We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
48
39
11
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
39
11
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 107 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

It's a great guesthouse, even though its location is not central. We've stayed there twice - in June and July 2016. We've lived in all types of the rooms and our favourite was the new one two storeyed on the second floor. The new one on the first floor is also very nice, but the last one sometimes has problems with wifi signal. The new ones are modern styled and a bit business like. The old ones are spacious and family styled (with 3 beds - one for parents and two for children), seemed even more cozy though they are older. All the rooms have air conditioner, fridge and some of them even have their own router. The hotel wifi is great - 20 mbps - the best we've ever had in Indonesia. The breakfast was very tasty, and though the restaurant prices are a bit higher than in other local restaurants, we've never had any regrets about ordering there as the food was really delicious with huge portions. The territory is very beautiful overlooking the rice field. The pool is clean and refreshing. The staff is very nice and helpful. There are two cute friendly dogs - Yuki and Eby. And of course we'd like to say thank you to the greatest owners of this guesthouse Ammanda and Mike, who has helped us a lot! I think we've been their most problematic tourists (just to mention that none of the problems was because of the hotel)!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank mizztic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

We couldn’t believe the comments about the unfriendly Austrian owner, but trust me: him and his wife are not guest-minded, unfriendly and unflexible. This pressed the whole joy of staying. When we arrived the first question was if we could pay at once. Not a nice welcome. (As someone said earlier: we didn’t feel welcome).

The location of the guesthouse is very remote. Nice if you just want to hang by the pool or if you have your own transport. Otherwise you are very isolated. They have free bicycles to lent, as a solution. Note: there are only 2 bikes, on a first come base, so take them quick otherwise you are stuck. We wanted to use the bikes. One had a flat tire, which we needed to fill ourselves.

We booked a suite, but were placed in the deluxe room. This room is supposed to be more expensive and more luxurious, but it was not at all. It is smaller, doesn’t have a coach, sitting area or fan. The owner didn’t pay for the television, so we only had 3 local tell-sell channels. The bathroom smelled of sewer and if someone was smoking outside, the whole room smelled of smoke. The hot water only lasts for about 10 minutes. So if two people want to shower, you must plan carefully. WiFi in the room was miserable. So don’t get tempted to pay the extra for the deluxe.

Little plus: In the room was a little book in which the owner listed available tours, sights and activities. This was nice. There also was the menu, but we were not amused by the prices. It was way more than we paid at all our other stayes in Indonesia/Bali.

We planned on making daytrips around instead of staying in the room all day, so we could look passed all this. But at the breakfast we reached the limit. First morning we had an Indonesian style buffet, but it didn’t taste good and with little choice (all savory and spicy). Second day breakfast was on order. We heard they alternate the two. There was very little choice (it was OR omelette OR toast, not together) all extra’s were way overpriced (fresh fruit 60.000, bacon 50.000 and scrambled eggs 35.000). And not water!! When we asked if it was possible to get a toast with our egg, we got a firm ‘No that is not included’. Most impressive was seeing the owner and his familiy in the same restaurant with whole pots and pans with food in front of them.

All in all a big disappointment for us!!

Room Tip: Take the cheapest room: it doesn't get better by paying more.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

We stayed two weeks ago in Mumbul and our family has been talking about it ever since, wishing all places in Bali in our price range were as luxurious. We booked the regular family room and it had two twin beds and one large one. The room size was huge with a love seat and chair as well as a television with tons of movies to watch. Very nice with kids. They also enjoyed the pool. Oh! And the internet was the fastest we've experienced in six months traveling SE Asia. What a treat!

Overall, the week spent here was great. The owners were beyond friendly and helpful and the staff were as well. The breakfast was delicious, the coffee perfection, and the view out of the restaurant overlooking the ricefield magnificent. We made the mistake of not booking a few more days, but moved on. Wish we hadn't as the next town felt like a waste of time and money after the week we'd had. Thank you so much Mumbul!

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelisaSchrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016

We came for one night and stayed for four. The family room had a large parents bed downstairs and two singles up a spiral staircase. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful especially with our children. The room was spacious and neat and we had ocean views over a rice field from our verandah. In-room booklet was full of information and Amanda and Mike (Indonesian/Australian owners) were very willing to offer more help/advice. Wifi was very good too! Scooter rental was arranged with another company by the owner for us and was very smooth and reasonable. Was an easy walk to the street nearby with food, massage and laundry. The prices here are very reasonable (much cheaper than Pemuteran for us!) and the dolphin experience is well worth the money in Lovina! Highly recommend, very reasonable price for what you get!

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elliskate2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in Mumbul with my husband, I am from Indonesia, Jakarta but living in California with my husby.

Our stayed was amazing, Mumbul has friendly staffs and the breakfast was taste. I like their omelette with cheese.
Their restaurant is open until 10pm and I like their chicken curry.

I read some reviews of this hotel before my husby booked it. I feel like to choose other hotel, but my husby said to try to stay for one day and see what happen.
Honestly, the reviews I read was not as I saw in Mumbul. Why?? Because :
The staffs were make up our room everyday, absolutely clean everyday.

The breakfast was amazing for their room price, not about the portion but for the taste.

The restaurant might be more expensive than a warung, just think 'WARUNG' is a cheap place to eat. Local people eat there because WARUNG do not need to pay tax, staffs. But restaurant need to pay tax, service, staffs. For the taste of mumbul's food in their restaurant, their price is not expensive, because the price is including tax and service.

The view is amazing from our room, we stayed in the suite family room with the sea and the rice field view.
We booked some tours from Ammanda and she helps us got a good deals for the tours.
We had a wonderful holiday in Mumbul, clean, quite, the best food.
Looking forward to come back to Mumbul again,
Recommend this place to stay for long vocation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ownetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews