We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Setting.”
Review of Ol Tukai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ol Tukai Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was the last of the Lodges we stayed at on our safari and it was fabulous. We had a triple room as we were 3 women friends. Plenty of room to move around with a lovely shower room with the added extra of the monkeys looking in at you when you shower! We had a view of Kilimanjaro although it just showed itself for a short peep on our second day. The setting is fabulous, the staff are very friendly and the food was good and plentiful. The pool was beautiful. we sat on our veranda and watched elephant, zebra, wildebeast and lots of gazelles just over the security fence. If you have the chance, do the early morning drive and you'll see the elephants moving from the plain to the swamps. Fantastic sight and so many of them! We used the laundry service at the lodge and found it very cheap and efficient. 2 nights wasn't long enough and I'd go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 828 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We chose Ol Tukai Lodge as a treat to end our ten day stay in a poor village. After days of dirt and sweat we arrived in paradise. Excellent staff. Food to die for. Charming location at the foot of Kilimanjaro. Monkeys everywhere. Wilderbeiste grassing just outside the window. Clean well vented room. Privacy. Need i say more?
Wish i had more than one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FaNorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

An amazing setting for a great start to our safari. The staff were friendly and very helpful (and genuinely so too) The rooms were clean and well equipped, food excellent. I would highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms facing Kilimanjaro - you get the view first thing in the morning, and see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Loved this place. The rooms were good-not huge but very comfortable nonetheless, with a good bathroom and hot water. Tea and coffee making available in the room as well which is welcome. The pool area is great and the pool and surrounds so clean. Staff were very friendly and attentive and the food and selection was incredibly good. And of course the view of Mt Kilimanjaro adds to the whole enjoyment. Plenty of wildlife around as well-which is what we were there for! A trip to a nearby Maasai village was informative if a bit staged and probably worth the USD25 a head. There was a very hard sell to buy stuff at the end though which given how the live is understandable.
Was with wife and adult family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It is not a classical 5 star hotel; it is a lodge and one of the best I have seen. A wonderful place in the middle of Amboseli, with the view of majestic Klimanjaro. Food is good. All interiors, rooms and common areas reflect the nature of Africa. Outside the room, you can watch Amboseli's wild life while drinking coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkgunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

GOOD!The rooms are nice, the pool is clean, everyone is friendly. We have good view of Mt. Kilimanjaro.We were amazed by the number of elephants wandering around.The people are very friendly,We loved Ol Tukai.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We arrived at Ol Tukai in time for lunch on Dec 31, and had our first Safari drive in the afternoon. During the drive we were amazed by the number of elephants wandering around, and by the end of the drive Kilimanjaro had appeared above the clouds. In the evening the lodge put on a New Year's celebration, and then a lovely meal. We were too tired to hold out until midnight, and we were looking forward to an early morning safari. The first morning of the new year began a wonderful day of exploring and picture taking around Amboseli National Park, and by the end of the day we felt that the expectations for our whole East Africa Safari had already been met.
We left Ol Tukai on the morning of Jan 2, with memories of excellent service, great food, and a magnificent wildlife and scenery.
Thank you Ol Tukai team!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli National Park
8.3 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
392 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
782 reviews
9.9 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
930 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
56 reviews
7 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#3 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Tukai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Tukai Lodge

Address: Amboseli National Park 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system > Amboseli National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli National Park
Price Range: $332 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ol Tukai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of Africa Ol Tukai Lodge is one of the best spots in the world to watch elephant with the backdrop of Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. Writers have described Ol Tukai and the surrounding Amboseli National Park as a 'home for the Gods.’ Ol Tukai is an eco-rated lodge having excellent outdoor and indoor facilities with its unique collection of African art. The property receives overwhelming response from the international and local tourism market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ol Tukai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Tukai Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing