bagus Lovina offers 40 spacious villas including two suites with private pool and dining room. This beautiful resort provided plenty of space between each villa for stunning tropical gardens to enhance your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Puri Bagus Lovina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Bagus Lovina Hotel Pemaron
Puri Bagus Hotel Lovina
Puri Bagus Resort Lovina
Puri Bagus Lovina Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing