We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Melka Excelsior Dolphin & Wildlife Resort
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

All at this hotel was too mediocre- the rooms are quite expensive but a bit outdated, as well as the zoo was very old and sad. The hotel is too big and the staff polite but indifferent, you can feel as just another visitor. Swimming with dolphins was too organized and not very fun- dolphins just click to play and you were allowed to pet them only when the trainer gave permission. So fun playing and swimming with the dolphins was a very distant thing.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dzaiajott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    21
    9
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be aware of what your paying for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

My partner and I and another couple booked to swim with the dolphins and see the dolphin show at the Melka . Upon arrival there was a little confusion with our booking, but they eventually found it, and informed us our show was cancelled ( no-one thought to call and advise us before we traveled the 3 hours from Kuta to get there). It was however new years eve and they arranged to have our show at midnight instead...frustrating but understandable. A little disappointed we still paid our US$60 per person to swim with the dolphins for 20mins and headed to the pools. I literally mean 2 dolphins "swimming" (more like trapped) around a pool a little bigger than my backyard pool! After already traveling so far and paying the money to do it, we continued to swim with the dolphins. Don't get me wrong, the dolphins were so clever and it was amazing, maybe a bit too cruel to fully enjoy, but still, we all loved it, until we realized what was going on. They split us into 2 groups, and 1 couple each went at a time... romantic huh? However! We each only got 10mins in the pool! So 20mins per group! Already frustrated we were not happy at all when that was it and the next person had arrived for their booking. She told us she had paid the same for 20mins by herself, and we were fuming! After reasoning with management we discovered the US$60 per person was for a group of up to 6 people at a time. After explaining our drama and only getting 10mins each we demanded half our money back to be fair (we only received half the experience) and they did actually refund us the correct amount. Overall, the service was appalling, and the dolphins are suffering from animal cruelty, but we did enjoy our breif time with the dolphins. I strongly recommend booking with Bali Adventure Tours instead, and well in advance, as they were fully booked for a month while we were there. Just be mindful you get what your paying for...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Baaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Dolphin Show was really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

It's not a large show but it was great to see the dolphins doing their tricks. And it is not expensive to gain admission to see that Show and also the other animals there in their mini Zoo.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherokee235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it - dolphins, show, spa.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

Despite what is said here, I will say that i enjoyed my stay at this hotel and I will go back if I can. My kids loved the dolphins and would have died for more time. The dolphins are so friendly and fun to swim with. Maybe they are friendly to people who are also nice anf friendly - haha.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda_Mal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dolphins in pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

stayed 3 nights here.. was a very nice hotel and beautiful surrounds..but the dolphins in the pool seemed a little cruel to us as the pool is only the size of your average back yard one.. they seemed well looked after and are kept very busy with constant shows..not sure if we'd stay here again..

Helpful?
3 Thank lotusflower06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melka Excelsior Dolphin & Wildlife Resort also viewed

 

Been to Melka Excelsior Dolphin & Wildlife Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing