We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners were missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mumbul Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mumbul Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Anturan B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Owners were missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Really, my rating is 3.5. Guesthouse owners need a holiday, but I wish they had been around during our 3-day stay. We were told they were in Australia for Christmas/New Year's. It's probably hard to find staff who will look after a place as you would yourself. While I found the several men who were "in charge" to be friendly (and very good with opening the gate and giving a smile), they certainly could have done more. As the previous reviewer noted, the internet didn't work at all. Since this is one of the things the website brags about I did ask repeatedly if something could be done, but to no avail. The substitute staff set themselves up at one of the tables in the restaurant, and sat there smoking and watching the TV all day and all evening. We'd have liked to sit there, but it definitely felt like "their space." Even at breakfast time, the TV was blaring an Indonesian show - when none of the guests spoke Indonesian. Breakfast was about average for this class of bungalow. The room was clean when we arrived, but I don't understand why it wasn't cleaned daily. (Not changing sheets - but cleaning the bathroom, sweeping the room, and perhaps fresh towels after two nights.) I don't like the idea of having to ask - it should just be done! The pool is small but clean and pleasant to sit around or splash in. Bring mosquito repellant for early mornings and dusk. Other than the above, Mumbul guesthouse was fine - spacious room, good value (no problem with payment - wonder if the previous reviewer knew the deposit was only 50% of the total cost?), pleasant pool area. A working internet, daily room cleaning, and a welcoming restaurant area with fruit included in breakfast would have earned a 5 from me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our place. I am sorry weren't able to meet you during your stay. Apparently there was a big storm while we were away, which broke our internet modem. It probably took longer than usual to get fixed as it happened during the New Year holiday. It has of course been fixed now and is working well. We are very reliant on the internet ourselves so we understand how important it is for our guests. Regarding the issues with our staff I have had a meeting with them and discuss the things you mentioned. We also plan to have daily housekeeping of our rooms, so thank you for this suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
48
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

being a neutral traveller seeking a quiet escape, i booked this place online. i will keep my experience brief:
1. there was no internet, which, despite my clarification with the manager about, was completely overlooked. in fact, he conversed about how there was nothing people can do about the internet and that is that. this remained throughout my entire stay, so was clearly not a mere technical glitch.
2. continual requirement to stop and turn off my bike in order to open the gate to a hostile reception, was far from welcoming.
3. outdoor bathrooms are an unpractical addition to the already dark and sun-deprived rooms, which for some reason attract more insects than the rest of Singaraja put together. (the shower is a drizzle and you are lucky if it stays in place more than 30 seconds.

i could go on, yet do not want to appear entirely negative. a pleasant place to look at with a beautiful mango tree, Mumbul's "swimming pool" is smaller than the fish tank in my front room. do not be fooled into the "free breakfast"- they will charge you for a bowl of fruit.

lastly, upon leaving, check your bill: they will tell you one price in plain English when you enter, confirm, validate, and reconfirm- then as you leave they will sting you with double this. if there is one thing we are all sick of in Bali, it is being ripped off and treated like an ignorant tourist- don't expect an escape from this here.

Ps. my door didn't lock- handy in so isolated a location.

Room Tip: Seriously, avoid the place all together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
The guest attempted to leave without paying her bill and when confronted claimed she had no money to pay. One night was booked on the internet attracting a special discount rate, the discount however did not apply for the additional night, although we may have considered it if requested. We had a problem with the internet as a tree had fallen onto the telephone line near our place and it has now been fixed and it is working fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

A small guesthouse with friendly staff. Situated next to rice paddies. A great place for a relaxing hassle free holiday. Rooms are large & spacious with outdoor Balinese style bathroom with western toilets. Exceptional value for money & great breakfast included. Well worth the drive from Denpasar Airport (3.5 hr drive) with great scenery.

Room Tip: A small guesthouse with 4 large rooms. All rooms are the same only different bedding configuration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Mumbul guesthouse is a wonderful place surrounded by ricefields, the rooms are really nice and spacious. We got Kalimantan room for 4 people. Still very spacious. The room rate includes breakfast and taste really good. The pool is great too for relaxing. The owner's dog, Abby, was very shy. The staff are very helpful and friendly and always smiling to us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lignitawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mostly people fight for paddy field view hostel or hotel in Ubud. I was surprised to find our Papua Villa facing beautiful green scenery paddy field. The washroom was big and super clean. The bed was the biggest I ever seen in my life. No matter how my friend and I stretch ourselves, we can hardly touch each other. Maybe we are Asian a bit small in body size. At night, we have quiet and relax star gazing moment. Their pet dog, Abby was so nice and obedient. He sat quietly beside us. letting us stroking his fur while star gazing.

The room come with a detail guide book on lovina attraction. Thank to the guideline, we get a reasonable price for dolphin watching. However, we been charged expensive for Menjangan Island Snorkeling. The guidebook stated 300k rupiah but we get at 500k.

The breakfast serving was slow. We request the breakfast packing. However, they took such a long time.In the end, I need to go kitchen to request them to pass to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LerLer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the feedback. The bed in Papua room is 2 by 2 meters, which I think is a king size in most countries. The double bed in Sumatra is even bigger! We try to price our tours as fair and competitively as possible, some places charge more and some places might even charge less. We apologize for breakfast taking longer than you would have liked, but the staff make the breakfast as the guests come into the restaurant, so it can take a little longer than normal if all of the guests have breakfast at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vorselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we were certain this was a good value-for-money place to spend the night. We stayed at Mumbul Guesthouse for two nights. The reception was not at all exceptionally welcoming or warm, it was just a normal reception as we had in many other hotels before. When we entered the room, first impression was good, just what you can expect from a guesthouse with these prices. We went to check out the bathroom, the state of cleanliness it was in, was appalling. We had the two rooms at the back and the bathroom of the last room was really aweful. Nothing was cleaned properly. Behind the nightstand there was a big stain on the wall, probably from a spilled soda which could've been clean if it was whiped with a wet cloth. The curtain on the canopy was really dirty, stained and seemed to be used only to prevent things from falling on the bed. And though we had a closed bathroom, the huge gecko's and COCKROACHES managed to get in the bathroom with as a result, poop on the sink. This is not so bad if the room was cleaned daily, this is not the case. it is only cleaned on request and since we stayed only two nights, we didn't have the guts to ask to clean our room since we found this rather insulting. After we struggled through the night, because in the rice fields across our rooms were scarecrows which made a such a sharp noise you could barely sleep, we found ourselves at the breakfast table expecting a decent breakfast. Once again, we were disappointed. We got a glass of orange juice (the fake stuff but this is normal in Bali), a cup of coffee or tea, 6 pieces of fruit and one omelette. Not even toast to go with the eggs. Since my husband is a healthy man, with a normal appetite, we had to go look for breakfast elsewhere to have filled his belly. The only positives are the great wifi in the rooms and the fact that we only stayed here two nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbul, Owner at Mumbul Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our place. We are very sorry and disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. One of our priorities of running our place is keeping the rooms spotless and we are sorry that this was not the case for you during your stay. I will certainly bringing up this problem with our cleaning staff.

We give guests the option of requesting their rooms to be cleaned, sheets changed etc. We feel this is more eco-friendly, however, if guests want daily housekeeping, we are more than happy to oblige. I am not sure why you would find this insulting and it is the first time we have had a complaint about this.

The stain you mentioned is a water stain from the bathroom from a previous plumbing problem and we haven't had a chance to repaint the room. We are surrounded by ricefields and farmland, so I think you need to expect some bugs and insects, no matter how clean the rooms are. The rooms you booked are bungalow style rooms with high pitched roofs, which geckos seem to like. The geckos are harmless and they play their role by eating insects. The other two rooms we have flat ordinary flat ceilings. If you had of asked we could have changed you to another room. Larger hotels fumigate their rooms and grounds, but this kills every living thing in the area and this is something we would prefer not to carry out.

Our accommodation is in the budget category, but that does not mean we value providing guests with a clean and safe place to stay. I believe what we provide is excellent value for money with free wifi, pool, lush tropical gardens, free bicycle rental, air conditioning, hot water, tv and DVD player in every room and we have recently installed satellite television in the restaurant, where our current guests have been watching the Olympics. We encourage guests to tell us about any problem they have and we are more than happy to try and fix it straight away.

We would like apologize once again and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay here in Mumbul Guesthouse when I visited Lovina at the end of July. The stay here was fantastic to say the least. Mike and Ammanda were very helpful and knowledgeable on the happenings and sights in Lovina and they were very welcoming too.

Overall, great experience I had here at Mumbul and I truly recommend anyone who's coming to Lovina to seriously consider this place as their no. 1 choice of accommodation.

Positives:
Great Wifi. Fast and smooth.
BIG rooms! Spacious and clean!
Nice open air toilets. Really cool!
Restaurant with great tasting food.
Nice pool
Quiet and peaceful.
Near the quiet part of the beach where there no hawkers and there's a farm beside it too!

Negatives:
It's not exactly location friendly. It's a 10min bemo ride and probably 20min walk from central Lovina, unless you take the Perama bus. The bemo would probably set 5-7000 Rupiah off your budget, still less than a dollar.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally great and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anturan
1.6 mi away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Agung Beach Inn
Villa Agung Beach Inn
#9 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bali Paradise Hotel Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mumbul Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mumbul Guesthouse

Property: Mumbul Guesthouse
Address: Gang Mumbul, Anturan 81119, Indonesia (Formerly Pondok Wisata Mumbul)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Anturan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Anturan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mumbul Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mumbul Guesthouse is located in the fishing village of Anturan on the north coast of Bali. We have just eight rooms all of which have ricefield views. Breakfast is included in the price. We are a short walk to the beach. We have a large pool and offer free wifi internet. Our upstairs rooms offer beautiful views of the sea, ricefields and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Mumbul Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mumbul Guesthouse Bali/Lovina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing