We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelapa Lovina Beach Villas Bar & Resto
Nearby Hotels
$147
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Agung Beach Inn(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
$46
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunari Beach Resort(Lovina Beach)
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovina(Lovina Beach)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort(Lovina Beach)(Great Value!)
$44
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
87
33
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
33
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerchocolate moussevilla complexwatch the sunsetlovina beachsmall villastayed nightssea viewday tourdinner mealother guestsboutique hotellovely staffrooms are spaciousnice pooltoursparadise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 133 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights, we would have loved to stay longer but we did a round trip in Indonesia, so...The staff is very helpful and never far away if you have a question. The host lady and the owner helped us to get to the centre. The villa's are beautiful designed and offer everything you need. Airconditioning works perfectly, big bed, luxury bathroom. It's a very peaceful resort, the ideal place to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriendesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Kelapa in September for 5 days and would happily have stayed longer.

The rooms (we stayed in Number 5 which has a direct sea and pool view) are a reasonable size - simple but elegant with a fabulous bathroom. The shower is large enough to have a party in and you share it with 2 statues: Buddha and a Balinese girl. There is a large corner bath. The room has everything you would expect and the laundry service is quick and very reasonably priced. Everything was clean and in good condition.


The pool is a reasonable size and has a large spa/jacuzzi section on the side. It is the perfect place to sit with a G&T and watch the sunset in the evening.

The bar and restaurant are adjacent to the pool - the whole hotel is tiny but beautiful and you don't have to go far to get between your room, the pool and the bar. There was a fairly major building project next door while we were there but I don't remember hearing any noise.

The pool is in the centre of the very beautiful garden which is tended by an ever smiling gardener who knows every single leaf . Each morning he washes all of the beds by the pool before putting a towel and a flower on each one. He then puts out the sunshades at the tables in the garden by the sea wall so we can have our breakfast on the lawn overlooking the sea. The garden is full of statues, trees, plants and cats. It is both perfectly manicured & full of life, colour and interest.
At dusk, candles are lit through the garden and around the pool and everything looks wonderful all over again.

The kitchens produce some excellent food - a good balance of local and international dishes. We ate there a lot.

We prearranged a pick up from the Airport and the same driver and air conditioned vehicle took us on a tour of the area (arranged through the hotel) a couple of days later. We based it loosely on one of their set tours, but he was flexible enough to adjust to our requests. He acted as driver and guide and we really enjoyed our day.

What really makes the hotel so great though, are the staff. The same small core group do everything. They are receptionists & bar staff. They wait tables and organise the laundry. They clean the rooms and arrange the tours. And they do it with grace and smiles and a professional attitude. They are friendly, funny and chatty without being intrusive. It's a rare thing. I have stayed in my fair share of hotels and I have never felt so well looked after.

The only slight downside for us is the distance from the centre of town.
The owners do two free transfers per day but at 11am and 3pm, but if you want to go down outside of these times (say for dinner) it is quite difficult to organise.
We asked if they could call us a taxi and the owners son was obliging enough to run us down (for roughly the same price of a local taxi) but we felt we were intruding and didn't want to ask again. The local bemos (we were told) stop running quite early (6pm) in the evening and we almost got stranded in town that evening as the taxi drivers all seemed to go to bed at 11pm. We would have preferred to have maybe one of the staff be able to run us in and back for a small fee. Perhaps as this side of the Island gets more popular this will ease and the bemos and taxi's will get more prolific.

It is a great place to explore this side of the island, a lovely and peaceful enclave.
We would certainly stay again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divingbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

i love everything about this villa, this is a nice place for break or relax.
Room is spacious & clean, the ambiance is cosy, service is attentive.
This villa is beautiful~
We went for dolphin sightseeing trip the next day morning~ it's thrilling!
It was a pleasant & unforgettable experience with Kelapa Lovina Beach Villa.
i am happy that i made the right choice and i definitely would be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 86Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing!
We stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Apartments are spotless and very modern with gorgeous bathroom.
Pool is small but adequate for the size of the place and with lovely views out to sea.
Food was absolutely amazing - we wanted to try everything on the menu!
On to a couple of negatives...
The wifi didn't work in our room (number 3) but not sure of this was specific to that room.
Trips advertised at the hotel are a little deceiving as the price only actually includes getting to the places and not entry. So everywhere we went we then had to pay to get in which was a bit annoying. Also, we had no guide, just a driver who spoke little English.
Apart from that though it was fab. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilieK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

How often does one go on holiday and been so taken by a place that buying a holiday home there becomes a serious consideration? In my case, far too often.
Being a frequent visotor to Bali since the 80's, we have been to and stayed in most of the popular areas like Ubud, Legian,Seminyak, Nusa Dua, Kuta. Twice we ventured out to the East of Bali to Candi Dasa and also had a great time there. This last holiday, my wife insisted on a non shopping, sightseeing, frenzied action packed trip but instead, a laid back, relaxed lazy and reading/lying by the pool vacation.Scanning trip adviser's pages for a suitable venue we decided on this resort.
Getting from the airport to destination, which was arranged by Kelapa, was a trek. It took three and a half hours and although the scenery was at times spectacular, it was, a long journey only tolerable by dozing off several times.
We arrived to a friendly unfussed welcome with the obligatory 'cocktail' and the two villas we were to occupy had I thought, the best position in the complex. Rooms were neat and clean, not over luxurious but tastefully done with good sized bathroom and the standard facilities. All things worked. The pool was totally adequate for the maximum 10 guests staying at any one time and had a jacuzzi in one corner for added enjoyment. The black sand beach and sea sat just in front where the occasional hawker plying his wares would approach guests. The small surrounding immaculate gardens were tended to by a devoted gardener who delighted in presenting his topiary mousedeer.
Service was attentive, friendly and charming. Not as slick and speedy as some might prefer but considering all things, perfect in this enviroment.
Food was very good and we were happy to have most of our meals here. Prices were fair even for all beverages.
There were lots of tours available and transport was always arranged if needed without being ripped off. We had a few tours but the most memorable one was the dolphin sightings which started off in the dark at 6 AM and you saw the sun rising before the main event.
Massages were also available which was a delightful diversion from lying around by the pool.
The Aussie owners of the Villas live in their mansion next door with their son, his Indonesian wife and a menagerie of animals. I counted no less than 7 cats, heard dogs abarking, birds a squawking. This is when I thought, what a perfect life. A lovely beach house with 5 Villas next door, a great restaurant and bar to use at all times, swimming pool and maids and staff galore. Not a worry in the world.
How could one attain such a wonderful life. I thought again and imagined having really awkard and difficult complaining guests.That even complain that their kettle takes twelve minutes to get to boiling. Could I handle this? What if the pool pump goes, the jacuzzi breaks down. The Staff don't turn up or leave. The bookings are slow. The paint in the villas starts peeling and leaks or damp start appearing. The bathrooms needs regrouting. The lists goes on and on and I come to the conclusion that this little bit of paradise is best enjoyed as a guest. Coming, enjoying and paying for it all. No, I could not run and own a place like this. I think I will just come back again and again and leave the the owning and running to braver people.
I have done South Bali. It may be far more exciting, colourful, vibrant and have excellent clubs, restaurants, shops and terrific energy, it comes with a price to pay. Literally. Almost everything is at least twice the price down South. It pains and saddens me to see Starbucks and the Big Branded Food Chains moving in with the Big Name Branded Goods Boutiques opening up in Monkey Forest Road in Ubud. The North is what the South was like many moons ago.
Kelapa means Coconut. A favourite fruit and and drink of mine. I was amused that where we were they had all types of exotic fresh fruit and drinks but no fresh coconuts. So I went off looking for a couple of young coconuts to buy finally finding them in a roadside stall. As I speak the local language I asked the lady how much one coconut would cost and the price she uttered caused my driver to gasp and chuckle. Bargaining was fruitless. She point blank refused to drop her price which according to my driver was at least four times what it should be. I was so desperate, I paid up for two of these Kelapas and thought what would happen if an Airport was built in this area. Would it be Hello North, Goodbye South?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eveready70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews